We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly Hostel”
Review of La Tosca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tosca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment I walked in the door I felt welcomed.

There are two kitchens, a nice relaxing central garden area, a sociable yet quite lounge/common room. Everything is open plan so it has a feel of space to it.

The owners work on sight and are extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks English which can help us Gringos. They were able to book all my excusions for me.

The usual can be excpected to, free sugary Argentinan breakfast, good showers with hot water and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: In March it is quite quiet so the dorm rooms aren`t always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebarefootbackpackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Been backpacking for 3 months or so now and this hostel was a welcome surprise. Got in here very early and the staff welcomed me with coffee and breakfast and I wasn't even a guest yet. Very nice feeling at 730am after a long bus.

Also the breakfast is pretty good too. Coffee is tasty

The staff is quite informative and helpful about what is going on in the area and can set up tours for you if you'd like.

They have 2 kitchens that the guest can use.

The overall crowd here is very laid back and met some cool travelers.

Bed was comfortable as well.

Oh and they have a hammock which is a big plus in my book.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kampmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We loved our stay at this hostel. Rooms are great, breakfast is very good and personnel is very friendly. The only thing that we found a little disturbing were the guys at the reception trying to sell us their tours no matter what we were looking for.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sébastien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

La Tosca is fantastic - besides from having a place to sleep, you get a great garden to relax in the sun, great common area to meat other travelers, and very nice people in the reception ready to help you plan any trip you want.

If you find their delicious cakes too sweet for breakfast, just ask for something else.
I'm definitely going there again sometime!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

La Tosca was a fantastic place to stay. Eduardo along with the other wonderful staff were very welcoming and helpful. When we first arrived Eduardo provided us with all of the info and day trip options(penguins, sea lions, dolphins and more!) which we took part in and enjoyed. The style of the hostel was modern cabin like with a nice outdoor sitting area. It was an approx 10 minute walk to the main beach area. We thoroughly enjoyed are stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed one week in this hostel. People are very friendly and helpful. Beds are really comfortable and don't move!
There's a beautiful relaxing garden and two fully equipped kitchens.
They make cakes everyday for the breakfast (if you want something else like fruits or cereals, just ask).
The location is good, just 4 blocks from the bus terminal and 4 blocks from the seaside, 2 blocks from city center...
Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnabiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 9 days since we wanted to spend the end of our 3-month long trip doing almost nothing. Couldn't have picked a better place to do it. The staff was great and very helpful, the tours that they arrange right in the hostel are reasonably priced and very convenient. Our room was a double with semi-shared bathroom. The room was great with plenty of shelf space and a large overhead shelf where we stored our muchilas. Everything was very clean and shared kitchens where in good shape.
The bathroom does leave something to be desired for privacy. You can't lock it from the inside so you pretty much hope that the person from the next room will knock before trying to enter. We didn't have any embarrassing incidents but I can see how that might be a problem, if you're stepping out of the shower and someone walks in. The toilet at least has an inner door you can close (but not lock).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eladidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.4 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#13 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aguas Mansas
Hotel Aguas Mansas
#21 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#4 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hi Patagonia
Hi Patagonia
#2 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tosca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tosca Hostel

Address: Sarmiento 437, Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: £21 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Tosca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our facilities are conceived to operate in accordance with the historical climate of the region, facing north. A protected area with a nice and sunny central garden, it’s ideal for a comfortable outdoors rest. The barbecue, in addition, proposes tasting the precious argentine meat. The social area, with a lot of natural light, has a common room, integrating a living room, a dining room and a full equipped kitchen. This is the place where you can have all the information, daily updated, to plan your journey in Madryn. It is also the ideal place to meet people from every corner of the planet and share travel experiences and promote new good moments. The double rooms are very small and simple. Basically designed for sleeping, with exceptional “La Cardeuse” mattresses, excellent unlimited hot showers, and an exhaustive cleaning every day. It is worth clarifying, that these rooms counts with privacy, but share the bathroom with another room across, showing an innovative concept in semi-private. We can offer two separate services within those facilities, private or double ones. The “double bed", which has, obviously, a double bed; or the "bunk beds", which consists of two single beds, one over the other, always in an intimate atmosphere. The Shared bedrooms consist of a big common room, with an internal bathroom, essential for Patagonian nights. The individual lockers offer a safe place to leave your things while you are enjoying your trip. The beds count with those exceptional “La Cardeuse” mattresses too. In every room, individual heaters allows you to manage the room temperature as you like.The service includes breakfast (coffee or tee, with milk, and homemade cakes), access to the internet, Wi-Fi access code. Includes also, of course, bedclothes and a hand towel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your La Tosca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tosca Hostel Puerto Madryn, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing