We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In this hotel is easy to fall in love))”
Review of Hostel Los Troncos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Los Troncos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had spent three nights in March. Wonderfully. Although the weather was awful. I remember the patio with a table, the smell of roses, ladder ...
I do not want to talk about the room - the room as a room. Normal bed, fast wi-fi. Clean, nice. Shower so-so.
I just love this atmosphere, as in this hostel. Many good people, nice people.
A special place - the kitchen with access to the patio))
Very friendly staff. I would especially like to thank Aylin - it helped me a lot))
Alexander from Russia

P.S. I have to say - not far from the center, at the same time is not the center. On the contrary a very nice restaurant in which to ask "tourist menu" for 89 pesos

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderShcerbakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Hostel looks like a hotel and therefore hasn't got a real backpackersvibe. But that doesn't matter, cause the beds are fantastic, at breakfast you get freshly baked medialunas and your dishes get washed. The kitchen is fantastic, nicest one ever, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Location is ok, bathroom is less ok because the shower is almost above the toilet, but in the end the hostel is just nice for a few relaxed days.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Good if you're on a budget, don't mind small rooms and or tiny bathrooms, higher noise level (at times), need a large shared kitchen with fridge space, relatively close to the main drag, good internet and strong wifi. Friendly and efficient service, sparse b'fast.

Bad if you need more comfort, larger rooms, a firm mattress, a decent cooked b'fast, and a decent view of the lake.

Know your needs first.

Room Tip: Lots of shared "dorm" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJWPos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Great kitchen, great breakfast- especially the fresh medialones (thanks Luis! ).
Only 4 stars because the private showers are really small. You can actually use the toilet while taking a shower, if you really want... we saw three different rooms and it was pretty much the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadavBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

this was recommended to me by someone who had stayed there, and I am grateful.
It is clean, has pleasant staff, very nice ambience, a good breakfast and is near the bus stop.
It is only a short walk to the centre.

Room Tip: I was in the dorm but it has a lot of double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a good place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and with a restaurant style kitchen. There are is good courtyard to chill in as well. They provide baskets to put your food in with your room # on it which was a nice thing and the first time we saw this. The only bad thing is that the rooms facing the street can be noisy as there is a club that stayed open till 7am across the street. We were able to sleep through it so it is not so noisy as to be a total disaster and we were there on a Friday night. My wife and I stayed in the dorm. We wanted a double but they were booked. If possible I would ask for a double off the courtyard as these appeared to be the best. There was noone else in the dorm which was nice and the guy at the front desk said if people came he would put them in the other dorm. The breakfast is simple butas great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingllamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Despite the fact that we had reserved the room (deluxe room with double bed with a lake view) through hostelworld and paid the deposit a month ahead, they put us in the wrong room (standard room with a bunk bed facing the garden). The hotel blamed hostelworld, and offered that we can go to another hotel. It was already evening and we had a long bus ride from Chile (plus a 30 peso taxi-ride from the terminal), so we decided to stay for one night. We did not sleep at all because of the noise. We could not open the only window facing the garden as people were chatting, drinking and smoking (pot?) right in front of the room. The quiet hours start only from 2am... The bathroom is tiny and has no shower curtain, and you would need to remove everything that you don't want to get wet (towels, toiled papers) when you take a shower. The only positives were that the room was warm (it can get cold in Bariloche even in summer) and the kitchen manager (can't remember his name) was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cronopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.2 mi away
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#15 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
99 reviews
1 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#8 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Pudu
Hostel Pudu
#110 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#36 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Justina Hostel
La Justina Hostel
#22 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#12 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Los Troncos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Los Troncos

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 571, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 261 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £16 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Los Troncos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing