We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total gem!”
Review of Casona DelAlto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casona DelAlto
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A total gem!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Casona Del Alto was our favorite place we stayed in a month in Patagonia! It is a lovely facility where exquisite attention to every detail was taken in its design and construction. It is the dream project of Lilia and Fernando and it shows. The setting on a hill overlooking the valley outside of San Martin De Los Andes is fabulous--it is a perfect place to relax. If like us you want to hike Fernando is a wealth of information about trails in the area. Add to this the basics (breakfast, wifi, etc.) are also great and Casona Del Alto is a complete winner. We could not recommend it more highly. It would have been great value at twice the price!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nextlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
103
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent two months in Argentina and Casona DelAlto is our favorite hotel. Everything is made to perfection and they really helped us in many ways. We were there with our 7 months old and they really made us feel like at home. They even prepared baby puree for us. We also ate there a few times and the food is simply amazing and the place is extremely clean at all time. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are stunning and its nice to have access to the gym and the private jacuzzi. All the family is really friendly and we will definitly go back to spend more time. The view on the mountains is breathtaking. So dont hesitate, its for sure the best place to pick in San Martin de los Andes. Thank you so much for this great time!
Genevieve and Seth from Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genny767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a gorgeous location this is in. We arrived in San Martin de los Andes via a bus from Pucon, which took the scenic Seven Lakes Drive route through Villa la Angostura. Lili, who I’d been in email contact with for months, kindly met us at the bus terminal and took us to their dream house in the Patagonian countryside, a ten minute drive outside of San Martin.

We arrived at their gorgeous home, and could see why they take so much pride in it and in showing people around it. Fernando gave us the run down on this long project, and you can really tell this home is full of love, built and designed to a very high standard and for comfort and relaxation. Everything has been thought about and there are plenty of areas to sit and relax, either with other guests or you can find a spot to relax on your own.

There’s also a large dining area, upstairs library area with picture window, downstairs seating areas, outside seating areas, swimming pool (much needed in the heat we had whilst we were there), a gym and a Jacuzzi.

We went to the town for a walk around and something to eat and drink, but we then spent the following day relaxing at Casona Del Alto. They kindly prepared us an afternoon snack and then we enjoyed a three course evening meal later on.

Lili, Fernando and their family really welcome you to their home and look after you well. Even a tiny mix up with our evening meal led to them knocking it off our bill – there really was no need. Lili had even gone and bought our bus tickets for our onward journey to Bariloche. They are so friendly and Fernando sat and chatted with us a while about his love for music and his plans to visit Europe.

A really lovely relaxing stay and I would highly recommend this, even though it is slightly out of town. If you’re staying a while then a car would be useful, but the taxi back from town is reasonable (sorry can’t remember how much). Lili and Fernando were really kind though and picked us up and dropped us back at the bus terminal. Thank you Lili and Fernando for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samkirk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Although a little out of town, if you're driving, it's worth the extra drive to Casano del Alto to stay there. This hotel/home wouldn't look out of place on an episode of Grand Designs.

The place is pretty enormous and was only finished in 2011. It's clear that some expertise has been applied with regard to the interior design and this works really well throughout the entire building.

I think all the rooms are on the first floor with the family home being on the second. Our room was spacious enough with a large bathroom that had a jacuzzi bath and shower. The views from the windows are excellent as well as the whole property was built on top of a hill which gives you great expansive views right across the opposing valley.

Also on the first floor is a small library with comfortable settees to sit on. Again there are great views to be had if you just want to sit and read - WiFi is available throughout the entire house.

Downstairs there are more comfortable places to sit and there is also a dining area where breakfast and evening meals (optional) are served. Tea, coffee, fruit, cereals, yoghurt and omelettes are available with juice. Breakfast is between 8 and 11am which I think is pretty relaxed.

Outside there is a small swimming pool which we made use of and was quite refreshing in the searing heat. There is also a small gym and a full size jacuzzi that you are able to use and just needs booking a hour before using.

The whole family, Fernando, Lili and their son Francisco can all speak very good English and will happily advise on restaurants, things to do in the area or will happily chat about football, architecture and music amongst others. Before being shown to your room, you will be given a tour of the house and gardens.

Overall I would say this is a relaxing and comfortable place to stay where you can catch up on reading, news, emails etc in nice friendly surroundings. Worth staying at.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This place is a gem! My wife and I plus 2 year old booked a superior room here which is perfect for a family. Great King sized bed plus plenty of extra room with a futon, DirecTV, beautiful bathroom, and view of the farm and mountain landscape outside.

Fernando and Lilia are wonderful hosts to talk to--they have great taste in design and it shows throughout all the details of this custom built home. If you're a dog lover, Simon and Luna are very sweet dogs to explore outside with. Our toddler is still talking about them after returning home.

Because it's outside of town, it's definitely helpful to have a car. Also if you're driving, it's very helpful to have in hand the custom map/directions provided directly from Fernando and Lilia. I had the most up to date Garmin maps on my GPS and this road isn't on there. But again, it's a simply beautiful location.

Really a crime we didn't stay here longer as it's such a comfortable space (with great hosts). And based on the breakfast we had here, we would have loved to have planned for a dinner. Next time...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbrownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed twice at Casona Del Alto during our stay in Patagonia because of the relaxed vibes, the beauty of this hotel and views that are sensational. Fernando and Lilia were such warm and friendly hosts that we felt this hotel was a home away from home. Every room has views of mountains and the river flood plain below. All the rooms show a great deal of thought has been put into their construction and the beautiful timber detailing adds warmth.The hotel is situated away from roads and is very quiet and relaxing.
Casona Del Alto is only a ten minute drive to San Martin de Los Andes and another twenty minutes will see you at the mount Chapelco car park. Fernando has a wealth of knowledge of the local area and is only too pleased to suggest interesting things to see and do.
Our favourite time at Casona Del Alto was breakfast looking out at the snow covered mountains touched by the sun before a days skiing.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 5 nights and it was good. I liked the view, the hospitality. I liked the sound of birds instead of cars. As you are 5 km alway from town it is peacefull. But still close enough that you can use the pick up service to get to the mountain to ski. I presume if you are staying much furter out that would be difficult. You fave the benefits of staying in town but not the disadventures from a town (sound and busy). The diner was nice, healty and the wine was good. The owners are always in for a little conversation and that makes it special.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank globaltrotter_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Martin de los Andes hotels
3.8 mi away
Rotui Apart Hotel
Rotui Apart Hotel
#1 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hosteria La Posta del Cazador
Hosteria La Posta del Cazador
#2 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sieteflores Hosteria de Montana
Sieteflores Hosteria de Montana
#25 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana
Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana
#7 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Chatelet Hotel
Le Chatelet Hotel
#15 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
161 reviews
4.4 mi away
Patagonia Plaza
Patagonia Plaza
#6 of 36 in San Martin de los Andes
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona DelAlto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona DelAlto

Property: Casona DelAlto
Address: Calle 5 N 187 San Martin de los Andes, San Martin de los Andes 8370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > San Martin de los Andes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in San Martin de los Andes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the amenities of a hotel with the cozy felling of home. Located 10 minutes from downtown San Martín de los Andes, surrounded by native forrest and mountains offers great views of the Chapelco Mountain.9 suites, living room and restaurant with fireplaces, library, dinner with reservation for guests only. Gym, jacuzzi, dry sauna and outdoor heated swimming pool.Managed by owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casona DelAlto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing