We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
592
64
9
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
64
9
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luis and paula comfortable accommodation perfect hosts each morning superb views hire car nice breakfast purple argentina lake
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights last April. We can't say enough how wonderful Paula and Luis were.

Two things happened that could have really put a damper on our time in Bariloche. First, our flight to Bariloche from El Calafate was cancelled and we couldn't get on another flight until the following day. Paula and Luis were so understanding that we didn't have to worry. Second, we lost a credit card while in Bariloche, so paying our final bill ended up being slightly complicated. Again, our hosts were so patient, accommodating, and truly kind. We can't thank them enough!

What is more, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms have spectacular lake views, and the breakfast is delicious. Paula and Luis helped us book a tour and were happy to help with recommendations and advice. It is a little ways away from town, but Altuen is right along the main road where the bus goes, so it's no big deal.

We highly recommend Altuen and would be very happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Luis and Paula go out of their way to make your stay is most memorable. The facilities are clean and modern, and the views from the breakfast room and bedrooms are breathtaking. The hotel is located on the western edge of Bariloche with easy access to hiking trails and scenic drives. Many excellent restaurants are within walking distance, including a great brewpub with a happy hour.

Room tip: All rooms have great lake views
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Hotel is top with the very nice and kind owners Paula & Luis! The view on the lake is marvelous and there is everthing you need close including the best restaurants! The stay here is a must! Thanks Paula & Luis! We will never forget our stay!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernhard_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Luis and Paula are incredibly welcoming hosts, always ensuring you have a wonderful holiday and will help you in any way they can. Their hotel is situated overlooking the Lake Nahuel Huapi and the right side of Bariloche to enjoy the Parque Nacional and the Llao Llao area, lots of treks and very good restaurants. La Salamander Pulpera and Alberto's were excellent. Our room was good, very comfortable bed and amazing view of lake. Breakfast was good too. Cannot understand a couple of previous reviews...we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay with this lovely couple.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed here from Jan. 17 to Jan. 22. Like all the other reviews we were met with a very warm welcome from Paula and Luis. They are such caring people. The view of the lake is fantastic. We chose to stay in the largest room they have on the top floor. It was a very good choice. The room was spacious and again the view was super. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a small fridge, a small table and chairs. The TV even had English speaking channels. Something our big hotel in Buenos Aires did not have. Housekeeping was excellent and the room and bath were spotless. Breakfast was typical fare for Argentina with eggs cooked to order if you choose. Luis is a good cook too.

The hotel is 7.1 Km outside of town. We were there at a peak busy time and although there is bus service nearby there seemed to always be a long line and the buses full. We had rented a car at the airport and that made things easy for us to come and go as we pleased. I hadn't driven a manual shift car for years. Parking is available at the hotel but the driveway is a little steep. A little tricky with my expertise. Luis and Paula gave us great tips on things to see and can arrange tours for you that will pick you up at the hotel.

There are several restaurants and bars and a public beach within walking distance but there are no sidewalks and the edge of the busy road is a little rocky and uneven. Bariloche is a great place to visit and this is a great boutique hotel to stay at.

Room tip: Room 8. Top floor has best view and is the largest room.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletch1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews