We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hospitability and a splendid view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitability and a splendid view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed a week here, and have been very much impressed by the warmth and genuine helpfulness of the owners Paula and Luis. Nice people do not come any better than the two of them
The view you have from your room ( if you go for this option) is as good as it comes on the lake, it is amazing to lie in your bed and look at the scenery. The rooms are furnished with style and you have a homely feeling when you are there.
Paula and Luis made it a priority to help me make the most of my stay in spite of the vulcanic ash, and practically tailormade my day, sometime over breakfast depending on the weather.
When one of them opened the door on my return it was like coming home after a busy day

I have been staying in many similar places during my 5 weeks in Argentina, but this was the best because of the human element
I will have to come back here if for nothing else but do our challenging trek with Paula up Cero Catedral( 4 hours one way )that we could not do because of the weather.

Room Tip: go for the lake view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    53
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
167
335
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a fairly new small hotel with only 8 rooms located outside the centre of Bariloche, which is great.

The hosts, Paula and Luis, are very very nice and do everything to make your stay enjoyable and are ready with tips to explore the region.

The room was good with a nice view of the lake and a sunny balcony. It is not a suite as you would get in a Marriott but a decent size room. Bed was comfortable. Bath room is small but perfectly suitable.

The breakfast was good with home made bread which we really liked.

The spa consists of a huge jacuzzi, a machine with ozon. Next to that there is large menu with massages available.

The hotel is walking distance from some nice restaurants, so not need to drive. Do try Los Morrilos across the road, excellent!

A small dislike is that the property can be noisy at times. You can hear voices from the adjacent rooms as well in the corridor. Not a major thing for us since it was not very busy but I think that is something to be worked on by the whole Argentinian hotel industry. Sound proof rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Paula and Luis are incredibly gracious and helpful hosts, and they really helped us make the most of our stay in Bariloche. Excursions can be easily booked through them, and they even made us a packed lunch at 4am when we got our flight out. The hotel is just outside of Bariloche, but easy to get to by bus and many excursions will pick you up at the hotel. There are also 3 of Bariloche's finest restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

What sets this hotel apart from others is the incredible hospitality from Paula and Luis. The owners of this property are delightful, friendly and provided such a great experience for us during our 3 days in Bariloche. They went out of their way to provide us with accurate information about our tours and sightseeing, and although they already knew a great deal about the local attractions, the also called each place to confirm the details of boat departures, chairlift opening hours, restaurants, etc. My partner and I travel for a living and have never come across such warm and touching service.
The hotel itself is small and very comfortable. The room was spacious, very clean, heated and had a great view. The free chocolates were nice too! After spending a week in BsAs the peace and quiet in this place was like heaven. I haven't slept this good in ages.
Breakfast is provided, and was great. Luis makes his own loafs of (excellent) bread and his homemade berry jam each day, and is honestly the best we had ever eaten. I wanted to buy a jar of his jam but he only makes enough for each day's guests!!!
When we arrived at the airport, the taxi quote one way to the hotel was about 100 peso. We hired a car for 48 hours and in total cost 600 peso, with full insurance and unlimited km. In our opinion this was a great decision. The hotels location is good but for this type of region, getting around is best done having the freedom of your own car than taking buses and taxis. In the end you will end up spending just as much as a hire car, and will spend ages waiting around. Also, there are so many awesome things to see around the city only accessible with your own wheels.
The hotel is located 7km from the city centre. Bariloche is a beautiful town although there isn't much to 'do' in the city itself. The highlight of this region is the scenery. The Altuen is located on the lakeside and has great views of the mountains and lake, its a great spot. The road to the ski fields is across the street so it is centrally located for a skiing holiday. We took the chairlift at Campanario to the top of the mountain in the afternoon for incredible views of the city and mountain ranges. Then we continued on a drive to the Llao Llao hotel and followed the scenic route back to the hotel, it was a great afternoon and provided some excellent stops for photos of the amazing scenery. The second day we drove to Villa Angostura. There is not much to do in the town but it is a pretty little place, and the 3 hour boat ride from there to the peninsular and forest was a nice way to kill an afternoon. The drive itself to Angostura is worth doing just for the oooh and ahhh factor!
Overall we had a very memorable stay at this hotel and would absolutely recommend it to anyway staying in Bariloche.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyFox2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmorim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Altuen Hotel is a very nice hotel, beautifully situated near the lake in Bariloche. The landscape from everywhere in the hotel (rooms, loby) is amazing!! The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmorimtalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

You will need a car, but the owners could not be more helpful. It's like having your own personal concierge. The views from all of the rooms are stunning and there are endless things to see in the region. If you have the time, interest, and money, I highly recommend a fly fishing side trip. Paula can put you in touch with Jorge, but you will need to book that well in advance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonescarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at Altuen for six days and found it really relaxing and peaceful. Altuen is only very small (8 rooms) and the owners, Paula and Luis' could not be more helpful in every respect. After travelling throughout Argentina for over a month now, Altuen has had the best level of personal service without a doubt.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway in the most incredible location at a reasonable price, I highly recommend Altuen.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#5 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
3.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Property: Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AEK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing