We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence experienced”
Review of Butterfly

Butterfly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$65
Cuisines: Argentinian, European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellence experienced”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful restaurant. Walking down the side street to find Butterfly was all part of the experience. Sebastian greeted us enthusiastically and we began the gourmet journey. Exceptional seven course meal paired with excellent wine selections. Every course was beyond expectations. You should not miss this dining experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    67
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soll, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentine dinner”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Super restaurant with very attentive staff. We had a lovely seven course dinner with wines for a reasonable price.Loved all dishes bit vad difficulties with one course that was thai inspired and in my opinion did not match with suggested wine. Restaurang was half empty so the staff gave us plenty of attention. Can really recommend the restaurang

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buch180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Butterfly offers a six course tasting menu for dinner. The dishes are not the usual Argentine foods but far more inventive. The ego of the owner ( soon to be former owner as the restaurant has been sold) seemed to intrude on the meal all evening. The view from the deck of the lake is beautiful. Maybe the new owners will have smaller egos. Overall a good, expensive for Argentina restaurant, but not great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, NH
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Truly excellent!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My Husband and I ate at Butterfly on our recent trip to Argentina. We chose Butterfly based upon the trip advisor reviews. The restaurant exceeded our high expectations. We ordered the 7 course meal with the wine pairings for 5 of the courses. The wines were perfectly paired with the food. The intimate dining setting with a view over the lake was very romantic. Our experience could not have been better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I can understand why this is the No.1 rated restaurant. There are only a handful of tables on the "beach" overlooking the lake and the setting is relaxed and intimate. The food is fantastic - we had the degustation and it was beautifully done. Sebastian matched the wines superbly & was equally passionate & knowledgable. We had a night to remember.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing