We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hostels I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green House Hostel Bariloche
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Great kitchen: nice and big, fully stocked. Common area next to it has plenty of places to sit and eat, or just chill on a sofa and read. We got a room with an ensure bathroom. It was on the top floor, had a little mini-kitchenette, and a beautiful view of the lake. Staff was really helpful. They even loaned us a bus card so we wouldn't have to buy one (still had to charge it of course). Great experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Green House Hostel Bariloche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

If looking for a place to stay in Bariloche then this is the hostel. Brian, the owner and Santiago were always glad to help and offer advice. Everything was immaculately clean and the kitchen was a pleasure to cook in (rarely the case in hostels!). Everyone who stayed there during our week long stay were super friendly and noise was kept to a minimum. The location being at km 4.5 was no problem at all as buses to the center run every 20 minutes and the hostel provides a bus pass which you have to pay with (you do have to add money to it obviously). Very happy we chose this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We loved this hostel. It was very clean and had a very laid-back friendly atmosphere. Brian was really helpful. It really doesn't matter that it's not in the town centre as not only is the town centre only really worth visiting once (for a mug of pure hot chocolate!) it's right on the bus route towards three of the major attractions in Bariloche: the big hill, the Cathedral walk and the bike circuit. Very much recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 8 bed dorm and there were only 2 other people in there for the most of our stay so...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footsteps196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Greenhouse is a great little hostel outside of downtown Bariloche. The kitchen and bathrooms are super clean and Brian and Santiago were super friendly and helpful. The hostel has a social vibe and no TV which is nice, people were respectful of quiet hours so I also slept really well there. Would def go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A nice and clean, comfortable hostal quite a way outside of "downtown" Bariloche. Nice staff! The dorm we were in for 2 nights can take up to 8 people. Not all too comfortable when it's full. With 6 people it was fine. For 3 nights we had a double room on the top floor. WOW! A beautiful little room with a small balcony, a nice view and so cozy! We loved it!

Room Tip: The double room on the top floor, right side is wonderful!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuMaKumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the Greenhouse one night before a three day hike to return for two more nights. They are so helpful with everything from what to do, how to get around and answering the many questions to help get you oriented to the area. Fun, cozy, clean atmosphere with a great kitchen and easy access by bus. We plan to return on our way back through Bariloche.

Room Tip: My son and I shared a room for two with a great view and balcony on the top floor. There are shared...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Thank you tripadvisor, we found this hostel through this site and happy to see it has climbed even higher. Bariloche is an odd sort of a town, its best assets are the areas surrounding and as such this place is your best bet- a little removed for the centre (though the guys give you a bus card to get into town for your steaks etc) and perfect for buses to nearby hikes. But the key to this place is the great atmosphere, no doubt engendered by Brian and Santiago's very relaxed style. Best place in Argentina. Book it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#78 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#19 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#11 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#2 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#13 of 255 in San Carlos de Bariloche
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Hostel Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Hostel Bariloche

Address: Avenida Bustillo Km 3.214, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AWS, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 255 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £10 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green House Hostel is your home in Bariloche , come to a hostel where you can relax, enjoy the views from every room and shared with other guests talks in the common area . We help you plan your trip and arrange your stay in Bariloche. We will wait for you. Greetings, Green House Hostel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing