We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, will definitely come back!”
Review of Hosteria La Casita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hosteria La Casita
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excelent cuisine, we visited the place a few years ago, my husband and I. We were there just to have dinner but we had a great time and food was delicious! It was almost like eating among family... Really liked the experience. Owners were very nice and service oriented. Place is very clean and quaint. Excellent location in the middle othe city. A place you must visit when you travel to Barilioche. Will go back anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a wonderfully charming, family-run hotel that has been designed and furnished to resemble a rustic-style winter lodge that would look right at home in the Swiss alps, and is in a top location in the middle of the Bariloche city centre. There are restaurants and shops all around, and even a supermarket right opposite the hotel, which makes it very convenient for longer-term stays (I stayed for 7 nights).

I travelled solo but was given a lovely twin room with wide windows, and I really appreciated how clean, ample, comfortable and bright the room was. Daily room and bathroom cleaning is provided, and although I was on the highest floor, the WIFI signal was strong and reliable. There is a very generous breakfast buffet spread laid out every morning, with a variety that goes far beyond the ‘typical’ Argentinian breakfast.

The owners and all staff at the Casita Suiza are always smiling and eager to help, from everything to carrying the luggage, travel advice, help with local agencies or booking taxis. Only a note to other foreign travellers like myself: I think there are only 2 staff (the owners themselves I believe) who are able to converse in English, the other staff speak only Spanish/Argentinian, so it would probably be helpful to bring your Lonely Planet guidebook Spanish along if you need any special help when the owners are not around. Personally this wasn’t a problem for me at all, and I only speak basic Spanish.

The only downside perhaps is that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms, and in the summer it can get a bit hot in the room during the late afternoon. However I came to understand that nearly all budget accommodations or B&Bs in this area do not have air-conditioning, as until recent times when the weather has changed, there was never a need for air-conditioning as Bariloche is supposed to be cool and windy all year round. There were 2 summer nights when the heat was unseasonably warm and the room became slightly stuffy.

But all in all, fantastic value-for-money given the very competitive rates offered by Casita Suiza, especially given the clean and charming rooms, wonderful service, generous breakfast and free WIFI throughout the premises. I would happily stay here again if I return to Bariloche, thank you to the team at Casita Suiza for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If traveling in high summer, ask for a room that has large windows so you can open them to let air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very quiet despite the convenient downtown location and it's only a few minutes walk to the bus stop. Comfortable and clean rooms, with a very nice breakfast buffet and very helpful and friendly staff. Great value, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedrik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We booked one night in this hotel after reading a recommendation in Fodor's Argentina and 2 favourable reviews on trip advisor. We had less than 24 hours in Bariloche, and no car, so it's proximity to downtown sights was the reason we selected this hotel. The price ($80 for double room) seemed reasonable - or so we thought. The room itself was a bit dingy on arrival, lots of wood paneling and 70's style heavy orange curtains. The bathroom(s) were odd - the bathtub, shower and basin in one room, and the toilet and another basin in another. Not the best design. However, given the short length of our stay and the ok price, we decided to stay. I wish we hadn't. In the early hours of the morning I woke up to discover a bug in the bed. Given the hour, and the fact that we were rushing to get an early morning flight, I didn't request to change rooms, or have the opportunity to report this to the hotel. I didn't notice any bites etc for the next 7 days. However, last night my body became covered in huge bites, which, when I visited my doctor, were diagosed as most likely to be the work of bed bugs. She confirmed that a reaction can take up to 9 days to appear, so I am positive that I owe my current itchy, painful and ugly condition to the additional occupants of our bed at Casita Suiza. This hotel needs to call pest control ASAP. GROSS.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S0uthAmerica09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Very nice hosteria in the centre of Bariloche. Nice, bit old fashioned and standard rooms, but very clean. Also it has a great restaurant (swiss oriented food like cheese fondue). It is not anexpensive hotel, around 55 US dollars per night, and really worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Karin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: O hotel não tem elevador
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Felipe_Possamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os melhores quartos tem vista para a rua que é bastante movimentada e tem um bom supermercado em fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fau76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Casita

Address: Calle Gdor Leon Quaglia 342, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GMF, Argentina (Formerly Casita Suiza)
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £32 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria La Casita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hosteria La Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing