We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Esquel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hosteria Canela is just the most fantastic place and the welcome given to us during our recent trip was second to none. Jorge went out of his way to ensure that our stay in Esquel was superb - he took us on a great day out to the National Park and was just the perfect host. I have travelled a fair bit and the service and welcome we received here is as perfect as it gets. I simply cannot praise it enough. If you are going to Esquel then stay there. If you are not going to Esquel then change your plans. Go there and just enjoy !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hello DEJones

We three spent a lovely day at the impressive Los Alerces National Park, didn't we? And it surely was thrillig to know that part of the way was closed by the Park Wardens because there was a female puma with cubs roaming around. And then you were able to have a chat with another Welsh-speaking guest at home, a member of the local colony that settled in 1865. Pefect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
111
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hosteria Canel B&B is really an enjoyable place. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the breakfeast is delicious. The center of Esquel is not far, but you even do not need to go there - a very good restaurant is about 500m from the hosteria. The owners (Veronica and Jorge) speak English fluently and are very well informed how the things are going in Argentina and also in Europe. It was a pleasure to have conservation with them. They can help you to get tickets for excursions. I was in trouble - needed to return to Chile but there were no buses, so Jorge take me in his own car to the nearest chilean town. My recommendation - if you want to visit this region, Hosteria Canela is the best place for base.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hello Viktor
Nothing feels better than helping a foreign tourist solve his problems in the easiest possible way. For me, it is the best kind of hospitality one can offer. And In doing so I learnt a lot about Tallinn and your country during our long conversation on the car trip to Futaleufu.
Thanks for your nice review.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spend 1 night in this B&B and enjoyed our time there very much! Our room was spacious and the breakfast was of very good quality. It's located 3 min from the city center in a quiet and relaxed neighbourhood. The owner was helpful when we needed to change our tire (what happens quite often in Patagonia): he went with us to a garage/repair shop to ensure we come along and get not ripped off! Overall we only can recommend staying there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0XXtravelXX0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Hello guys,

Thanks for your trouble in writing a nice review. Helping our guests find the best places in Esquel (including a tyre repair shop) is one of the things we believe makes a difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

"Landing" with our car at Hosteria Canela we couldn't hardly believe that this would be the place for the next night: A beautiful house in a lovely garden. We have not been disappointed, everything was excellent! A warm and friendly welcome, nice rooms really inviting to stay, very interesting fotos, a marvellous breakfast... Jorge gave us very precious tips of what we should visit in Esquel and on our way North. While talking together we find out that his ancestors lived half an hour away from where we live in Switzerland. He showed us the heraldic figure of his family. We would have liked to stay much longer, we felt so fine. One thing for sure: if ever we visit again this part of Argentinia we will make a detour to say hello to Veronica, Jorge and there wonderful dog!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Gianno,

Thanks so much for your great review of Canela. We enjoyed your visit, and it was a pity you did not have time to stay for a couple of days.

Nice photos too. Angus misses you!

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hosteria Canela is a delightful place. Veronica and Jorge are very welcoming and helpful, and made us feel immediately at home. They have a keen interest in the history of the region - both Jorge and Veronica's father have written books about it which are on hand to peruse. The house and rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated and spotless. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Hello BevB,
Thank you for your review, and for your recommending us to other travelers too. It was our pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What to say? Everything was perfect, from the room, to breakfast, to the hospitality of the owners. Highly suggested if you pass by Esquel. Only improvement: it could be better indicated from downtown - we spent some time looking for it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Sara C.

Thanks for your nice review! About finding us... well, we are some blocks away from the city's noisy downtown. We have a printable Google map on our website, but not everybody gets to see it, nor the indications in our "Getting Here" section. We are also listed on the GPS systems, but then the local car rentals don't seem to provide these devices on their cars, The local Tourism Office can give easy directions for Canela, and our TripAdvisor page also has a map...but it seems sometimes Esquel turns out to be a bigger city than our incoming guests expect! All in all, most of them like our location, and the relatitvely large (a quarter city block) grounds it made possible. Sorry if you had some difficulty finding us, but we are happy that you did, as we really enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, CT
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As a corportate pilot I don't know where my boss will be taking me. This year it was Argentina. He went to Bariloche and we took the aircraft to Esquel to stay out of the ash. I arrived with no expectations. What a pleasant surprise I had staying at The Hosteria Canela for 3 nights. Jorge and Veronica did not dissappoint based on previous reviews. They were charming, interesting, bilingual (english and spanish) and very attentive hosts. Jorge set us up for a boat tour of the National Park. Julio was our guide and we saw some of the most beautiful sites in the world, lakes, snowcapped mountains, and glaciers. I was told there are "monster" rainbow trout (10 kgs) in the lakes. If I had another day Julio and I would have been on a mission to find them.

The Hosteria Calela is a wonderful place. Each room has it's own character. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms a large. The breakfast is magnificant. I have one question for the readers: is it OK to have Apple Pie for breakfast? I think so and I did every morning, fresh apple pie and I loved it.

When we need to get catering for the aircraft, Jorge was a huge help finding the food and doing our translating. It would not have been possible without him.

Both Jorge and Veronica are real treasures. I was treated like a king and leave with great memories. Thanks to both of you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you CT Curt and your job partner for choosing to stay with us on Xmas. We had a very good time having you here, and it was our pleasure to show you around and providing help when needed. We strived to make you feel at home on such a special date, a long way from your families back home. As some of our reviewers say, Canela B&B is "your home away from home" in Patagonia. Wish we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esquel hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria El Coiron
Hosteria El Coiron
#5 of 11 in Esquel
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Del Sur
Hotel Sol Del Sur
#7 of 11 in Esquel
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hosteria Futalaufquen
Hosteria Futalaufquen
#3 of 11 in Esquel
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Mapuche
Tierra Mapuche
#2 of 9 in Esquel
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibai ko Mendi
Ibai ko Mendi
#7 of 54 in Esquel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Property: Hosteria Canela B&B
Address: Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 6-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing