We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Beautiful sceneries of the lake but this depends on which level you are located. Food is decent, service is impeccable and bathroom/jacuzzi view is absolutely to die for. Finally the most was the sultan size bed that made us slept like babies.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riabu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

Looking at previous reviews, we wonder whether our experience was because we came in the low season. We had some (though not all) similar experiences to those of the last reviewer. On the plus side, the location is beautiful. Also, the receptionist who doubled as bartender and waiter was delightful and very helpful. On the negative side, other parts of the service seemed half hearted. Also, our lower floor room was poorly sound proofed. On our first night, we had to put up with a lot of noise from the room next door. Overall, we felt the hotel was poor value for the relatively high room rates.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Based on other reviews, my husband and I booked this hotel after 2 wonderful nights in Bariloche. What a disappointment in comparison. To begin with the staff was indifferent when we checked in, the elevator was not working and the promise of help with the luggage never materialized. The room had a bed and a bench...no other seating area, not even a desk. The TV (not a flat screen) sat on a table and that was pretty much it. The sheets were too short for the bed and could not be tucked in, which made for a very restless 2 nights. The bathroom was very small although it did have a seperate toilet, the shower was barely big enough to turn around in and I am a small woman. The internet went in and out and in the 2 nights we were there we had to have our key repeatedly reprogrammed. The breakfast was far from the best we had in Argentina and the spa was very "tired".
On the plus side, the view is incredible and makes up for a lot. There are just newer and more reasonably priced properties in the area. Maybe we just got a bad room but for the price, I would never go back.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After a week fishing 5 hrs south,we chose El Faro as our respite in beautiful Villa Angostura. The arrival down the drive is breathtaking, as is the room view (get a balcony room to open the doors and get a nice breeze off the lake).
What really impressed us was the quality and care of the staff. We had experienced a few glitches with another company before arriving, and they went out of their way to make our stay at El Faro memorable. Thank you Diana, Malvinia, and all the others who work behind the scenes. Smiles and a genuine interest in our daily activities were sincere; we enjoyed getting to know some of the staff of this most unique & lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in Patagonia 3 Room. Large spectacular room and view. Just out of town, so a car is nice. About a 1 hour drive from Bariloche. Recommend the 2 hour drive to Traful and lunch at small cafe there whose name excapes me, a great way to spend a day. We drove over pass into Puerto Montt, Chile, which is 3 hour beautiful drive, but roundtrip is a bit much for 1 day...should plan to spend the nite in Chile. Arrayannes Park was very nice walk then ferry back to town. El Faro breakfasts were nice, but better choices in town for dinner. Dinner at Las Brisas was memorable, good but pricey. Nice massages for us both, which Faro threw in for free since our anniversary. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinJack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We arrived at El Faro almost by chance and discovered this beatiful place by the lake Nahuel Huapi. The room we had (standard one) was very spacious and with the most amaizing view of the sunset by the lake and behind the mountains . A well equiped bathroom, good breakfast, very helpful staff, nice spa and free wi-fi made us stay for more than we planed at this hotel. We also ate dinner, which was o.k. but expensive.
It was really a charming and quiet place to stay .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ges54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We booked here based on the reviews and were delighted by our experience at El Faro. As noted by others, the hotel is a 20-minute walk or short cab ride from downtown. Though that's sometimes a pain, the tradeoff is you get a fantastic view and serene setting.

We were upgraded to a suite and it was lovely -- huge sitting area, jacuzzi views over the lake, and a comfy bed. We ate dinner there one night and it was good, but not exceptional. Breakfast was decent but didn't have many options.

The spa was being redone while we visited, and the portions that were almost done looked very nice. Other areas like the sitting room, annex, and lookout tower were great.

Overall, this was one of the top hotels we stayed in during a 5 week trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa La Angostura hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
#5 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Las Balsas
Las Balsas
#3 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
#4 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes & Spa
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes &...
#7 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
#2 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
497 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
#6 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. 7 Lagos 2345 | Ruta Nacional Nº 231 KM 64,350, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina (Formerly Don el Faro Patagonia)
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#3 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range: £104 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don El Boutique Hotel & Spa is a Luxury Boutique Hotel with 5 star services, located across from Lake Nahuel Huapi Lake in Villa La Angostura. It is characterized by a fabulous view of the lake and the Cordillera of the Andes from all points of the Hotel. All rooms are spacious, elegant and comfortable allowing guest to enjoy the view of the lake through its giant windows. The hotel has a gourmet restaurant with autograph cuisine and lake view; and a spa where guests can relax and watch the sunset time. The hotel has wifi in the rooms and common areas, and outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Patagonia Hotel Villa La Angostura
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa Villa La Angostura, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing