We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
boston, mass.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the mountains”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Llao Llao Hotel is located in Bariloche, Argentina which is an area known for superior skiing and exceptional outdoor activities. We visited in Autumn and found a beauty in the land that was magnificent. The hotel is situated amidst the mountains and our room had a view of the lake and beautifully kept gardens. In the distance and on the grounds, the leaves were beginning to change color and the rolling hills were quite beautiful. The hotel itself had wonderfully appointed rooms with terrific lavender scented amenities. The restaurants were first class and the wine selection equally special--featuring Argentinian wines--many which we had never had before. There are several rooms with huge fireplaces to sit and drink whiskey and empanadas, a library to visit and a full service spa. The hotel also offered a full range of activities to participate in ranging from hikes to painting classes to bird watching to nature walks. Each was led by an expert and we met many interesting guests.....each one happy to participate in the adventure. On days that we went on long hikes into the mountains, the kitchen staff packed up a "takeaway lunch" (not that we had any room after the sumptuous breakfast!). All in all, we would return annually if given the chance and loved every minute of our vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    290
    52
    33
    19
See reviews for
628
902
46
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel is patterned on the Canadian railroad hotels (The Shining) and has a spectacular views in all directions. We've stayed here in both Winter and Summer; I prefer Summer because there are far fewer people in the area. Even in Summer the distant mountain peaks are snow/ice capped. Hotel is well maintained and the staff is very professional and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good, but we ate outside the hotel for all other meals or the hotel packed lunches for our excursions.

One of the lake ports is at the bottom of the hill. It is possible to travel from here to Puerto Montt, Chile mostly by boat...a trip we hope to make next year. The lake district in Chile is also spectacular.

Before going back, I'll be checking to see what kind effect the volcano had. I've seen photos of very deep ash on the streets of Bariloche. If they got it, the Llao Llao got it worse. The only other potential drawback to the Llao Llao is the distance to the town center.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed for a couple of days during a business trip back in April. The place where the hotel is located is amazing, simply breath taking.The hotel is great, five star quality with everything you need to spend a good time with your friends, colleagues or family.
Room: The room was pretty comfortable with two double beds, a place to plug the computer, mini bar and a very nice bathroom with a great shower. It was fully equipped and complimentary slippers and robe.
Eating: The best from the hotel was the food, at breakfast, lunch or dinner the variety of food was amazing and really tasty.
Activities: The hotel has several common rooms where you can spend the time reading, watching tv, playing cards. It also has a game room with pool tables and ping pong. Also there are several activities that you can do outside like walks, bikes, archery, etc.
Swimming Pool: The hotel has a covered swimming pool and also an uncovered one where you can be in the water watching some amazing views of the mountains and lake.

Although the hotel is expensive, it's worth every penny if you want to spend a luxurious and comfortable time, with amazing lakes and mountain views.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Llao Llao is so unique. From the views of the adjoining lake, the hovering mountains, the historic architecture of the building - it is all worth it. I would suggest even visiting this hotel if you were staying somewhere else in town. This hotel is one of a kind.

The service here is great, but better still, they are not too proud to sit with you and talk to you about whatever you need. When we stayed, the hotel was hosting some kind of big event for a car company - but unless I stumbled upon the event I would have never known. Really great staff, just an awesome hotel. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The new wing is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaJayBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This place is rated as one of the top resorts in all of South America. The setting and lodge are gorgeous. The place is nestled between the snow topped peaks on a beautiful lake near one of the largest national parks in Argentina. It is a bit pricey, but worth the experience--nice rooms and wonderful service. The only downside is the food...good but very expensive. The morning buffet breakfast is a good deal and excellent. Many good restaurants not too far away. The town of Bariloche (about 20 miles away) is a bit chaotic and touristy, so try not to stay right in town if you can avoid it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hotel is like a upscale lodge with beauty everywhere. The grounds were manicured and the pools were delicious. The spa was very upscale and the gym was alittle stuffy. Unfortunately, we were not able to take advantage of all the classes offered. The room was clean and pleasant and the bathroom was adequate. I think every room had a view of the mountains or the lake and the grounds. We took played on the golf course and it was very resortlike with some spectacular views.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

A Unique resort not only in Bariloche but also in the whole world.
Unbelievably beautiful landscape with autumn colours and an impressive French Style building interiorly refurbished for XXI century first quality vacation.
The excellent service provided by all of its personnel made our stay unforgettable.
CAN'T BE MISSED!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishArgentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,524 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
942 reviews
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
947 reviews
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
389 reviews
12.6 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Property: Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing