We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This delightful gem has it all. Paula and Luis are over the top as hosts in their desire to please and make your stay great. Paula arranged a door to door car rental, greeted us with croissants, chocolates and kiss on the cheek. Luis helped us use their computer so that we could Skype with our family back home and even drew personal maps to help us plan our daily excursions. Every arrival or departure was greeted personally. We felt like loved family from our first moments at the hotel until we left.

The hotel location is excellent with a lovely view of Lake Nahuel Huapi from the rooms and a number of good restaurants are within walking distance. Rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable.

For those who would like it, upon request, the oversized spa on the first floor will be heated for a relaxing soak or a massage will be arranged in the room next door.

Breakfast includes homemade bread, jams, dulce de leche, fruits, juice, yogurt, coffee and assorted sweets. Since dinner is always very late in Argentina (restaurants open at 8 pm and we seldom saw other diners before 9 pm) a continental breakfast feels just right in the morning.

We very highly recommend a stay at the Altuen.
Rita and Bob Shapiro

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita and bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were staying at the Altuen a couple days right at the beginning of 2012 with our two little boys. We loved the room, the location and also the services offered. And yes, Carla & Luis are wonderful hosts as many previous reviewers have said. Paula actually managed to get us a Ford Ecosport suited for Patagonian gravel roads through one of her acquaintances when basically all local rental car agencies had none available.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In terms of location, Bariloche is beautiful and our favourite place in the "Patagonia Argentina". We really enjoy the laid back atmosphere of Bariloche. Altuen Hotel is in a really great location to explore from, as all the popular areas are easy to get to from here.

We found this hotel one of the best in its area. The views from the dining room of the Nahuel Huapi Lake are just amazing!...Our room was comfortable and of a good size. Always neat and tidy, heaps of hot water, great shower pressure and very comfy beds!
Not to mention breakfast!... Breakfasts are amazing - totally loved Luis' homemade bread!!!

Altuen's owners Paula & Luis are prepared to go the extra mile for you. Their attitude towards service was focused on professional hospitality and friendship at the same time. No doubt they are one of the friendliest hotel owners we have ever met. Paula & Luis are excellent hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. At the end of our stay we felt that we were leaving a friend's house not just a hotel!

In general a very pleasant stay that we would recommend to anyone. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Altuen Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is located on the edge of Lake Nahuel Huapi, in a strategic area, close to the best restaurants and "cerros" and far enough from the bustle of downtown. Transportation to downtown is quick and easy. In the style "design hotel", the Altuen has bold architectural lines and whimsical décor to the care of the couple and owners Luis and Paula. The owners are, however, the biggest difference of the hotel: extremely hospitable, make you comfortable and help in all your needs. What captivated me was just the mix of professionalism with informality. The hotel equipment are first class, especially a huge Jacuzzi tub, positioned in front of a big window facing the lake Nahuel Huapi. The rooms also have balconies overlooking the lake and have the right size to not feel "suffocated" as in many other hotels. We find the price reasonable and consistent with the quality of the hotel. The breakfast is also quite diverse, with bread prepared daily by Luis (looks like a cake, so yummy). The hotel has parking for cars, where we put our rental car in Bariloche. The room cleaning service is also efficient. We can not see flaws in this hotel, in five days that we stayed in January 2012. We just have to congratulate the couple Luis and Paula, because they can make a difference in so pleasant hotel for its guests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I spent a week in Altuen Hotel. We enjoyed it very much. Waking up with view over the Nahuel Huapi Lake was a magnificent start of the day, even if Puyehue Vulcan did several times emit ashes which created a haze remembering me of the permanent haze over the city of Beijing. Altuen Hotel is about 7.5 km from Bariloche. It is managed by a couple, Paula and Luis, who do everything to make guests feel genuinely at home. They also speak English (Paula) and Portuguese (Luis). Every morning, Luis prepared and cooked his own delicious bread which was served with a choice of home-made jams. Our room (# 6) had a balcony. It was absolutely spotless, the bed comfortable and the bathroom fully functional with hair dryer and plenty of amenities. No air-conditioning (no need for it) and no mini-bar. Wi-fi worked pretty well. Parking space is available. A bus-stop is nearby.
We tried the spa, a large Jacuzzi located on the entrance floor and managed by Paula who received a training in physiotherapy. She can also organize various types of massages as well as ozone therapy (we did not try any).

Bariloche, as a city, deserves a half-day visit with its streets lined with sport and souvenirs shops as well as tempting chocolate factories. Banks and usual currency exchange facilities are available, including for Chilean pesos and Swiss francs. Helpful and effective Tourist Board. The Museo de la Patagonia (entrance fee: 20 pesos) provides information on the Mapuche people who were the original inhabitants of Patagonia. There are also educative displays of plants and animals living in the Argentinian and Chilean Patagonia. The cathedral is interesting in the fact that its inside construction has so far not been completed: the stained glass windows as well as pipes collecting rainwater are embossed on the interior walls, indicating that the final inside lining and decoration are not yet in place.

Several excursions from Bariloche are recommendable: the peaceful Lago Gutierrez, the interesting Colonia Suiza (but it does not at all look like Switzerland! ) and Cerro Otto (gorgeous view over the area - expensive). On the other hand, Cerro Catedral did not impress us. Further excursions were to El Bolson with the beautiful Lago Peulo (worth a day-long visit with picnic on the lake shore - helpful and friendly park attendant at the entrance) as well as to La Angostura, a normally pleasant tourist resort unfortunately devastated by volcanic ashes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We've stayed in many excellent hotels before but Altuen hotel is definitely the best!!!
starting with the clean and beautiful rooms,through the outstanding, breath taking view from the room and the homemade tasty breakfast. this hotel is so peaceful and pleasant.

the Icing on the cake is the owners- so kind and lovely. they do everything to make your stay in bariloche perfect. they helped us with everything we needed, we didn't need to talk to any travel agency because they booked everything we wanted and answered all our questions.

We know some might worry about the location but there is a bus station next to the hotel and it only takes 10 minutes to get to the center of the city. staying in this hotel is worth the bus drive.

we know for sure that every friend of ours that will go to bariloche will stay there and we highly recommend that you will stay there too- you will not regret it!!!

Room Tip: rooms with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed a week here, and have been very much impressed by the warmth and genuine helpfulness of the owners Paula and Luis. Nice people do not come any better than the two of them
The view you have from your room ( if you go for this option) is as good as it comes on the lake, it is amazing to lie in your bed and look at the scenery. The rooms are furnished with style and you have a homely feeling when you are there.
Paula and Luis made it a priority to help me make the most of my stay in spite of the vulcanic ash, and practically tailormade my day, sometime over breakfast depending on the weather.
When one of them opened the door on my return it was like coming home after a busy day

I have been staying in many similar places during my 5 weeks in Argentina, but this was the best because of the human element
I will have to come back here if for nothing else but do our challenging trek with Paula up Cero Catedral( 4 hours one way )that we could not do because of the weather.

Room Tip: go for the lake view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
6.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
680 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AEK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing