We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never stay here again”
Review of Hostel Pudu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Pudu
Curacautin, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will never stay here again”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm here right now, the place is a filthy dump with a tripadvisor sticker in the front window, the floorboards creek, the staff is antisocial. there is an odor in the hallway. The pictures online make the place look clean and classy, but this place is in need of a renovation. finally, I was quoted one price over the phone 100.00 / night, and after i arrived and moved in, they told me the price was more, 160.00 / night. I feal like they were trying to pull a fast one on me. I told them i will probably just stay one night then, but since my reservation was for two nights they said i'm obligated to stay 2 nights. I don't want to stay here another night, there are nice clean places all around with friendly staff with cheaper prices. I hope i can leave here in the morning without any problems, i'll pay the increased rate for one night, but i've stayed in really nice places for a lot less money, and i won't allow myself to be ripped off for a second night.

Room Tip: my room is the one with the ohm on the wall, its a matrimonial bed with a private bathroom. the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    11
    5
    14
See reviews for
3
37
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Showers are cold, Internet is often down and information given by the rarely seen staff isn't very useful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights, in a double room. The room was small and a bit dusty. But, the very helpful and friendly staff and great views made up for that! The breakfast was really minimal, but that's not something special in Argentina I guess..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Pudu is superbly run and staff are friendly and helpful. Good social vibe yet not loud at sleep time. excellent kitchen facilities, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggyfresh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We loved pudu- best views of the lake out of the big windows in the room, has a cool patio and hangout area with decent kitchen. the guys that run the place are very cool and will help with whatever you need. We left 3 nights for overnight trekking and they held a bag for us and had a room ready upon return. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iguazu National Park, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Views from the rooms - sublime. General state and location of the hostel - excellent. Floorboards - very creaky. Staff - very grumpy. Scones - non existent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hostel has good potential. the staff are very friendly and the outdoor common area is nice. The kitchen is ok. the rooms seem to all be 6 man dorms with only 4 lockers. our room had an ensuite bathroom (i think this was standard) and it was very run down and dirty. it was not a pleasant experience having a wash in there and was the reason we checked out sooner than we had planned to (we only stayed 2 nights).

Room Tip: Our dorm was right by the outdoor common area and so was very noisy - this isn´t a complaint, merely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
#49 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Los Troncos
Hostel Los Troncos
#16 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#17 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#8 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punto Sur Hostel
Punto Sur Hostel
#54 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green House Hostel Bariloche
Green House Hostel Bariloche
#21 of 247 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pudu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pudu

Property: Hostel Pudu
Address: Calle Salta 459, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ARG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 247 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In PUDU want you to feel at home. With breathtaking views of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the mountains from every room, including from the garden, where you can relax in the hammocks!Stay with us and enjoy the evening entertainment and weekly barbecue ... or just have fun with us at the bar!We are located right in the heart of the city, one block from all the bars and the main local bus stop.All rooms have stunning views of the lake and mountains, as well as a bath for each, with powerful hot showers. Living room with TV and fireplace. Fully equipped kitchen, grill. Internet / / Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostel Pudu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing