We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for wildlife”
Review of Australis Yene hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Australis Yene hue
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel twice during October and November - both times with a sea facing room, once on the fourth and once on the fifth floor.
It is a good hotel at the price in this area. And the reception staff were helpful and speak english well.
Our room was sizeable - and the bathroom was well laid out. It was all kept clean. The view from the room, over the bay, was excellent (and from there we did see whales - with the aid of binoculars!). Good room safe. Wifi was available free throughout the hotel and the signal reception was adequate - but I did encounter understandable problems moving a large picture file as an attachment to an email on one occasion. The hotel was reasonable quiet (ie not much noise from other guests) and whilst there was some early evening traffic noise on Av Juil A Roca it was not excessive and had cleared in time for a good night sleep. Air conditioning was up and running on our second visit and was fine.
The breakfast was typical of the area and was fair. Seating could be stretched at times, but we never failed to find a place and to have an adequate breakfast.
Never had a full meal at the hotel (plenty of good restaurants nearby) but the service in the car / bar was good and staff were helpful.
Used the car park, which was on a first come first served basis (there were not many spaces available, but there were many spares available during our visit) at a small extra charge.
The hotel appears to suffer from lack of precision on certain web sites from what the charge covers (tax and breakfast being typical) - but recheck with the handling site or agent (as we did to find that the exclusions were wrong and items were included) and its actual location (it is situated close to the pier, directly overlooking the promenade and bay).
One of our main concerns was how to organise the transfer from Trelew airport, late at night, to the hotel. We abandoned the idea of getting a rented car at the airport and opted for a transfer organised efficiently by Ryan Travel (picking up a rented car in Puerto Madryn later). That approach worked very well - it is a modest distance to travel. We also used Ryan Travel for englsih speaking guided tours to Peninsula Valdes (prior to staying in P Piramde and Gaiman ourselves) and Punto Tombo - recommended. Our return flight from Trelew ten days later experienced a significant delay and Ryan Travel (who we also booked for a return transfer) took some of the strain in helping us through that difficulty.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights to visit the lovely sights that Puerto Madryn offers. The hotel is generally ok but it is nowhere near 4 stars! The check in is relatively late ( and they will not let you into your room early even if it's ready!) the check out is at 10am which again is a little early when no late check-out option is offered. The pool and jacuzzi look nice in the photos but when you get there you realise that they are very small and shallow - you can't swim in the pool without banging your knees on the bottom!! And the worse of all is the breakfast - most mornings it was an absolute disaster!! Firstly, I feel that a 4 star hotel should offer more than a simple self-service breakfast, but if they are not going to bother to bring you the food the least they could do is offer some hot food- not here, instead what you get is over 100 guests crowded into a woefully small room fighting over a few pieces of bread and cake with cold coffee - that's if you manage to get a table at all! I've had much better breakfast at youth hostels.

To be fair, this hotel is priced cheaper than most other 4 star hotels in the town, but it shoudl really be compared with nice 2 star / average 3 star places. It was clean and tidy and had good communal space to relax - just make sure you book at a cheap price and don't expect and luxuries.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The hotel is decent- nothing fancy. We had ocean views which were great. The nice thing about the hotel was the availability of the spa. We checked out of the hotel in the morning, but our bus to Bariloche was at night- so we went to the Valdez peninsula and afterwards took a shower in the spa area. All for free- and they even provided us towels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soupspoon972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

not special but with the price we paid we were satisfied with this hotel. However the breakfast was not so good and it needed to be upgraded soon. Beside of that everything was good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junorjulyinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our two children for four nights during our stay in Puerto Madryn in mid september. We got an ocean view suite which was really comfortable for the four of us. The view and the location are simply perfect!. We could see the whales from our room window! It´s across the street from the beach and the pier and in the center of the restaurants and shops. The rooms and the general decoration are not very nice, though. Don´t expect a four star hotel. It was ok for us since there is so much to do in Puerto Madryn that we went to the hotel only to sleep, and the room was comfortable and spacious. We used this hotel as a base and did day trips to the main attractions .
We went to Puerto Piramides, in Peninsula Valdes. It is a small, lovely beach where you take the boat to see the whales. We went with Southern Spirit and it was wonderful, great staff, modern boats, very proffessional. The water is cristal clear so we could see the mom and baby whale just by the boat. Wait for a day with good weather (no wind) to go and try to go in the morning or midday. In our experience, the whales seemed to be more active at that time of the day. They even went under our boat and poke their heads out and watched us! Tryly unbelievable experience. If you can, take a day to be at Puerto Piramides, watching the whales (even from the shore) and resting at he beach. You can see the sea lions from a nearby spot. Have an afternoon tea at the cafe just next to Southern Spirit office. It's lovely. Take another day to go around the peninsula and see the sea elephants at Caleta Valdes and La Elvira estancia.If you can, try to go to Punta Tombo. It´s 100 km south from Puerto Madryn. From September to January there are thousands (literally) of penguins and you walk among them! We went two days after the season started and were told there were going to be few penguins as they were just arriving from their migration. When we arrived, there were aproximately 50,000! It's the most amazing place we have ever seen. Totally worth the trip!!!!! If you go to Trelew, don´t miss the MEF museum.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank werty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Yene Hue for two nights of a tour of Argentina and weren't that impressed.

I had a lot of problems trying to book accommodation in advance and was told there was no availability 4 months prior to our visit. However, walking in off the street in Puerto Madryn, we managed to book a room.

The hotel is in a great location, right next to the shops/restaurants/travel agencies and on the seafront. It is a new place, but the facilities aren't as good as you would expect from this class of hotel. We didn't use the sports facilities, but they looked small. The breakfast was self service (including drinks), with tables so close together that it was a challenge to sit down. There was, however, free internet access in the upstairs seating area.

The room was clean and a good size. There wasn't any hotel information and I think we had a few items missing from the room. The air conditioning looked like it had been leaking and didn't work that well for us. The bathroom was fairly small, but was clean and all in good order.

The quality of the staff varied. One receptionist tried to charge us a higher rate than advertised and seemed to ignore customers. However, the other male receptionist was lovely and very pleasant to deal with. The young bell boy was very helpful too.

I would say that this hotel is overpriced and not close to the standard of a 4 star luxury hotel. The hotel options in Puerto Madryn seem to be booked early, expensive and not of a high standard. If you are looking for a higher standard hotel this may be one of only a few choices.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MJnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

The rooms of this new and self-claimed 4-star superior hotel are nice, but not stylish. I really enjoyed the view of the sea and the whales from my room. But still, I cannot recommend the hotel.

First, they gave me a room with city view (cheapest category), although I paid for for an executive room with view of the sea (most expensive rooms). When I complained, they kept me waiting for almost an hour, while figuring out what went wrong in their system. (They even asked me to forward the e-mail correspondence, they should have themselves!) And the problem was not that there was no room left! Even more general, the staff wasn't too friendly and seem to lack a service mentality I know from other four star hotels. Among others, waiting over a week for an e-mail response for a reservation request is in my opinion inadequate.

Moreover, also the facilities are not the best: The advertised wireless internet connection does not work in the executive (!) rooms and the swimming pool and jacuzzi were closed during my stay.

Finally, one day I had shoeprints of the service staff on the bathroom floor. In the advertised hotel category, I would not expect something like this to happen.

To sum up: Nice view of the sea, but the rest urgently needs to be improved for a "four star superior hotel". So it was not worth its money and you are better up with choosing a different hotel at the seafront.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rattle_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.5 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#5 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aguas Mansas
Hotel Aguas Mansas
#21 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australis Yene hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Yene hue

Address: Avenida Pte Gral J a Roca 33, Puerto Madryn U9120AIA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Madryn
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Madryn
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Madryn
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Australis Yene hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located strategically in the city, opposite to the sea and a few minutes of Peninsula Valdés, Australis Yene hue, means place of whales in the Mapuche language.It is built on a land of 1000 m2 and posses 11 floors to favour the best views, 71 rooms, a complete SPA, a thematic tango restaurant and conventions rooms.Of category 4 start superior, this hotel offers the most sophisticated hotel for this tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Australis Yene hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Yene Hue Hotel Puerto Madryn
Australis Yene Hue Puerto Madryn, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing