We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, But A Property in Disrepair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Like Quijote
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, But A Property in Disrepair”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

First all, the staff could not have been nicer. The property is a mess. If you are a twenty something
in age, it would be alright, but for us senior folks, it does not work. Our first room was #4 and the
problem was the shower. If you wanted to use the toilet, fine, but you could not shower at the
same time as the shower head was over the toilet. Not good. We complained and they moved
us the next day to room #1 that had a shower, but boxed in so you can use the toilet and shower
as in a normal bathroom. Now the problem was the toilet, it leaked profusely. Oh, well, nothing
that a few towels could not fix. The room was large, no TV, a couple of nightstands, and a chair.
Now this is where it gets a bit funky -- the room was a delightful purple in color with orange
accents. In fact, most of the hotel was done up in this hippie type decor. But keep in mind,
it is only for a couple of nights, so we just let that pass. A good thing was that the guests
can use the kitchen and refrigerator. That was a plus. The hostel was a 15 minute walk to town,
down hill - remember you have to walk up the hill to get back. A supermarket was close by as
well as some Mom and Pop food stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    7
    9
    7
See reviews for
6
24
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The couple who run the hostel are lovely and can speak some English, the hostel is clean, bedrooms and kitchen fine. It is about 10 minutes walk from the centre. I found el quijote to be a homely place for someone travelling alone and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Side, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

i booked my dorm room by hostelworld 1 beds from 4 bed dorms, but after 7 hours bus journey
when i arrived there room was wiht 6 beds and so small. the people at desk looks that they are realy sorry and try to do somethink but its all just im sorry but crapted..
i wasnt very happy and i wont recemend this place....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huseyin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

El Quijote is a really lovely and cosy place with colorful, clean rooms, which we definitly recommend. It is run by a very nice and helpful couple: Caesar and Silvia. We had a nice double room with a small private bathroom. The toilette and the shower were a bit unstable, but since it was clean we did not care ; )
The rooms are quite cheap (breakfast is included!) and the hostel is well located - only a 10-minutes walk away from the center. Unfortunatly we stayed for only one night since we were in our way to San Martin de los Andes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We made a 23 days trip trought Argentina and Chile. Before it, we have been in hostels in USA and I can say, for sure, that El Quijote is the best hostel that we ever seen. The family who cares the hostel is amazing. Very helpful. Is very clean and well located.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Best hostel at Bariloche! The family is very nice, pleasent and helpful.The Hospedaje is very clean, includes laundery service and great breakfast. The owners make the best asado, better than Don Alberto and Tony!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hello Dear tRAvVvElRs!,

if you´re looking for a comfy place to stay, a really loving family, 2 computers that work really fast, and a perfectly cooked asado! this is the place!!!:)....
and no i don´t have any commision! i´m just a travveler like you guys, that felt comfy with this family and in this hostel! nuff said!:) HiPpY TrAvElS! BoOm!:)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltonleeabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
1.1 mi away
Lo De Max
Lo De Max
#33 of 113 in San Carlos de Bariloche
88 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#17 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Justina Hostel
La Justina Hostel
#50 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Pudu
Hostel Pudu
#115 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#11 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Gaucha Hostel II
Tierra Gaucha Hostel II
#91 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Like Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Like Quijote

Property: Hostel Like Quijote
Address: Pasaje Juan Maria Gutierrez 905, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 250 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Like Quijote 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation in Bariloche stay humble in family atmosphere, a real travellers paradise, 500m from Civic Center.and the beauty lake Nahuel Huapi. Like Quijote Hostel has rooms with shared or private bathrooms, simple decor, wood furnishings and heating. Some rooms feature jewel toned throw pillows and garden views. They are arranged in a typical Alpin-style house with spacious areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Hostel Like Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing