We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly the best dining experience of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butterfly

Butterfly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$65
Cuisines: European, Argentinian, South American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best dining experience of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been traveling around Argentina enjoying some of the best food of our lives on our honeymoon. We were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation at Butterfly last night and are so happy we did! It was pouring rain and dark so we couldn't see the view from the restaurant, but it sits overlooking lake Nahuel Huapi. The restaurant is small and very cozy. We sat at a table near the crackling fireplace to warm up and dry off. We were greeted by the chefs wife who was so welcoming and didn't mind the fact that we were soaked to the bone!

Sebastian, the sommelier and part owner also greeted us and explained the 2 different wine pairing options - the introduction for 180 pesos or one with top wines for 300 pesos. We opted for the introduction and were not disappointed. He asked about the wineries we visited in Mendoza and gave us wines from new wineries we hadn't tried. All were delicious and perfectly paired with the food.

We loved the concept of the 7 course "surprise" tasting menu. Everything was delicious! My husband was a chef for 10 years and loved the creativity of the chef here. Even though they were busy, the chef came out to greet us at the end of our meal and was so nice to talk to.

We had such a wonderful experience here and might even go once more before we leave Bariloche!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    64
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST dining experience in Argentina, no exaggeration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting Butterfly for our last meal of a recent visit to Argentina that began in Buenos Aires and finished off in Bariloche...and we still can't stop talking about it.

Let me preface this by saying that my wife and I, who live in New York City and are both 30 years old, love to eat plain and simple. We have been fortunate enough to travel to many foodie havens around the world, both in the US and abroad, and we both agree that Butterfly was perhaps the best dining experience we have had to date.

While staying at Charming Lodge (also UNREAL), which is a two minute walk down the secluded lake-front road adjacent to the restaurant, we were lucky enough to be recommended by our gracious concierge to endulge in the best restaurant in town, which ladies and gentlemen Butterfly truly was (thanks for the rec Santiago!).

In true Argentinian style we chose the later of two nightly sittings at Butterfly, which were at 8 and 930. The menu is price-fix 7-courses with an option for wine pairings, which due in part to the value of the dollar and the fact that it was our last night in Argentina we chose to splurge, and it was truly worth it (note: for this level of dining Butterfly was the MOST reasonably priced we have been).

When we arrived at Butterfly, which is a charming and intimate space, we were greeted in such a warm and gracious fashion that we instantly knew we were in for a treat. When our waitress (who is one of the three owners of the restaurant) closed the curtain behind us and we were escorted to our cozy and romantic table we knew this was something different, something special.

After settling in we were then greeted by the somelier and also part-owner, whom, in conjunction with his waitress counterpart began us on our culinary journey over 7 delectable, plate-licking, mind-blowing courses, which were complimented by incredible wines. Just as we were told by the somelier (who "hates empty glasses") the wine flowed continuously through the entire meal from start to finish (no exageration we may have had over two bottles of wine each by the meals end lol).

Since the menu at Butterfly changes with the seasons and obviously the imagination of the world class chef, I think it is better left a secret as to what we actually ate. The surprise as to what was coming next was such an essential part of the experience that I dont want to ruin it for anyone. Trust me, it will rock your world! This is world-class dining, from the execution of the dishes, presentation and of course service that you will find yourself wondering, am I really in Patagonia and how did I get so lucky to be here.

What also blew us away at Butterfly was the fact that the only three people working there, our waitress, the somelier and the chef, were not only the employees who made the restaurant so special, but they are the owners of the restaurant as well. Not to mention the fact that they are all around 30 years old and clearly have the training and experience only the finest culinary training could impart.

You see while we dined at Butterfly we quickly picked up a unique sensation from our servers and the chef (who was as humble and personable as they come and chatted with us for a while after our meal), which was that they truly loved what they were doing, loved the food and drink that they were providing, and above all truly appreciated our patronage to their fine establishment.

Clearly I cant say enough about this place and if you are lucky enough to find yourself in Bariloche (or anywhere in the vicinity) do yourself a favor and visit Butterfly for an experience not soon to be forgotten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylenew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“wow-just terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was world class food and wines and most knowledgeable waiter
multi courses , carefully prepared and presented

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustace, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wine in a relaxed, but elegant, restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had the 7 course meal and it was divine. The chef is tastefully creative...nothing too unusual, but unusual enough to be deliciously memorable.
Try this restaurant. It's the best in Bariloche, maybe in the top 10 in Argentina.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretty-Rough-Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

When in Bariloche this place is a must! One of my top ten restaurants that I have visited worldwide. Attentive service, high food quality, this place was a great respite from the meat induced coma we were experiencing in the rest of Argentina. I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing