We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel at home!”
Review of La Tosca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tosca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Makes you feel at home!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A small and cozy hostel with incredibly nice and helpfull staff. It made my stay in the area a good experience, even though almost none of the activities were possible (heavy, heavy rain). They even offer self baked cakes for breakfeast, what more would you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    179
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
94
226
164
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed few days at this hostel, it is a really good place, cute, well located, confortable, clean and the staff is really carefull and propose à lot of activities in the town. Don ´t hesitate to go there!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank céline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I just spent five days at La Tosca, a hostel located in the heart of Puerto Madryn, only five blocks from the ocean, walking distance from the bus station and 5 km away from the airport. The convenient location is walking distance to the wonderful 4 kilometers of coastal promenade, from the Mueller Piedrabuena pier and the Monument to the Colonos Galeses all the way to the breathtaking views of the city and the bay from Monumento al Indio.

Our second-floor private room, one of two such rooms currently available (we were told that more will be built), was simple and clean, with a comfortable large bed, a small full private bathroom, and a single bed that we used for storage. Amenities included screened windows, a small TV, a fan, and daily maid service (a surprise). While the room was a bit dark in the evening, it was luminous in the day, with windows that opened to a common open hallway overlooking the central garden, the social gathering space. Indeed, there was plenty of opportunity to meet fellow travelers from all over the world, many of them backpackers, and this was an enticing reason at the time of booking our stay here.

The scene at La Tosca is generally tranquil, though the kitchen areas can be busy in the evening if the hostel is full, or as backpackers arrive and leave. The only glitch we experienced was on our first night when a group of travelers that had gathered in the garden became increasingly loud late into the evening. However when we called the hostel office at about 12:15AM, the person on duty apologized and immediately quieted things down. The rest of the evenings were very quiet.

The tasty breakfast consisted of a variety of homemade local cakes with tea or coffee. Two kitchens are available on-site if cooking is your thing; otherwise, the list of good local eateries, restaurants and pubs is extensive. We enjoyed local Wynt beer at St James pub, delicious Mexican food and Artesana local beer at Lupita, and fantastic ice cream at Bonfilio, much better than Bonke's.

The friendly, helpful staff offered many suggestions on day trips to explore the area, either on our own, or by booking an excursion with Fugo Tours, the company they work with. We ended up booking three excursions through the front desk and found them all to be excellent. We would rank them as follows:

1) Valdez Peninsula - Great all-day tour with just a few people in a 4x4. The tour guide, Hugo, was excellent. He kept us on track, while never making us feel rushed, and made stops at spots we'd have never found had we tried to see the Peninsula on our own. While it was not the season for seeing the southern right whale, it was still worth doing. If you are only going to do one excursion, and are trying to decide between the Peninsula and Punta Tombo tours, I'd suggest the Peninsula for its much more varied wildlife and coastal scenery.

2) Punta Ninfas - Good half-day tour where you hike down a cliff and trek across a deserted beach to see elephant seals up close. Again with Hugo with a small group in a 4x4. Amazing views from the top of the cliffs and fascinating to watch the elephant seals interact up close.

3) Punta Tombo - Minibus transportation the Punta Tombo reserve, where you walk along the marked path and boardwalk, with nesting (or in our case molting) penguins all around. The penguin rookery is certainly worth seeing, but we felt the other two tours offered a more unique experience. Because there were no takers for the optional dolphin excursion, the tour stopped at Gaiman on the way back. Since a visit to Gaiman was something we had in mind to do, we were glad to have made this stop. That said, we found there really was not much of interest there - most visitors to this region of Patagonia will want to spend their time elsewhere.

All in all, La Tosca is a fine choice for convenient access to attractions in Puerto Madryn and neighboring areas. Since the rate was about 20% less than the off-season rates for a standard room at some of the nearby traditional hotels, La Tosca’s private rooms are a viable alternative, especially if you plan to use the kitchen and interact with other travelers. Our rating of 3 stars is based on evaluating La Tosca as an alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment I walked in the door I felt welcomed.

There are two kitchens, a nice relaxing central garden area, a sociable yet quite lounge/common room. Everything is open plan so it has a feel of space to it.

The owners work on sight and are extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks English which can help us Gringos. They were able to book all my excusions for me.

The usual can be excpected to, free sugary Argentinan breakfast, good showers with hot water and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: In March it is quite quiet so the dorm rooms aren`t always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarefootbackpackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Been backpacking for 3 months or so now and this hostel was a welcome surprise. Got in here very early and the staff welcomed me with coffee and breakfast and I wasn't even a guest yet. Very nice feeling at 730am after a long bus.

Also the breakfast is pretty good too. Coffee is tasty

The staff is quite informative and helpful about what is going on in the area and can set up tours for you if you'd like.

They have 2 kitchens that the guest can use.

The overall crowd here is very laid back and met some cool travelers.

Bed was comfortable as well.

Oh and they have a hammock which is a big plus in my book.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kampmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hostel. Rooms are great, breakfast is very good and personnel is very friendly. The only thing that we found a little disturbing were the guys at the reception trying to sell us their tours no matter what we were looking for.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

La Tosca is fantastic - besides from having a place to sleep, you get a great garden to relax in the sun, great common area to meat other travelers, and very nice people in the reception ready to help you plan any trip you want.

If you find their delicious cakes too sweet for breakfast, just ask for something else.
I'm definitely going there again sometime!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.4 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Australis Yene hue
Australis Yene hue
#11 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#3 of 62 in Puerto Madryn
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tosca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tosca Hostel

Property: La Tosca Hostel
Address: Sarmiento 437, Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Tosca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our facilities are conceived to operate in accordance with the historical climate of the region, facing north. A protected area with a nice and sunny central garden, it’s ideal for a comfortable outdoors rest. The barbecue, in addition, proposes tasting the precious argentine meat. The social area, with a lot of natural light, has a common room, integrating a living room, a dining room and a full equipped kitchen. This is the place where you can have all the information, daily updated, to plan your journey in Madryn. It is also the ideal place to meet people from every corner of the planet and share travel experiences and promote new good moments. The double rooms are very small and simple. Basically designed for sleeping, with exceptional “La Cardeuse” mattresses, excellent unlimited hot showers, and an exhaustive cleaning every day. It is worth clarifying, that these rooms counts with privacy, but share the bathroom with another room across, showing an innovative concept in semi-private. We can offer two separate services within those facilities, private or double ones. The “double bed", which has, obviously, a double bed; or the "bunk beds", which consists of two single beds, one over the other, always in an intimate atmosphere. The Shared bedrooms consist of a big common room, with an internal bathroom, essential for Patagonian nights. The individual lockers offer a safe place to leave your things while you are enjoying your trip. The beds count with those exceptional “La Cardeuse” mattresses too. In every room, individual heaters allows you to manage the room temperature as you like.The service includes breakfast (coffee or tee, with milk, and homemade cakes), access to the internet, Wi-Fi access code. Includes also, of course, bedclothes and a hand towel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Tosca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tosca Hostel Puerto Madryn, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing