We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay in Bariloche” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Pudu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Pudu
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in Bariloche”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My friend and I were practically the only guests as we came in low season and the only other guy that was staying there was an Argentine who was staying a bit more long term for a job. Ok, so the dorm rooms were fairly standard I'd say and there was a private bath for the 6-person dorm room (not bad!). From what I can remember, I don't think we had an issue getting hot water for showers. The internet connection wasn't amazing, but they had a computer guests could use downstairs. The breakfast was just bread, jam and coffee so we usually bought some fruit to supplement it. Overall, the staff were pretty friendly and answered any questions we had. Tomas (I think he was the one with dreds who was the manager?) was only there during the day but was incredibly helpful with bus information to see some great views of the lake district. The hostel is pretty centrally located to the main street and easily walkable to restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc.

The only weird thing (which we'd happened to find in several other hostels) was that we couldn't really figure out who was staying there or in charge at first. Maybe because it was low season and the hostel wasn't even close to full, but the first night we arrived we were let in and there was a huge group of guys sitting around watching a football match. At first we thought they were all staying (or perhaps all worked there?) but found out later that the guy in charge that night just had all his friends over to watch the match. It wasn't all that unusual as we saw it at another couple of "dead" places we stayed in Patagonia in the low season, but made us a little apprehensive about having to bother the guy in charge with questions about how to get places or wifi password, etc. since he seemed to be busy and entertaining his friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    28
    10
    5
    14
See reviews for
3
36
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curacautin, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm here right now, the place is a filthy dump with a tripadvisor sticker in the front window, the floorboards creek, the staff is antisocial. there is an odor in the hallway. The pictures online make the place look clean and classy, but this place is in need of a renovation. finally, I was quoted one price over the phone 100.00 / night, and after i arrived and moved in, they told me the price was more, 160.00 / night. I feal like they were trying to pull a fast one on me. I told them i will probably just stay one night then, but since my reservation was for two nights they said i'm obligated to stay 2 nights. I don't want to stay here another night, there are nice clean places all around with friendly staff with cheaper prices. I hope i can leave here in the morning without any problems, i'll pay the increased rate for one night, but i've stayed in really nice places for a lot less money, and i won't allow myself to be ripped off for a second night.

Room Tip: my room is the one with the ohm on the wall, its a matrimonial bed with a private bathroom. the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Showers are cold, Internet is often down and information given by the rarely seen staff isn't very useful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights, in a double room. The room was small and a bit dusty. But, the very helpful and friendly staff and great views made up for that! The breakfast was really minimal, but that's not something special in Argentina I guess..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Pudu is superbly run and staff are friendly and helpful. Good social vibe yet not loud at sleep time. excellent kitchen facilities, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggyfresh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We loved pudu- best views of the lake out of the big windows in the room, has a cool patio and hangout area with decent kitchen. the guys that run the place are very cool and will help with whatever you need. We left 3 nights for overnight trekking and they held a bag for us and had a room ready upon return. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iguazu National Park, Argentina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Views from the rooms - sublime. General state and location of the hostel - excellent. Floorboards - very creaky. Staff - very grumpy. Scones - non existent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
#51 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#5 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#8 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#17 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Alpino Bariloche
Hostel Alpino Bariloche
#159 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostel Refugio Cordillera
Hostel Refugio Cordillera
#156 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pudu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pudu

Property: Hostel Pudu
Address: Calle Salta 459, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ARG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 251 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In PUDU want you to feel at home. With breathtaking views of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the mountains from every room, including from the garden, where you can relax in the hammocks!Stay with us and enjoy the evening entertainment and weekly barbecue ... or just have fun with us at the bar!We are located right in the heart of the city, one block from all the bars and the main local bus stop.All rooms have stunning views of the lake and mountains, as well as a bath for each, with powerful hot showers. Living room with TV and fireplace. Fully equipped kitchen, grill. Internet / / Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Pudu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing