We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with an overwhelming view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed 3 days on Sol Arrayan Hotel. This hotel has a panoramic view of one of the most beautiful places of Nahuel Huapi National Park. You can enjoy of the surrounding views in each particular place of the hotel.. Accommodations are also very comfortable and cosy , ( spa, indoor/outdoor pool, sauna restaurant, lobby, bar, etc) .
Hotel staff is even better, they are friendly and helpful. I really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better Panoramic views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have regularly traveled to Argentina, but this was my first trip to the Andes. I picked Sol Arrayan because of the stellar reviews here and it still exceeded my expectations. The hotel is staged along a decline so the lobby, restaurant, pool (indoor/outdoor!), and rooms have absolutely breathtaking views. I can't footstomp that enough. Every time I looked outside I was greeted with a calm lake, deep forests and majestic snow-capped mountains. It was unreal.

You'll need a car to get to the town, restaurants, slopes, etc, but there is no place I'd rather stay at when visiting Villa La Angostura. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views. A room on the 3rd floor puts you closer to the relaxing pool/spa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_Clemmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Impeccably designed spa hotel with surrounding views of beautiful Villa La Angostura! This family owned hotel is faultless from its build (which ensures magnificent views of the lakes and mountains) to the friendly and helpful staff, and relaxed atmosphere. I recommend exploring the town and taking a boat ride from the peer across the lake where you will find a typical wooden tea house in the forest. From there, if it is a clear day, walk for 13km through the natural and mystical Arrayan forest. All in all, a magical experience! I left feeling revitalised and inspired.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodorwouldnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent three nights at Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa. Neither of us had visited Villa La Angostura nor Patagonia before but had been told by many others what a beautiful part of Argentina it is. Well, the hotel and surrounding area surpassed all our expectations! It is superbly located at the edge of the Nahuel Huapi Lake with 180 degree views of the lake and magnificent snow capped Andes beyond. The hotel has been designed in such a way that all the rooms (including the jacuzzi) and public spaces benefit from the breathtaking views which in our opinion, makes for a world class hotel. The atmosphere is enhanced by the friendly, helpful staff who were on hand 24/7 to answer any questions or direct us to a good local restaurant or ice-cream parlour. We made good use of the pool (indoor/outdoor) and solarium, and our friends enjoyed a massage at the hotel spa. The town centre and magical Arrayan forest is a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel. We loved our stay and will definitely be visiting again! We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Leanne & Michel, U.K.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleasmith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sol Arrayan with a group of friends and felt like i was in the lap of luxury. Every room, lounge, restaurant and deck had the most exquisite views of the lake against the backdrop of the snow capped Andes mountains; the hotel and surrounding area was picture perfect. The staff were friendly, room was clean and comfy with a great bathroom - jacuzzi hot tub and a separate shower. We spent many hours each day in the sauna and the heated pool. Even had a late night swim underneath the milky way - indoor and outdoor heated pool. We did have a car which was great and its a 5 min drive to the cute Villa la Angostura village. There are many activitie in the area. One day we took a boat trip to the other side of the lake and walked back through the forest - another memorable day. I highly recomend this hotel for both a romantic getaway as well as a fun escape with friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Sol Arrayan, and we were delighted with the place. Since it is off the main road of Villa la Angostura, it was really helpful to have a car. With it, getting from the hotel to town and to other attractions was very easy. The hotel itself was delightful, with sunny rooms and a phenomenal view of the lake. After the 90 degrees that we had in Buenos Aires, it was wonderful to sleep with our door open at night. The staff was so friendly and helpful, particularly when an ATM ate my husband's bank card and we had to call our bank back in the US.

Room Tip: Stay on floors that are higher up, around the fifth floor or so, to take advantage of the sunlight a...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meghann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights. The location is slightly north of the village of Villa la Angostura and you really need a car to make the most of your visit. The Sol Arrayan has a fabulous location overlooking Lago Nahual Huapi, but this is a mixed blessing. The sun beats down on the hotel and creates an hellish heat in the rooms (all of which face to the west), the common areas and the pool/deck (which has zero shade). The wooden deck is curling up from the sun damage and nails are exposed. The building has had very poor maintenance and it actually looked like the place was going out of business. There were only a handful of guests while we were there. I know about the volcanic eruption which wiped out at least one ski season and perhaps this hotel is struggling because of that. There was almost no evidence of ash at the hotel or in the village. In fact, the only place that we noticed it was on our hikes around the area.

The meals at Sol Arrayan are very average and the coffee was very poor. The free WIFI was spotty in our room but very good in the lobby. Our room was clean and a good size.

The staff (especially Paula) were fantastic and tried to respond to any problems that we had. The front desk arranged for us to be picked up by boat from the Quelque Penninsula hike to the Bosque de Arranyanes. This was a very pleasant 12 km walk that ends in a very small national park dedicated to preserving a unique grove of Arrayan trees which only survive in this area. In English, this tree is called the Myrtle. I wish that we had reserved more time to explore the park.

Villa la Angostura is a quiet little resort town with several good restaurants and no nightlife (at least while we were there in November). We enjoyed meals at Del Puerto (specialty is trout al limon), La Caballerrizza and Tinto Bistro (reservations a must). Be sure to have an ice cream at Fruitas de Bosque. There are many ice cream and chocolate stores in town, but this one is the best!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa La Angostura hotels
0.1 mi away
El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa by DON
El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa by ...
#1 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
424 reviews
1 mi away
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
#3 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
396 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
#6 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes & Spa
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes &...
#5 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
167 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hosteria Portal De Piedra
Hosteria Portal De Piedra
#34 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
156 reviews
5 mi away
Aldea Bonita
Aldea Bonita
#32 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64. 5, Villa La Angostura Q8407CJA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#7 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#8 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range: £90 - £1,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localizado en pleno corazón de la Patagonia argentina, Sol Arrayán se encuentra a 1km del centro de Villa La Angostura, Neuquén, Argentina. El Resort, esta situado frente al Nahuel Huapi, sus 42 habitaciones estan recostadas sobre una ladera, de esta forma Sol Arrayán les ofrece a todos nuestros huéspedes una vista inigualable, donde se pueden apreciar los picos nevados reflejados en el lago. Rodeado de árboles centenarios, entre los que se destacan ejemplares de arrayanes únicos en el mundo, se puede ir descendiendo por los jardines hasta llegar a la costa de lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa Villa La Angostura, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing