We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and hospitable owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Esquel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Jorge was a very hospitable and welcoming host. He even collected us from the airport, provided excellent local infomation and arranged local tax hire for us on a couple of occassions. His advice helped make our stay most enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable with plenty of space and comfy chairs to relax in and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Kate,

It is our policy (and pleasure) to make sure our guests get the most from a short visit with us here in Esquel. How good to know you enjoyed your stay, and maybe through our evening chats you also got an insight about its cultural and geographical issues. It was my pleasure having these conversations with you and Bryn. And during your outdoor trips, I understand Felix the taxi driver did his best too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Jorge and Veronica the perfect hosts of this B&B located on the outskirts of Esquel. Their knowledge of northern Patagouna and helpfulness expedited our birding, fishing and hiking. We arrived late our first night and Veronica recommended Mapuche Restaurant in the neighborhood and we loved it, returning another night. You can tell they love what they do.

Room Tip: we has two different room.. Both roomy, clean and Wi Fi available in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Sue & Stan,

Within a 30-mile radius, hiking, fishing and birding are three activities that nature lovers find very rewarding here in Esquel. How good to know you enjoyed all three, and our town's hospitality and good restaurants too!

It's been our pleasure having you here, please come back for a longer stay whenever you can.

Best,
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hosteria Canela is situated in a very nice neighbourhood of Esquel. The centre of Esquel is a short drive away, but there were at least two excellent restaurants within walking distance (Mirador and Mapuche). Our room was very spacious (the one over the dining room) and well equipped. The breakfasts were excellent and Jorge and Veronica were great hosts. There was a bit of a petrol shortage in Esquel while we were there, and we didn't have a lot left in the tank the day that Jorge had made a booking for me to fish the Arroyo Pescado (an 80km round trip). I had been looking forward to this trip for weeks, but Jorge came up trumps and kindly let me have 15 litres from his own supply. Esquel and nearby Trevelin are well worth a visit and we enjoyed a ride on La Trochita, the guanaco walk near ski resort of La Hoya and the Malacara museum. The lovely Los Alerces park is also on the doorstep, but we had already spent several days there before staying in Esquel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teggs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Yes!
And I've heard that, as usual, the fishing was excellent at Arroyo Pescado. Your description of Esquel surroundings helps us communicate what a good destination our area is. Thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed there on our way through Patagonia just after New Years Eve. All restaurants were closed due to holidays and we had a flat tire..
The owner helped to solve both! He was very helpful when calling up some restaurants in order to get us dinner and even more important: he went with us to town to make sure we had no troubles fixing our tire!
The hysteria itself is a very nice little house with only a few rooms, a relaxed atmosphere and a good breakfast. It's only a few minutes away from the center of the town and located in a quiet neighborhood.
We would recommend to stay there and would do so in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00AH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thanks for your review, München!

Yes, we like to do some follow-up on our recommendations, and town is so close by that it is really no effort for us just seeing that you get a fair deal.

Thank you for sharing your Canela B&B experience with the travelers' community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hosteria Canela is just the most fantastic place and the welcome given to us during our recent trip was second to none. Jorge went out of his way to ensure that our stay in Esquel was superb - he took us on a great day out to the National Park and was just the perfect host. I have travelled a fair bit and the service and welcome we received here is as perfect as it gets. I simply cannot praise it enough. If you are going to Esquel then stay there. If you are not going to Esquel then change your plans. Go there and just enjoy !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hello DEJones

We three spent a lovely day at the impressive Los Alerces National Park, didn't we? And it surely was thrillig to know that part of the way was closed by the Park Wardens because there was a female puma with cubs roaming around. And then you were able to have a chat with another Welsh-speaking guest at home, a member of the local colony that settled in 1865. Pefect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hosteria Canel B&B is really an enjoyable place. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the breakfeast is delicious. The center of Esquel is not far, but you even do not need to go there - a very good restaurant is about 500m from the hosteria. The owners (Veronica and Jorge) speak English fluently and are very well informed how the things are going in Argentina and also in Europe. It was a pleasure to have conservation with them. They can help you to get tickets for excursions. I was in trouble - needed to return to Chile but there were no buses, so Jorge take me in his own car to the nearest chilean town. My recommendation - if you want to visit this region, Hosteria Canela is the best place for base.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hello Viktor
Nothing feels better than helping a foreign tourist solve his problems in the easiest possible way. For me, it is the best kind of hospitality one can offer. And In doing so I learnt a lot about Tallinn and your country during our long conversation on the car trip to Futaleufu.
Thanks for your nice review.

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spend 1 night in this B&B and enjoyed our time there very much! Our room was spacious and the breakfast was of very good quality. It's located 3 min from the city center in a quiet and relaxed neighbourhood. The owner was helpful when we needed to change our tire (what happens quite often in Patagonia): he went with us to a garage/repair shop to ensure we come along and get not ripped off! Overall we only can recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0XXtravelXX0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Hello guys,

Thanks for your trouble in writing a nice review. Helping our guests find the best places in Esquel (including a tyre repair shop) is one of the things we believe makes a difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esquel hotels
14.8 mi away
Hosteria Futalaufquen
Hosteria Futalaufquen
#3 of 11 in Esquel
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria El Coiron
Hosteria El Coiron
#5 of 11 in Esquel
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hosteria Angelina
Hosteria Angelina
#4 of 11 in Esquel
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Mapuche
Tierra Mapuche
#2 of 9 in Esquel
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Patagonia Apart
Patagonia Apart
#1 of 55 in Esquel
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Address: Los Notros 1440 | Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range: £85 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 5-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing