We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat with fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this fantastic lodge. We were first hesitating because if the distance to town but finally it was the best choice: the location overlooking playa bonita with a fantastic view over lago nahuel huapi is great. The service at the lodge is also very good. The people really go the extra mile. The breakfast buffet is also a treat! When we had an early start of a day trip, the staff even prepared a breakfast/lunch box. After a lot of hiking in argentina, we enjoyed a few relaxing hours at the nicely heated pool. The rooms are also impeccable. We really enjoyed our 4 nights at this lodge and would easily recommend it to family and friends. And do not miss the nice restaurant la pulperia la salamandra just about 1.5km from the hotel. Fantastic argentine cuisine in a cozy atmosphere that we enjoyed two evenings during our stay in bariloche. Not touristy like most of the places in town.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. The truth is that we try to give the best we have, so every guest has a unique experience, and when in Bariloche, returns to Charming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
There are newer reviews for Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Quite simply this hotel is amazing. It is about 15 mins drive out of town (which is a bonus, trust me) on top of a small cliff over looking the argentine lake district with the Andes in the distance. On our arrival the view blew us away. We had heard that bariloche was beautiful but nothing prepared us for the view from the hotel balcony.

As the hotel was not fully booked we were upgraded to a suite which was really nice as it was not at all necessary. The suite had stunning lake views and a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room!! The pool is great an again has stunning views.

Breakfast was awesome and allowed us to skip lunch most days! We also ate dinner in the Restaurant twice and the food was delicious on both occasions.

The thing we most loved about this hotel however was the staff. Our particular favourite was Estaban who could not have been more helpful and was so knowledgable about the area. He booked taxis, organised trips, recommended walks and restaurants all with charm and a smile. All the other staff were equally as impressive and you get the feeling that they all really enjoy working there (the views alone would make me work at this hotel!!)

All in all we simply cannot fault this hotel. The experience is one that we will never forget.

Also if you want good food go to Kandahar in town (cash only). Brilliant food and make sure you try the pisco sours!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flat6Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

After spending 3 weeks in Patagonia, we didn't think our experiences could get any better...but then came the Charming Lodge. After Estephan showed us our standard room we had reserved, he then walked us through the superior room. Without hesitation, we took the superior room. Breathtaking view of Lago Nuhuel Huapi, in-room steam and dry saunas, Scottish shower and jacuzzi. What more would two tired travelers desire? A fully-equipped kitchenette to heat those leftovers? Got it! The dining room as well as a wrap around outside deck have breathtaking views of the lake and the beach that guests can access with their room key. Champagne breakfasts, including hot egg dishes were delightful and lingering! Dinners were not to be outmatched with lovely sunsets. Even though we spent 5 nights, we didn't use the pool...too many other activities.The staff was the best... Maria made reservations for us at the Bellevue Tea House one rainy afternoon. A lovely home nestled above a beautiful lake with terraced gardens. The owner bakes three wonderful desserts to select from and then invites you to tour the gardens. Definitely, a Monet moment. Our room, Cerro Campanario, was very quiet. The hotel offers lap top that you are welcome to use in your private room. My husband and I also enjoyed a romantic dinner at the La Masia restaurant....a small 5 table home perched on a hillside overlooking Lago Nuhuel Huapi...needless to say the table was ours for the evening!

Room Tip: upgrade your room...it is so worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cascadetrailhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

An excellent SPA hotel with top class SPA rooms. About 7.5km from the center of Bariloche. You can get excellent rates from hotels.com. However, be sure you get exactly the room you paid for (I.e. the description in the reservation matches the room).

Room Tip: Book a SPA room with jacouzi (not jet tub) and sauna. The rooms with the fire place are very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a spectacular hotel for many reasons, the setting, the beautiful rooms and the incredible staff. The setting right on the lake is beautiful. It is 7km outside of town which may seem like a disadvantage but it is not because once you have seen the town it doesn't offer much for repeat visits. Also bus service is easy and taxis are inexpensive. We rented a car and drove around which was easy though no automatic transmission cars are available. The rooms have great views from several sides. The spa bathroom has a personal sauna, a steam shower and a jacuzzi bathtub for two with a picture window view of the lake cleverly designed to maintain your privacy without impeding the view. There is also a pool, two outdoor hot tubs and a sauna with a view by the pool and direct access to the lake and a long beach for walking if not swimming. Breakfast was great including champagne, if you want it, fresh orange juice and the best croissants I have ever had. Restaurant was closed at lunch. Dinner was good but not outstanding. What really makes Charming stand out is the staff. Everyone spoke English well. Maria at the front desk was so sweet and helpful with everything from car rental to touring suggestions. One day we rented a car and when we picked it up at the front desk no one had the correct change. Maria's solution was "oh don't worry about it you can just pay me later". One day my wife was sick and I went to the reception to see if I could get her some soup. Tiziana, the manager was there and explained that the kitchen was closed at lunch time that day. However, she personally went into the kitchen and prepared some soup for my wife and had it delivered to the room. She then said it was easy to buy medication without a prescription in Argentina and went to the pharmacy herself to get us some antibiotics. Then when the kitchen staff arrived to start preparing dinner she sent me, unrequested, a pizza because she knew I had not gone out for lunch because my wife was ill. And there was no charge for any of that service! I have stayed at a lot of fancy hotels but have never seen that kind of extraordinary personal service! People worry about Bariloche because of the dust from the volcano. We had two cloudless beautiful days and two days with a little dust in the air but none on the ground. The airport functioned fine and it would be a shame to miss Bariloche for fear of the volcano. It is a beautiful area and very much more lush and green than southern Patagonia. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is fabulous.

Room Tip: Any of the suites are fabulous. Smaller room may not the views or facilities I described.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discriminating_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

All i can say is that all positive reviews are correct. This hotel is really outstanding, loved my room, the location of the hotel and what made it all especially memorable to me is the friendliness of the staff. From housekeeping till the waiters in the restaurant and till the front desk: Thank you!

After staying one day i decided to rent a car for two days and i definetely recommend doing this to all guests who arrive without own transportation. Maria from the front desk recommended two incredible day trips to me and they both were unforgettable.

First day driving to the base of the Tronedor mountain over a dirt road: WOW! Approaching this majestic mountain closer and closer at slow speed till you arrive at the lower glacier through all kind of forests first along a green lake, you will always remember this experience.

Second day driving again over a dirt road till Lake Trafull...you have to see it to believe how beautiful it is once you see this lake, crossing a hill and taking a turn. You absolutely have to stop at the Mirador and climb the stairs to see it and to enjoy the silence and incredible beauty of this lake with its surrounding mountains and forests. Than driving on to San Martin de los Andes and back via Villa la Angostura...fantastic day trip again.

Thanks so much Maria for explaining me how to drive and where to stop. Your detailed explanations and your enthousiasm about where to stop and how to drive has helped so much to make this trip a most memorable event. And of course it also helped that the weather was simply the best one could ever have: completely unclouded, no wind and very comfortable temperatures.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stunning views, excellent service by the front-office staff (all 3 that interacted with us), delicious breakfast. Very comfortable rooms. Good deal.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Beto_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. As you mention, the view is truly privileged. Through quality of service we thrive to make each and every guest's experience a unique one.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,202 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
963 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,5 | On the shore of Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £113 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing