We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My son and I spent four nights here in August 2013. I cannot say enough great things about this little gem! The staff were beyond belief in terms of how patient and helpful they were - suggestions for where to eat, what to do, how to make the most of our time. And the hotel itself was cozy (and not cozy in a sort of dingy way - smart and cozy). Loved the in-room jacuzzi with a view of the mountain, the fire that was set up to be lit in our fireplace every afternoon, the bin of good trashy movies in the main lodge, the heated floors. Overall, it had a lovely sense of place; great value for the money; excellent beds and loads of hot water -- just what you want from a ski place. I imagine would be equally great in the summer. Special shout-out to Sol, the manager, for her warmth and good travel sense -- she directed us to a great hike and then tea at Llao Llao (where, yes, we showed up in hiking boots) and equally as much to a very bohemian cheese fondue joint. And they work with Fire and Ice, ski rental/instructor joint on the far end of Cerro Catedral, where they hooked us up with a **great** instructor/ski guide (ask for Muchacho), and where we had the singular experience of having them call us one morning to say that the ski conditions were not good enough to go out - when did you ever have the experience of ski resort people not trying to suck you dry for money? This may have been the friendliest travel experience ever. Would return in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JSHirsch_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, Gerente at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thanks so much Mrs Hirsch for your kind words on our hotel.
we are glad you had such a great experience and have so many great suggestions for our future guests.
We look forward to hearing from you soon to book your next ski trip to Patagonia
Sincerely
Maria Sol Canalda
Manager
Galileo Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here late June for five nights. The floors in their rooms are heated, and the spa was nice. Fittings inside are new and modern looking and the room was clean. I did have to ask for the floor heating to be turned up (which they were happy to do) as when we used the fireplace the room became full of smoke, so windows had to be opened to let it all out. Nice place though and great being amongst the snow. Only 15-20 mins from town in a car, there's also a cheap bus service that runs regularly out on the main road 1 min walk from Galileo.

My praise for Sol couldn't be higher though as we had an emergency when my wife's handbag was stolen from our rent car... so this is tip #1...

If you drive circuito chico don't let your car out of your sight. We found only in hindsight from local police and Sol at the hotel that there are several points along that circuit where thieves wait for tourists to exit their cars and use the wire through the top of the door trick to pull the lock. I've attached a photo of the view of the location where it happened to us. We had already done the circuit in poor weather the previous day and when the weather turned good the very next day we went back to this spot - the most scenic I think - to take more photos. We were only about 5 minutes as we'd already photographed it and walked around the day before, and that's all it took for my wife's handbag to be taken from inside the door compartment of the passenger door. Thieves must have been waiting in the bush around where we parked the car as we saw nobody whilst we were there, which is a bit unnerving. We contacted Sol (this is after we'd checked out) and she was great, got her husband to meet us at the local police station to translate for us. The police were great as well, ended up finding her bag and all contents except cash in about 4 or 5 hours. Stressful +++ for us but the situation was made much easier thanks to her and her husband. Thanks to one of the girls at the hotel who had a friend in Aerolineas Argentinas we were able to put our flight back a few hours, giving the taxi driver Sol had organised time enough to drive our recovered stuff from the police to the airport for us. Now THAT'S service, thanks Sol !!!!

Tip #2: if you plan to cross an internat border by vehicle make sure you have ALL required documents. We hired a car through one of hotel contacts, I explained to the guy that we were planning on driving to Chile, about 2.5 hrs from Bariloche. Made sure to keep the carbon copy of proof of hire in the glovebox. We made it to the crossing right on time, 8am I think it opens, only to find out that we needed another slip of paper stating we had permission from the hire company to use the car in another country (separate to proof of hire). We'd never crossed an internat border in a car before so had no idea this was required. What gets me is the hire car guy, who spoke good english, clearly forgot to give me this paper after being told several times 'we're driving to Chile for my 30th'... etc etc. What a doosh. So be aware of that.

Tip #3: in Bariloche township there are different paint markings on the curbs, signifying how you can/can not park. No paint = free. Yellow = parking ok but you must pay the meter person. Red = no parking, tow-away zone. Not something you really take notice of when you're walking the street, there aren't any signs near these different colour zones, you just have to know what the colours mean. So the hire car guy also didn't tell us this. Maybe you could say it's our fault for not thinking of it, but when you park next to a yellow coloured curb, with no meter-on-a-pole and no sign you could be forgiven for not picking up on it I think. BTW the meter people work about 1 person per block, wear high visibility vests and just roam around so you have to actively find them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

very good choice if you are going with kids and their are willing to be close to the snow.
it would be a bad choice staying at downtown instead of stay some steps from the ski lifts.
the hotel is very nice with floor heating, water heating, a bath tub for 2.
kind personnel and good food. it is also possible to cook some pasta at your room if you want as there is a small convinience store just right accross the street.
breakfast at your room with no additional charge on time all days.
we were also presented with the view of Saturn Rings and some stars long long away from us.
worth coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzukii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

A really nice place in Catedral - so, close to the mountains for skiing and easy access to town, but far enough away to not be caught in the bustle of the ski resort. Awesome big apartment with all the required facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardM187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your sincere words.
The hotel is located very close to the ski slopes and the first ski lift. We have however a 4-wheel drive to drive our guests early in the morning to the resort and back in the afternoon, when tired after a great ski day!
We would love to see you again next year. Don´t forget to contact us for your frequent guest special deal
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Galileo Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great Hotel, with excellent localization (500 meters away from Cerro Catedral entrance). The front desk is always very helpful. Downsides, #1 english (as always in Argentina) is not spoken by everyone and #2 the breakfast has time to be served and you can only have it in your apartment. The latter downside is more important by those who want to get very early in Cerro Catedral, because the apartment is very comfortable to have the breakfast there, which is brought by hotel to you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words.
As you point out, english at Galileo is spoken by all the front desk and restaurant staff, as well as Portuguese. Being you brazilian, I am confused by your observation..
During winter we have extended breakfast delivery hours from 7 through 10.30 am. We serve breakfast in the dinning facilities at every room. As this is very comfortable, many, like you find it hard to hit the slopes early in the morning, specially when it´s cold or snowing and you enjoy the views from your window.
Look forward to your next visit
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Around 300 metres from the lift base, but the hotel will shuttle you in the mornings (and probably in the afternoons....but we always walked back)
First night we had an opportuniity to join the astronomer in the sky observatory. We looked at the Milky Way, Mars and Saturn....where we could actually see the rings around Saturn !
What a way to start a ski holiday !
Our room was reasonably spacious, with slate floors and floor heating. The open fireplace was stacked with a small amount of wood each day, which we lit every morning to warm the room (the floor heat seemed insufficient in the mornings).
A large corner spa bath overlooked the mountain....which we actually used most afternoons.
Continental breakfast is actually bought to your room every morning at a pre-agreed time. And, they were punctual every day !
Our room had a small refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, pots and pans, plates and cutlery...you could easily make up a small meal (we didnt bother) . We found it much easier to order Room Service, where again these great people deliver their restaurant meals free of charge to your room. Steak 85 pesos (AUD/USD $17), salad 35 pesos (AUD/USD $7). There is a great little wine store next dooor where you can pick up great Argentian wines for around AUD/USD $8 to $20 a bottle. (Do not buy your wine from the mini market....it is a rip off.)
Galileo staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Look closely though, and there are a few "tired" fittings in the bathroom and bedroom....however these did not distract from a wonderful experience.
We were here to ski, and we really enjoyed this place !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thanks for your review!
We are very glad you were able to enjoy your stay, the astronomer´s visit and your corner jacuzzi!
All our studio rooms have small kitchen facilities as yours and the rest have bigger fridges and kitchens, though couples hardly use them, families with children tend to use them some more.
We will carefully check your room for this little inconvenients you mention so this Studio can again meet our standards.
We look forward to hosting you again for your next ski trip. Please contact us for frequent guests discounts.
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Galileo Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was the best hotel I've ever been: well located (for those who want to ski, you'll be just in the middle of Cerro Catedral...is 20 km from the center, but I'd really appreciate staying near the mountains)...the acomodatins are wonderful (comfortable and warm: with floor heating, breakfast served in the room)...and the team is very kind and helpful (always helping us and giving pieces of information and advice)!
Really a great options!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments. We look forward to receiving you again next year.
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
4.2 mi away
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
#5 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
631 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
#31 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
286 reviews
5.3 mi away
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Los Robles Apart & Spa
Los Robles Apart & Spa
#37 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
261 reviews
7 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Nubes n 20 | Base Cerro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £66 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galileo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South America's most celebrated Ski resort "Cerro Catedral" in Bariloche, Galileo Boutique Apart Hotel waits for you with warm and comfortable Studios, Suites and Residences. Designed and thought through every detail, our luxurious accommodations fuse indigenous textiles and prints with the natural Alpine design of the region. All our rooms are fully equipped with cozy wood burning fireplaces, Jacuzzis, DVDs, LDC 25 or 32" TVs, DirectTV, fully equipped kitchens and all our rooms feature King Size Sommiers. We spoil or guests with a fine selection of Argentine smoked specialties and cheeses from our Wine and Tapas Bar during winter season only. Also enjoy our Sommelier's selection of boutique and well known wines from Argentine's premier winemaking regions. Our Executive Chef caters to families and foodies alike with a menu that ranges from savory ski comfort foods to high end Patagonian cuisine. Covered with snow in Winter and just 150 mt from the Ski lifts Galileo Boutique Hotel is the best option for skiers. In Summer, surrounded with Nature, favors long walks, trekking, kayak and mountain bike tours, fly fishing, rafting and golf just minutes away from the hotel. Our tailored breakfast is served room service and we also offer in room chefs, baby sitters, in room massages upon request. Galileo is the only Hotel in Patagonia Argentina featuring an Observatory with a High Resolution Telescope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Galileo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing