We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay (Hans & Victorina, Giuliano & Verena)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Esquel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biel
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay (Hans & Victorina, Giuliano & Verena)”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

"Landing" with our car at Hosteria Canela we couldn't hardly believe that this would be the place for the next night: A beautiful house in a lovely garden. We have not been disappointed, everything was excellent! A warm and friendly welcome, nice rooms really inviting to stay, very interesting fotos, a marvellous breakfast... Jorge gave us very precious tips of what we should visit in Esquel and on our way North. While talking together we find out that his ancestors lived half an hour away from where we live in Switzerland. He showed us the heraldic figure of his family. We would have liked to stay much longer, we felt so fine. One thing for sure: if ever we visit again this part of Argentinia we will make a detour to say hello to Veronica, Jorge and there wonderful dog!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Gianno,

Thanks so much for your great review of Canela. We enjoyed your visit, and it was a pity you did not have time to stay for a couple of days.

Nice photos too. Angus misses you!

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
111
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hosteria Canela is a delightful place. Veronica and Jorge are very welcoming and helpful, and made us feel immediately at home. They have a keen interest in the history of the region - both Jorge and Veronica's father have written books about it which are on hand to peruse. The house and rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated and spotless. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Hello BevB,
Thank you for your review, and for your recommending us to other travelers too. It was our pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What to say? Everything was perfect, from the room, to breakfast, to the hospitality of the owners. Highly suggested if you pass by Esquel. Only improvement: it could be better indicated from downtown - we spent some time looking for it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Sara C.

Thanks for your nice review! About finding us... well, we are some blocks away from the city's noisy downtown. We have a printable Google map on our website, but not everybody gets to see it, nor the indications in our "Getting Here" section. We are also listed on the GPS systems, but then the local car rentals don't seem to provide these devices on their cars, The local Tourism Office can give easy directions for Canela, and our TripAdvisor page also has a map...but it seems sometimes Esquel turns out to be a bigger city than our incoming guests expect! All in all, most of them like our location, and the relatitvely large (a quarter city block) grounds it made possible. Sorry if you had some difficulty finding us, but we are happy that you did, as we really enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, CT
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As a corportate pilot I don't know where my boss will be taking me. This year it was Argentina. He went to Bariloche and we took the aircraft to Esquel to stay out of the ash. I arrived with no expectations. What a pleasant surprise I had staying at The Hosteria Canela for 3 nights. Jorge and Veronica did not dissappoint based on previous reviews. They were charming, interesting, bilingual (english and spanish) and very attentive hosts. Jorge set us up for a boat tour of the National Park. Julio was our guide and we saw some of the most beautiful sites in the world, lakes, snowcapped mountains, and glaciers. I was told there are "monster" rainbow trout (10 kgs) in the lakes. If I had another day Julio and I would have been on a mission to find them.

The Hosteria Calela is a wonderful place. Each room has it's own character. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms a large. The breakfast is magnificant. I have one question for the readers: is it OK to have Apple Pie for breakfast? I think so and I did every morning, fresh apple pie and I loved it.

When we need to get catering for the aircraft, Jorge was a huge help finding the food and doing our translating. It would not have been possible without him.

Both Jorge and Veronica are real treasures. I was treated like a king and leave with great memories. Thanks to both of you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you CT Curt and your job partner for choosing to stay with us on Xmas. We had a very good time having you here, and it was our pleasure to show you around and providing help when needed. We strived to make you feel at home on such a special date, a long way from your families back home. As some of our reviewers say, Canela B&B is "your home away from home" in Patagonia. Wish we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

As B&Bs go, this is a delightful place. Each room has its own character and privacy, the breakfast is superb and the location (if you're driving) convenient. But the most likable part of our stay was the owners who are attentive, engaging and interesting people. On top of all of that, they have a fantastic collection of oil paintings (some by Veronica) and photos (by Jorge). The only thing we didn't like was the bedding -- the weight of the many blankets and bedspread, although homey, is almost suffocating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillMauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Hello Bill,
Nice to know you liked our paintings & photographs, there is a lot of (enjoyable) work put in in them by Vero & self, so we really appreciate your comment.
Sorrry if we overdid it with the bed clothes. We should have taken into account you come from Idaho and taken away the feather eiderdown. It's always there because many of our guests coming from warm Buenos Aires or other northern Argentina provinces find our Patagonian nights chilly, even in summer.
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our stay at Hosteria Canela was really excellent in all aspects. This is a remarkable hosteria situated in a beautiful surrounding at the outskirts of Esquel and Veronica and Jorge are really nice and helpfull hosts. The surrounding and the nearby National Park Los Alerces are really worth to visit. Don´t miss to reserve your tickets for a short trip with the Patagonia Express. But we recommend to rent your own car to travel around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDuisburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Duisburger,
Thanks for your review, and the descriptive photos you posted.
Of course you can take many tours with a minibus or even a taxi but, as you say, renting a car is the ideal thing to do if you like driving and really want to freely explore the enormous Esquel area. And maybe even find things out from the beaten path!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We initially planned to stay for one night but decided to stay 2 instead of an extra night in El Bolson and that was a great decision!

Our hosts Jorge and Veronica were lovely and very welcoming. Canela is one of the best places we have stayed in Argentina. Fantastic room, breakfast and people.

I have read that some people think the house is too far from town; well it's about 3 minutes by car and I think I could walk it in 10-15. However there's a really nice restaurant one street up from the Hostaria called Cinco Cerros. Frankly I wouldn't bother with the places in town and walk around the corner to the local restaurant instead.

Thanks to our hosts fo making our stay so pleasurable. Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Cillin,

Thanks for your nice review. Yes, Canela is just a few minutes away from Esquel's centre. It's only a USD 3.50 taxi fee.

Very nice to know you experienced the homely feeling of our B&B. You know... that's what it's all about: Canela, as well as a business, is a lifestyle for us (though this sometimes proves to be a tricky combination, because we do have to make ends meet!).

Veronica and I extend you our warmest welcome to return. There is much to get acquainted with in our area (a day-trip to our neighbouring little town of Futaleufu on the Chilean side of the border, for example).

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esquel hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria El Coiron
Hosteria El Coiron
#5 of 11 in Esquel
58 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hosteria Futalaufquen
Hosteria Futalaufquen
#3 of 11 in Esquel
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Del Sur
Hotel Sol Del Sur
#7 of 11 in Esquel
137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Patagonia Apart
Patagonia Apart
#1 of 54 in Esquel
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Mapuche
Tierra Mapuche
#2 of 9 in Esquel
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Property: Hosteria Canela B&B
Address: Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 6-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing