We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel!”
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Achalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We loved Achalay hostel because it is so chilled out and friendly. It doesn't have too many rooms which is nice and means you get a good night's rest while enjoying a great atmosphere. The breakfast is also one of the best we've seen!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganzo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Achalay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at Achalay for one night, we didn't have a reservation and they gave us a double room with bunk beds, the room was clean, but very small. The double with matrimonial bed might be bigger, but we didn't see it. The staff is friendly and quite helpful, good breakfast with homemade bread and jam, coffee, milk, tea. Good locaion, near restaurants and very close to centro civico (5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed 5 nights iand had an excellent experience. I appreciated the fact that it's not a huge hostel, had an amiable & laid back atmosphere, an OK breakfast, clean & comfortable. The staff was freindly and informative, The guests at the time seemed to be more mature and inquisitve rather than focused strictly on partying. Was disappointed that I did not have the opportunitiy to participate in one of the famous BBQ's, but that was not their fault. Certainly would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I loved this place, it really set the tone, when I asked what time is breakfast and they said it runs all day. A great breakfast at that with home made bread and a good spread. The location is very central, a walk away from everywhere in town. The staff were really welcoming and helpful, they helped us make the most of our stay in Bariloche.

There was a great atmosphere in the hostel, a very good place for meeting people and having a few beers. Beers were cheap too, like AR15 for a litre. I was very happy with the security in the place too, as I had quite a few valuables with me, so good security and lockers was very important. Good comfortable beds too.

Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed in on my trip so far!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameskennedy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Love this place. Has a great travelers feel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is awesome. A great location but also very quiet for sleeping as not a lot of traffic on this side street where the hostel is. Internet is fast and available in the rooms as well. Almost a top rating but not quite. The private room was fine but they did not service it on a daily basis during the 4 days I was there. To me this just makes sense. During our 4 days there they did not make the bed, sweep the floor and service the bath. Other than that I do recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back will be a little quieter than those facing the street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was a bit surprised by all the extremely positive reviews here for this hostel. While we didn't have a bad experience by any means, it definitely wasn't 5/5. It's true the breakfast is tasty and home made and definitely a cut above the usual hostel fare. However the private room we had was absolutely tiny, I can't remember how many times we bumped our heads on the bunks and the cupboards! The shared bathroom wasn't particularly clean and with the exception of Pablo, the staff were not particularly friendly. It's one of the few hostels where we never really felt at home.

Also, the morning that we arrived we had just got off a 30 hour bus from El Chalten and we were tired and cold. We arrived at the hostel at 7am to find all of the shutters down and the hostel in darkness. We rang the bell 4 times but no one came to the door. Eventually we left our bags in the doorway and went for a walk around Bariloche and to get some food/coffee only to find the whole town was still asleep. We came back to the hostel at 8am and were very glad to find some signs of life. However we were not made to feel particularly welcome and I got the impression we had inconvencied them with our early arrival (we didn't want to check-in, just leave our bags). I've never come across a hostel that was totally dead at 7am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

By far one of the best hostels we've stayed at. The dorm rooms have pretty large lockers, beds have great fluffy duvets. Breakfast consists of fresh baked bread and out of this world tasty homemade jam. The asados are legendary. Seriously super delicious. But the best part of the hostel is the staff. Pablo is wonderful. He is the perfect host. Highly recommend this charming hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#2 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
Universal Traveller's Lodge Host...
#40 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#13 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#10 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Address: Calle Emilio Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 255 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £16 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing