We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a Sea View Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Restingas Hotel de Mar
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed slightly off season. Very friendly staff, food was fine but a little limited but you have to have a sea view room

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel (room 10) and I am very happy to choose that particular one. In the beginning we wanted to stay at Hosteria Ecologica, which has the highest rate on TripAdvisor, but I am happy there were no room available.
No one other hotel in Puerto Piramides has this wonderful view to the ocean...even if you you are not in the season of whales. The sunsets are really fantastic.
Room: our room was very clean and spacious with a small balcony where you can seat and watch the ocean. By the way, we could negotiate with them the price of the room and got SeaView room for the price of normal one.
Service: personnel is very friendly and helpful.
Activities: there are plenty different things to do apart watching whales:
1. After long visit of Peninsula, we have made 2 hours horse riding, galloping on the beach with sun going down. It is organized by very nice couple who lives about 150 meters from the hotel (ACA motel).
2. The second day we made snorkeling with sea lions (organized by Patagonia Scuba www.patagonia-scuba.com.ar) which was the greatest and most exceptional experience I have ever had. There were about 100 animals all around. When you swim they come very near to you that you can touch and if you are really lucky as me you can even get a kiss of sea lion. That is not dangerous at all and very-very interesting.
3. The hotel also have spa area with small swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and some machines, but you should preview personnel at the reception in case you would like to use it.
You can do many different things in addition as kayak on the sea, visit of Peninsula by the boat or if you are lucky as we were even take the sun bath :)
The only thing I have to mention is to avoid sea food dishes. As fishing is forbidden in the region because of National park rules at the Hotel's restaurant and actually at all the restaurants of the village they serve you only frozen sea food and fish. BUT you don't come there for food. At least we didn't.
We really enjoyed our stay at Las Restingas and if once coming again at P. Piramides will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusikBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Las Restingas is located in the best place of Puerto Piramides, and this lovely village is the best place to do whale watching in Peninsula Valdes. If you are really interested in whales, Las Restingas is the place to go. Waking up in the morning, looking out of the window and being able to see 10, 20 whales jumping and with the tales up is incredible. We travelled with our two daughters and they loved it. The personnel is very friendly. You do not have to expect an upscale experience but an incredible experience in contact with nature in a hotel located in the best place possible. Absolutely compensates any negative comment I have read before going there.

Room Tip: Looking at the beach! Absolutely essential and the price difference in minor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silviaoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We liked the idea to dine overlooking the ocean. That was fine, sunsets are beautiful anywhere there. We got pricy food, awful slow service and an unhelpful waiter. Our party of five took three hours to be served cold, frozen seafood.
Don't go there if you want your whale watching not spoiled.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CELINETRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Las Restingas is a very cute hotel nicely located directly on the beach. Rooms are nice and with a spectacular view on the bay. You can see whales from your bed...... Rooms are nicely decorated although not very big. Service is friendly and the restaurant offers limited selection but good quality.
In our opinion it is definitely the best choice in Puerto Piramides.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

It's our second stay at Las Restingas Hotel. The place and the views: unforgettable. The staff of the hotel and the restaurant: 10 points!!!. Our 9-year old daughter was treated like "a queen" and Gustavo, at the restaurant, prepared special plates for her. We felt at home and treated like friends. Congratulations and thanks a lot!!. Norberto and Gabriela García.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norgargir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We have eaten in this restaurant.
The portion of the food was very small and OVERPRICED.

But I have never seen such exorbitant prices for such inedible coffees.
!!! 5 US$ for a inedible coffee (in a village of Argentina with 200 habitants) !!!
!!! 9 US$ for a inedible cappuccino (in a village of Argentina with 200 habitants) !!!

The only one tip for this hotel / restaurant is:
DON'T GO TO LAS RESTINGAS!
The restaurants next door to Las Restingas are much better and you pay less than half of the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Piramides
0 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
972 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
739 reviews
0 mi away
El Pedral
El Pedral
#9 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
584 reviews
0 mi away
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
#1 of 4 in Puerto Piramides
114 reviews
0 mi away
Oceano Patagonia
Oceano Patagonia
#1 of 15 in Puerto Piramides
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Restingas Hotel de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Restingas Hotel de Mar

Address: Primera Bajada al mar y Ribera Martima, Puerto Piramides 9121, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Piramides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Piramides
Price Range: £72 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Restingas Hotel de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbays, cliffs and ancient rock formations give place to the beautiful beaches of Puerto Piramides where Las Restingas Hotel de Mar is located. Declared a World Heritage site by the UNESCO in 1999, Peninsula Valds receives the southern right whale year after year and invites you to meet an extraordinary nature experience, lodged in an unforgettable hotel. The hotel offers 12 room. 8 rooms are located at the front, with a private baranda and the most privileged sea view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Restingas Hotel de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing