We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A break from bife (steak)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dias de Zapata - CLOSED

Dias de Zapata
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A break from bife (steak)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We visited here after having one to many steak nights (I know I know) The food was solid considering its proximity to Mexico (or lack thereof). Two major faults, there happy hour Cocktails
were cheap in every sense of the word... and they served a basket of white bread with salsa!
I am sorry but you can't claim "authentic" mexican and pull that! Two words for you "Tortilla chips"!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    131
    67
    37
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Restaurant in Bariloche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant in all of Argentina. It reminds me of a Mexican Restaurant in Rio de Janeiro from almost 40 years ago called Lagoa Charlie's. They serve real Mexican food like you would find in Mexico and not Tex Mex one finds in many other places in the world. The Margaritas are great and the staff is friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohomen171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great change from the norm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Walked past this place from our hotel and dropped in for a quick meal. Staff spoke English and helped us choose a meal. Had a great enchilada that is baked in the beans etc in a baking dish and served as is. Was an great meal and cheap as well.

Excellent change from the normal Argentinian fair!

Helpful?
Thank Bnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have now been there 3 times in 5 days. Great for a break from the standard Argentine food and parrilla. The burrito dante and apple crumble are amazing

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanaeBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Bolson, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Really really missed Mexican food from the States. A little pricey but really good! Probably will go back on my way through Bariloche!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dias de Zapata also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing