We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Latin America in several years of travel here”
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Achalay
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Latin America in several years of travel here”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at the hostel for 4 nights and found that the place certainly lived up to its reputation. To begin with, it's well located right near the centre of town to be convenient but also benefits from a quiet location away from the bars.

The rooms are reasonably sized and the mattresses are extremely comfortable by hostel standards. The common room is great for socialising and was transformed into a dining room one one night when we had a group barbeque. The only downside of the property is the bathroom situation - there are only two of them which means you could be waiting a little bit at peak times.

The breakfast was the best I've experienced in an Argentinian hostel thus far though not up to the same standards I became used to in Brazil. There is cereal, coffee, apples, fresh bread and jams. Some juice wouldn't go astray but overall it's a very reasonably breakfast for the price you pay.

The best thing about the hostel is the staff. They are super attentive an very well informed because they are travellers themselves. They will go out of their way to ensure your day trip are worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    48
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
71
70
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frøya, Norge
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed there 8 days in total, and its so far the best hostel I have been to in Argentina!
Achalay is walking distance from everything in Bariloche center.
The service is excellent and the best is the atmosphere.
You wouldn't want to miss the Asado the owner Pablo makes 1-2 times a week. And he gladly show you how its done, we went in the back yard light the BBQ, mixed some fernet/cola, and had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We had the best time! The staff was grate, friendly and fun. Pablo the owner was wonderful, patient to all of our questions. He makes home made bread every day for breakfast, home made jam, and gets the best dolce de leche! Clean, cozy, grate vibe, grate kitchen - everything! Stay here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IrusShapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucon, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The breakfast you get at Achalay's is probably one of the best you can get in a hostel in Bariloche with homemade bread and jam! And you can sleep in and will still get breakfast!
The owners are extremely helpful and amiable people who provide you with all the information and help you need. If you are staying or working at another place you are always welcome as a visitor and you can always attend to the great asados they have. Even vegetarians will be stuffed and happy afterwards!
After my first stay there I treated myself to another one over Christmas which I didn't regret. Far away from home I enjoyed the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the place and another superb asado.
The common room joins the reception and the kitchen which creates space and makes it easy to connect with other guests as well as the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerstinannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in 'The Doors' private double ensuite room - was a great room, but did get very hot! We had the fan going constantly to try and cool the room down. Location is close to the main square, but hostel is quiet at night as it's on a little side street. We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the homemade bread (a big improvement on many of the breakfasts we'd had in Argentina!). Staff were helpful and assisted us to navigate the town, figure out busses to the lakes and organise tours. In hindsight, we wished we'd spent a few days staying at lakeside accommodation, as we spent much time waiting for the extremely cramped busses to and from the town centre to the lakes. Not the fault of Hostel Achalay - we just needed to consider what we wanted out of this part of the trip!

Room Tip: The Doors room #5 - great size but does get very hot in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at Achalay Hostel for four nights and enjoyed the hostel immensely. Its breakfast rates a 7 on my 10-point scale for healthy, nutritious breakfasts with its fresh red apples, daily homemade bread and percolated coffee and great selection of tea (adding some more varieties of fruit -- bananas, mandarin oranges, etc. -- would make the breakfast even more nutritious.)

My room was clean, quiet, came with a window that opened for fresh air and light, a large closet with shelves and it was named for Pink Floyd’s The Wall LP. How cool is that? The shower and faucet to the sink always delivered hot water. The WiFi was always fast and reliable.

Pablo and Hamid were very helpful and friendly in orienting me to Bariloche and its nearby hikes. An excellent location, just a couple blocks from two supermarkets, a couple good veggie restaurants nearby and close to the Civic Center. An excellent hostel!

Room Tip: I can highly recommend Room #7, the Pink Floyd 'The Wall' Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Achalay hostel is very nice. The location is good, pretty much in the center of Bariloche. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The dorms and bathrooms are clean. The atmosphere is great.

Probably one of my favourite hostels I´ve ever been in, and definetely a great place to stay in Bariloche.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichielNL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#18 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#7 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Property: Hostel Achalay
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 247 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing