We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Hosteria Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Angelina
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Esquel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in Esquel for 6 nights and we are so glad we stayed at Hosteria Angelina. Esquel is very much off the beaten track well for non argentinians anyway but so worth the stop. We're glad we spent our time here rather than the grossly over hyped and overly touristy Bariloche.
This little establishment is right in the centre of town and close to everything. Rooms were a good size and beds very comfortable but the real winner is the breakfast. It's a feast! Carlos goes to great trouble to prepare a wonderful spread. The cheeses were outstanding (and that's coming from a person who comes from a country with some of the best cheese in the world), beautiful ham, great dulce de leche. Carlos was very helpful with recommending restaurants, tours etc. if we're ever back in Esquel we're staying here. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good but the ones at the back are probably a bit quieter but Esquel does not ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
45
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hosteria Angelina is conveniently located on the main road in town, only minutes from the tourist information, and about a 20 minute walk to the bus station.

Breakfast was included in the room price (320arg for a standard double room) and we had a choice of cold cut meats, cheeses, tinned fruit, pastries, yoghurt and more.

We were a little disappointed with the room as it was either really dark with the wooden blind down (even with the lights on), or if we had the blind up we had no privacy as we faced the path to the back rooms and looked straight into the dining room. It was also very noisy (you can hear every conversation and phone call and whatever is happening in the kitchen) so I would recommend asking for a room at the back and definitely not anywhere close to reception.

Good wifi though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We made an uplanned visit to Esquel in mid November on our way north from Calafate due to Bariloche airport being closed for runway repairs. A check on trip Advisor suggested that this was the place to stay - how right the reviews were! The owner Carlos and his hard working team have made the Angelina into an exceptional and friendly small hotel; clean rooms, fresh clean linen and towels, very comfortable beds, spotless bathrooms and the by far the best breakfast that we found anywhere in Argentina - Carlos is particularly proud of the latter and goes to great length to explain the names and origins of the superb range of cheeses, meats and cakes that make up the breakfast buffet. The Hosteria is convenient for the town centre which is a short walk away. As for Esquel, this is a working town and makes a pleasurable change to the tourist excesses of the more well known destinations such as Calafate and Bariloche. We spent three nights at the Angelina allowing us to ride the Old Patagonia Express (La Trochita), take in a nearby Wesh town and enjoy some very reasonable meals in the town's restaurants and parillas. Definitely worth a 3 day stop - especially if you stay at the Angelina!

Ron and Gill Taylor, Cumbria UK

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a very nice doublle room with gardenview to a fountain. And the host is very nive and helpful and speaks english very well. And the breakfast! The best we had for 3 weeks in Argentina - better that we had in a 4-star hotel in Iguazú. And all this very cheap: only 270 pesos per night, when you stay 3 nights. - Stay here if you are going to Esquel.
Birgit & Troels, Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beerafrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hosteria. Rooms are clean and nice with good soft beds. Service is professional and the location is pretty central in Esquel, everything on walking distance. But the real highlight is the amazing breakfast, which includes everything you wish for: cerials, fresh fruit & juice, several sorts of cheese, ham etc. And several delicios homemade cakes. It's a good value for the price, we recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berndandchrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esquel hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hosteria Canela B&B
Hosteria Canela B&B
#1 of 9 in Esquel
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
#8 of 55 in Esquel
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Cumbres Blancas
0.4 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#4 of 9 in Esquel
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Chalten - Cabanas & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Angelina

Property: Hosteria Angelina
Address: Avenida Alvear 758, Esquel U9200AXU, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing