We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welsh 'Croeso'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial
Ranked #1 of 2 Gaiman B&B and Inns
Slimbridge,null,United Kingdom
1 review
“A Welsh 'Croeso'”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Ana welcomed us as if old friends with Welsh tea and cakes when we arrived from Peninsula Valdes by car. Gwesty Plas y Coed is easy to find and is in a lovely location close to the park and river. The en suite rooms are clean and the beds really comfortable . There is ample breakfast, and a choice of places to go for evening meals. Gaiman is a pretty town with several visitor attractions, As we were planning our own trip to Argentina and not part of a tour, I had several questions to ask, and Ana was really helpful e.g. finding out about buses that would take us to Esquel in daylight hours so that we could see more of the country. Staying at Gwesty Plas y Coed really added to our short experience of Argentina. Diolch o galon Ana! (Heartfelt thanks Ana)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaManonWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wedi'i leoli yng nghanol y Gaiman, mae'n lle cyfleus iawn i aros. Mae Ana yn hynod groesawgar a chymwynasgar. Roedd ein stafell yn olau a deniadaol a'r gwely'n hynod gyffyrddus. Cyrhaeddom am 05.30 oddi ar y bws o Esquel, a'r gwely fel nyth o blu yn barod ar ein cyfer. Lle braf iawn i aros.

Situated at the centre of Gaiman, its location is very convenient. Ana is very welcoming and obliging. Our room was attractive, airy and very comfortable. We arrived at 05.30 off the bus from Esquel and the bed was like a nest of feathers waiting for us. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Perhaps I am revealing my hand by talking abut welsh cakes when describing a B&B, but it was the only place we found welsh cakes while in Gaiman. They may be somewhere else, but staying here will ensure that you get to start the day with their griddle-ly goodness as well as the other baked goods, jams and cereal that is provided at the ample breakfast. The rooms are cute and en suite. The common room has a refrigerator you can use and a balcony that overlooks the beautiful garden. As other's have noted, Ana's English is excellent and she is a wonderful resource for restaurant recommendations and things to do. We stayed here two nights and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed for one night in May 2012. Ana is a delightful hostess and speaks excellent Welsh & English. Rooms are basic, but have en suite facillities and there is a lounge for residents to use. Ana was extremely helpful and friendly. Diolch yn fawr Ana

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for a night before travelling across to Esquel and the Andes. Anna is extremely helpful, as well as being tri-lingual and an excellent cook!
The rooms are modest and clean, nice grounds and Plas Y Coed, previously named Breuddwyd (Welsh for dream) is well situated.
Near by are all the places worth seing in Gaimam - there are plenty if you look and are interested in history.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road, it can get a bit noisy at the adjacent park areas at the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed four nights so that my wife who has Welsh roots heritage could research her heritage. All booking was carried out by e-mail with Ana (speaks English, Welsh & Spanish) who is very polite and goes out of her way to help. On the day we arrived flights were held up and we did not arrive until well after midnight, nevertheless Ana was at the door when we arrived to welcome us without complaint. Good, very clean room with TV, free Wi-Fi and amazing breakfasts. Located in a quiet side street so car parking is not a problem. ATM and supermarket located at the end of the road about 5-10 minutes away. In order to appreciate Gaiman you need to know its history so that you can seek out the rather hidden sights, which are quite evocative of times past and the Welsh connection. Make sure to visit the tourist information office and also the local museum in the old Gaiman Railway station for the background you need to explore this town. Local restaurants are good and Ana can direct you to them. In order to explore the area a car is needed although bus tours do leave from Trelew, but then you have to get to Trelew to start the tour. Punta Tomba and its penguin colony should not be missed, you really get close to the birds and the whole area is managed sensitively and well by the authorities. Trelew is a bit of a normal city with not much to recommend it, sign posting and road signs are a nightmare and traffic bad however it is the main transport hub for the area.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room at the back of the house away from the road, not a real problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Booked two nights in Gaiman to tour this welsh speaking Patagonian area.
Booking service by email was efficiently handled.
Anna, the host, was very friendly, helpful and could speak welsh, spanish and english (and perhaps more!).
The room was modestly priced. It was compact with a comfortably bed and good bathroom with bath plus integrated shower facility. The breakfast was a feast of items freshly baked for the adjoining welsh tea room - excellent. Car parked safely on road outside property. Overall, very good value for money. The property was located adjacent to the main square: and there was a good supermarket a half-mile walk on the way to the river. I believe Wifi was available but I did not use it during our stay.
An interesting town tour (english guide from new Information Centre), a few good restaurants (which opened quite late), the obvious excellent welsh tea extravaganza (also superbly provided by the host, in the adjoining premises) and a worthwhile walk through the Parque Paleontologico (PP) some 8kms from town provide a few opportunities to consider. Driving to Punta Tombo is a feasible option from Gaiman - and we found using the slower highway 7 from Gaiman towards Trelew provided a clearer insight into local farming practices, chapels etc in a more relaxed manner (indeed highway 25 through Trelew was an absolute nightmare in Nov 2011 with extensive roadworks disrupting traffic flow!!). The PP, or Bryn Gwyn (White Hill) park gives a commanding panoramic view of the Rio Chubut valley and highlights the beneficial impact of welsh farmers and irrigation techniques on the normal Patagonian landscape, even if you fail to find the paleontology interesting.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiman
0.2 mi away
Posada Los Mimbres
Posada Los Mimbres
#1 of 2 in Gaiman
59 reviews
9.9 mi away
Patagonia Suites & Apart
0.3 mi away
Yr Hen Ffordd
Yr Hen Ffordd
#2 of 2 in Gaiman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial

Property: Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial
Address: Calle Pte H Yrigoyen 320, Gaiman U9105BNF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Gaiman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing