We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Villa La Angostura
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Beware of Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso in Villa Angostura. After reserving and paying in advance for 4 full nights, my family and I (3 adults) stayed at this Hosteria last July 2008. After an uneventful stay, on the day before we were to leave I had an accident while sitting on a wooden chair in the room. Fortunately I was not hurt but the chair had a broken leg.
When I informed the owners (Manuel and Ana) about the accident I was surprised to hear that the chair was part of an “exclusive set of an ancient pair of chairs and round table” which cost a total of US $2,500.00. My wife, who is a Professor of Law at a Brazilian University, uselessly tried to argue based on the principles of Law. An insurance agent called by the owners tried to help but left when I first offered US$100.00 to get rid of the trouble. They threatened to call the police if we did not pay and had the doors closed under the watchful eyes of a security guard. We could not leave until we paid US$ 200.00 (the least they accepted for the repair which they had initially established as US$ 400.00). Beware of Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso, it may become hell.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RICBahia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2007

My husband and I are Argentine residents so the rates that applied to us may not be available to foreigners. We also traveled in March, which is medium to low season. However, it is an excellent season to travel, as the weather is fine (end of summer), the prices are low and the places are not packed with children and teen-agers (school time has started). At the Patagonia Paraiso, we paid 80 US dollars per night for a double room (called Junior Suite, but just an average room) with whirlpool bath and view to the lake, even from the whirlpool.
Patagonia Paraiso is situated on a peninsula, on the coast of the bay, overlooking the mainland. This peninsula and bay (Bahía Manzano and Puerto Manzano peninsula) are 7 km from Villa La Angostura, the village on the northern shore of the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Famous Bariloche lies on the southern shore of this huge lake. In fact, travelers have to fly to Bariloche airport first, when coming to Villa La Angostura. The best deal is to rent a car and drive the 80 km or so round the lake. But an alternative is to take a bus from the bus terminal ($12 or 4 US dollars), which will drop you in Villa La Angostura after a 1 1/2 hour journey. From there, you can take another bus to the beginning of the Puerto Manzano peninsula ($1 or 0.33 US dollars, running one per hour), or a taxi ($15 or 5 US dollars). There are several trekking circuits up the mountains and to waterfalls, plus bus and boat tours in the area, and in winter there is a skiing resort about 2 miles from Bahía Manzano.
Now that you know where the place is and what you can do, let's concentrate on the hotel itself. It is advertised as a 4-star hotel. True in some aspects: only 12 rooms ensure that you are very well taken care of, and all of them have gorgeous views to the lake (see photos). Fittings in the room are top quality, as are mattress, linen, whirlpool tub in bathroom, electronic safe in the closet, complimentary terry cloth bathrobes. Beautiful common areas, including a TV room with a 54" plasma screen and comfortable sofas, free Internet access in the TV room, available 24 hours a day, breakfast terrace with open view. The newly opened heated swimming pool is small, but since there are few guests, it turns into an almost private swimming pool. You can walk along the coast from the inlet where the hotel is situated right to the beginning of Bahía Manzano, where you will find the harbor for private boats and a couple of restaurants (about 300 yards). Or you can just sit and read on the terrace or under the tall coihue trees, or next to the local arrayanes bushes (reddish bark, part of a National Park attraction), or lie on the volcanic sand beach and bird watch. We had lunch there and found the food adequate.
On the other hand, it is also true that the hotel's maintenance is lacking a bit, since there were areas of the room that needed repainting (and working on the plumbing, since apparently there were leaks into the room from the bathroom), and I would guess that, since the hotel is only one year old, the problem is that the quality of construction is not up to standard in these far away places . The rooms are small in size, but the closet space is adequate and so is the bathroom, with a separate sink area. The wall separating the whirlpool tub from the bedroom included a huge ceiling-to-tub glass pane, through which you could see right up to the lake. It did have a curtain, though, which could be pulled down when needed, for privacy.
Breakfast buffet was adequate. European travelers might miss the hot food (eggs, for example), but there was a wide assortment of pastries, fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt, as well as ham and cheese.
So I would rate it as a three-star plus hotel. The plus also has to do with the fact that the owners, Manuel and Ana are always there to help you with whatever you need.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

We have just stayed 5 nights at this small hosteria in Puerto Manzano, not far from Villa la Angostura. The location is excellent with a number of good restaurants nearby - the best of which is Puerto Tomato where we had a couple of great lunches. ( try the homemade pasta ! ) As to the Patagonia Paraiso I must say we were disappointed. The rooms, though well decorated, were quite small. They had lovely bedding. After our 3rd night the owner asked us to relocate to a different room as they had a family group arriving. We were not pleased and thought the owner should have put us originally in a room where we could stay for our whole visit. This hosteria could be much better than it is if more attention would be paid to details. Although only a year old, the building needs repairs and they are not being done. The second room we stayed in badly needed painting. One of the stairs in the lobby was missing part of the tread. When we arrived the patio surrounding the pool was covered in dirt and the pool was full of leaves. The room price was reasonable so it's good value. Just that it could be so much better.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank galiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maria2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rscheihing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa La Angostura hotels
5.1 mi away
Antuquelen Hosteria Patagonica
Antuquelen Hosteria Patagonica
#17 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Puerto Sur
Hosteria Puerto Sur
#11 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hosteria Portal De Piedra
Hosteria Portal De Piedra
#39 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
#2 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Serena
Costa Serena
#16 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
139 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
#5 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso

Address: Calle Los Pinos 367, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range: £78 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Patagonia Paraiso Villa La Angostura, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing