We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, beautiful location!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Our room was fantastic - amazing view over the lake, wonderful built-in spa room and small fireplace at the end of our bed. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant (Stag) which is worth a stop even if you are not staying in the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic! The location is amazing, with a panoramic elevated view of the lake and mountains.

If there are any negatives we could mention it would be that the reception/dining hall furniture does not really fit a "rustic mountain lodge". It is more modern hotel, than traditional furnishings. Also, the spa equipment could be maintained better. For example, the jacuzzi head-rests were torn off their mounts, the shower-heads were clogged and the squealing compressors were distracting when you are suppose to be in a relaxing, quiet environment. It also seems that they rely predominantly on Trip Advisor reviews for their traffic.

This said, we had a lovely night stay and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Andrea, thank you for your comments, we will work hard to improve our weaknesses and reinforce our strengths. Customer care, quality and dedication are our main goals in order to satisfy our guests' needs. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed dinner at our restaurant Stag, and appreciate you commenting on it.
Next time you are planning on coming, do contact us in advance in order to benefit from lower fares on flights and lower rates on accommodations.
Best regards
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    117
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
314
923
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I visited the carming hotel in February 2012 on our honeymoon and i can honestly say that we were blown away by the facilities and the friendliness of the hotel staff - particularly Titziana and Maria Jose. The rooms are just fab - we stayed in a deluxe room with jaccuzzi, sauna and steamroom and it was out of this world. All the rooms have amazing views and the breakfast was by far the best that we had in Argentina.

My husband was quite sick and needed to see a doctor when we first checked in. Titziana contacted her doctor friend, drove us to the clinic and went in with us to make sure there were no tranlation issues - I've never heard of that level of customer service and it really helped to put our minds at ease. We ended up staying 7 nights, partly for medical reasons and we were treated so well ove the time. Maria Jose on reception was exceptionally helful and we pestered her every day for information about where to go and where to eat.

All in all an exceptional hotel with exceptional staff - unmissable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Like everyone else has said, the views are spectacular and exceeded our expectations (which were high after reading all these reviews)! The lodge is clean, new, and well-built with large windows, so you get views from nearly everywhere. We fully enjoyed the sauna, steam, and jacuzzi especially given the cold temperatures in April (mid-fall in Argentina). The breakfast was great, with mimosas, made to order eggs, etc; dinner was average however.

Although we were surprised that not everyone on the staff was as friendly as reported, a few people - specifically Maria and Esteban, were so sweet and helpful and really went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Their efforts, combined with spa and views from the room, compelled us to overlook any flaws and still rate this a 5 star experience!

ps- For those concerned about the ash cloud, we visited in mid-April and it was completely resolved.

Room Tip: Don't get a standard room - half the fun is the in-suite spa! If you are lucky enough to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_traveler2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

You cannot beat the views from this hotel! The Andes, the lake, and "Playa Bonita". I loved being able to walk down to the beach. It's built in a rustic lodge style, the rooms are spread across the property so some require passage along stairs, bridges and pathways to get to them. Our room had a great view of the lake. I think that most rooms are oriented toward the lake. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and the spa features of the bathroom were over the top. We had a sauna, whirlpool bath and a steam shower! It is located 7K out of town, but we found we were happy with that location. The breakfast buffet could be improved upon, but it was ok. Tip: there's a great little laundry across the street so we were able to get our clothes washed for an extremely reasonable price.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our recent stay with Charming was a very relaxing affair. As mentioned by others, it is not actually a Spa facility with masseurs and treatments; it has an unexpected spa facility in its' suites - an individual sauna, steaming in the shower with massage heads and a jacuzzi tub with breathtaking views.

We did not expect a potbelly fire in our room, which added to the lodge atmosphere. The staff loaded the fire and cleared it out daily, which was another bonus. The rooms have a chunky Canadian exposed timbers decor about it; nothing "contemporary" about it, more ski lodge with generous bedding. The property leads down to the waters edge of the Lake and has a nice heated pool and 2 spas, whose only downside is the whistling cold wind when one gets out!

Previous reviewers mention staff, whom I agree, are extremely helpful in advising restaurants, booking cars, bikes, tours. We arrived with nothing organized, but were sorted out quickly. We were surprised that the township is spread over many kilometers like other ski towns and "downtown" was 7 km away, easily doable in a single day trip to experience their square, museum & numerous chocolate shop - we recommend Mamoushka for the quality and great quaint cafe.

Even their choice of remise driver provided a comfortable ride and on time. Our early departure was met with boxed breakfasts, which was nice considering Bariloche airport has little open at 0730.

The hotel is the antithesis to the 5 star high rise. Front desk or kitchen staff personally brought us anything we needed, like milk for our kitchenette. I did not note the availability of room service, but the restaurant served a basic Argentinian menu, with steaks and trout, which were tasty and generous but not exceptional. Breakfast buffet was more continental, with good cereals, fruit & yoghurt, one type of ham and cooked to order eggs. At least they could pump out a cafe con leche from an espresso machine (not quite a "Melbourne latte" ;), but good enough) and they had Chandon piccolos available for the lush.

We had buffet lunch at Llao Llao Wintergarden restaurant for US$45/head which had a fine selection of luxurious salads, cold meats and 2 hot dishes, coffee and one glass of wine thrown in. Charming made those reservations for us. As a tip, you get stopped at the gates of Llao Llao Hotel complex if you don't have a reservation; they had my name at the front gates to allow us to park! And those thinking 7 km out of town is far, the Llao Llao resort is 36 km away.

Overall, the views and atmosphere make it a very decent Bariloche experience; we were definitely "charmed". Not a classic 5 star hotel, but much more personable lodge experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I booked this Hotel because it had been rated #1 on Trip Advisor at the time of our booking. We noted that this is now #2. If this is #2, #1 must be heaven on earth, because Charming Hotel is as close as i've come in quite awhile. Our room had an absolutely stunning view of the lake. The breakfast buffet is, indeed excellent, as had been noted by a prior reviewer. Note that if you want eggs just ask the gentleman behind the bar making cappucinos. Unlike many buffets, all eggs are made to order and not left out at the counter to get cold. Our room had a jacuzzi, steam bath/shower with rain head and multiple jets as well as aroma therapy in the shower. There is also a bidet in the toilet are. Unlike most bidets I've ever seen, this one has a cover so you're not looking into the basin all the time. There is also a sauna, and a mini-kitchen with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator. The refrigerator has a small assortment of items for purchase, but plenty of room for the bottle of wine we bought at a local supermarket. Excellent wifi is free. The staff is exceedingly helpful. The pool is heated to a warmer temperature that most hotel pools but this is perfect as the outside temperatures in Bariloche tend to be a bit brisk. There are two jacuzzis at the pool but why bother as there is one in your room. There is a small workout area which we ignored as we went hiking every day. We did not sample the restaurant except for breakfast as we were out all day and chose to eat in the many excellent restaurants in the area (which will be reviewed separately but you absolutely should eat at Butterfly!! This is a five minute walk from the hotel and is not to be missed). People may complain that it is 7 km from town. Who cares! The shopping district in downtown can be done in a little over an hour. Why buy clothes here? 95% is from the US or Europe and they're cheaper at home (USA for us). There are some excellent leather goods and some sweaters and hiking gear, but no one should come to Bariloche for the shopping. So stay somewhere memorable and take a taxi into the city when necessary. I've gone on enough. Charming Luxury Lodge & Spa is a fabulous experience and would be hard to beat.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank donsandibc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We work hard every day to fullfill everyone's expectations. Reading comments like yours makes us proud of our work and renew our energy to keep improving day after day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this fantastic lodge. We were first hesitating because if the distance to town but finally it was the best choice: the location overlooking playa bonita with a fantastic view over lago nahuel huapi is great. The service at the lodge is also very good. The people really go the extra mile. The breakfast buffet is also a treat! When we had an early start of a day trip, the staff even prepared a breakfast/lunch box. After a lot of hiking in argentina, we enjoyed a few relaxing hours at the nicely heated pool. The rooms are also impeccable. We really enjoyed our 4 nights at this lodge and would easily recommend it to family and friends. And do not miss the nice restaurant la pulperia la salamandra just about 1.5km from the hotel. Fantastic argentine cuisine in a cozy atmosphere that we enjoyed two evenings during our stay in bariloche. Not touristy like most of the places in town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. The truth is that we try to give the best we have, so every guest has a unique experience, and when in Bariloche, returns to Charming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,117 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Property: Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,5 | On the shore of Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing