We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly a refuge in San Martin”
Review of Refugio Melingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refugio Melingo
Arlington, VA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“truly a refuge in San Martin”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My brother and I stayed for five nights in Refugio Melingo during our first trip to Patagonia. From the moment they picked us up at the bus station, Melanie and Ingo took care of us for an entire week, helping us plan a bike trip, a hike to the top of a beautiful mountain and a day of white-water rafting nearby San Martin. Our room was perfectly clean and featured a large bathroom and an expansive view of the lush surroundings. We were also very well-fed every morning with fresh fruit and homemade bread.

I would not hesitate to stay again at Refugio Melingo on my next trip to San Martin.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brimalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie574, Owner at Refugio Melingo, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comment Brian, your allways welcome back in our Refugio! saludos a tu hermano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

San Martin de los Andes is a dream - and the Refugio of Melanie and Ingo was so nice -perfect for everybody - families, friends, singles, couples - you have a perfect view of the top of the "small" hill and get a very warm welcome of Mel and Ingo and his cute daughter.
The breakfast was so tasty - with fresh fruits, juice, cheese, honey and marmelade and very good bread - riquísimo and they gave us the best tip ever for a restaurant in town - a very good steakhouse. We had also two amzing days with Ingo - on bike and a trekking tour - increíble..
So get your experience and take a stay in that special Refugio...
Pat&Jana (Munich)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana81367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie574, Manager at Refugio Melingo, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comment Jana and Pat! We enjoyed having you in house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stayed with Ingo and Melanie longer than I had planned because I enjoyed it so much.
The guest house is very personal, it's as if you are staying in a private house and you are treated as if you were a friend.
I highly recommend Refugio Melingo to people who rather go for places with character than big anonymous holiday resorts.
It's impecable in terms of cleanliness and interior design and their homemade bread on the breakfast tahble is the first highlight of the day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadja07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie574, Owner at Refugio Melingo, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Liebe Nadja, wir wuenschen uns noch viele Gaeste wie Dich hier, danke fuer den Eintrag! besos y abrazos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2011

During our tour through SW-Argentina we stayed at many places but we must say that Refugio Melingo was outstanding.
Arrived late at night, received a warm welcome, a free room upgrade, a delicious breakfast the next morning, WLAN, information material on the area, local advice, ...
The room and bath were spacious and very clean. Value for money was excellent (independent from the upgrade we received). The location is lovely on a wooded hill overlooking San Martín de los Andes. It is about 2 km to the town centre (no problem with a car or bike but quite a steep walk back uphill).
Nevertheless, we rate it a clear 5/5.
We would have loved to stay longer (and we surely will next time).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie574, Owner at Refugio Melingo, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hi Daniel,
thank you very much for your nice comment! Hope to see you one day back in Argentina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Martin de los Andes hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Chatelet Hotel
Le Chatelet Hotel
#15 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rucaleufu Apart-Hotel
Rucaleufu Apart-Hotel
#13 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rotui Apart Hotel
Rotui Apart Hotel
#1 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hosteria La Posta del Cazador
Hosteria La Posta del Cazador
#2 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
My friends Aparthotel
My friends Aparthotel
#28 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rincon de los Andes
Rincon de los Andes
#14 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Melingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Melingo

Property: Refugio Melingo
Address: Calle Las Lengas 139, San Martin de los Andes Q8370BKC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > San Martin de los Andes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Martin de los Andes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Refugio Melingo 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. We also offer Thai-Yoga massage! We provide staying in a family atmosphere. Rooms from 1 to 4 pers. Breakfast buffet with homemade bread inclusive. Only 1,5 km from town Center in a quiet neighbourhood in the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Refugio Melingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing