We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, big, old property for the masses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel built in the 30s has a kitschy lodge decor. Be sure to ask for a new room. It is pretty big and seems to attract a lot of tour group type. There are many hiking tails from the hotel and nice views. The food was average, again, a big hotel trying to cater to many guests and tastes. The concierge (Vanessa and a guy whose name escapes me) were pretty rude and unhelpful. We went straight to reception for help. Seemed like they were botherd by our questions.
Bariloche has many boutique hotels which are a nice option if you don't want to be one of the many with average food and rude staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Ooooops. We were so ready to open a new review full of nice words and congrats and wows. But it didn´t happen. Instead, a description of a forgettable experience. Firstly we flushed. Then we read it again. Faced every word. And accepted that something in the way went very wrong. Starting from your perception of "big old property". The Bustillo Wing is an historical landmark, Built in 1938, it is one of the most iconic buildings in argentinian architecture. And in this extraordinary setting, Nahuel Huapi was the first National Park, and Llao Llao the luxurious hotel to host argentinian and international aristocracy, presidents, kings and queens and all the charm and glam of that "epoque". Years went by, Argentina faced difficult periods. And Llao Llao closed in 1978. But in 1993 reopened, and from then on, we strive to deliver a unique experience .In 2007 we opened the Moreno Wing, to combine history and contemporary functionality. As of the "kitschy decor", your opinion of course counts, but style per se is a subjective perspective. On the contrary, rudeness is objective, and unacceptable. Our apologies. On behalf of Llao Llao, We try to be guestoriented every moment,in every detail. And are very conscious of the importance of service. And service quality. And if you did not get an excellent service it is OUR mistake and not your perception. Sorry for this. Your opinion is really useful for us. We hate cliches, so, please take this response with all the responsibility that it takes. As of the "massivness" or the "average food", again, is all we do not want to deliver. Customized service, high quality in every detail is our duty. We are hoteliers. We know when we do right, and when we do wrong. It happens, and unfortunaly it happened with you. We cannot turn back time, but we can accept the challenge of getting back to our basics. Excellence. Thank you again for your "wake up call".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

High tea was great. We had all we could eat and drink with attentive but not overbearing staff and a view that couldn't be bought. Definitely worth the trip. We made a reservation over the phone which meant access was easy. Would advise this. They try to keep the riff raft out.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fitoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Fitobay, so flattered about your description on our classic Llao Llao Tea. Most definitely you did tell all we strive for...shake the senses of our visitors. stunning views (it is the result of the visionary architect Bustillo who pointed out this very spot to build Llao Llao, he couldn't have been more accurate!), taste,texture and colour in our pastry, and getting pampered by the staff...in the balance we try to achieve.
If we could get there, our pleasure! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 3 days at this beautiful resort. After a whirlwind tour of Patagonia, it was the perfect way to end our month-long wedding/honeymoon travels. Only regret we had is tht we did not have more days there! We were in one of the lake view suites in the "new" building, which I highly recommend. (The hotel kindly upgraded us to this room from the standard lake view room since it was our honeymoon.) The room had a terrace and huge windows ---even one-way mirrored ones in the bathroom, so that we had views of the lake from the bed, the sitting area, the whirlpool bathtub, shower, and even the toilet! Service was impeccable and the food, for the most part, was excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view rooms in the new building. It appeared (but only from our outside assessment) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytrailsnyc096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Happytrailsnyc096, we feel so happy to read you had a great stay with us. Wow you did choose a great destination -Patagonia- for your honeymoon, and if we were the cherry on top, it is our honour! Thank you for your words! What you reflect in your review is our pride,to feel that through your experience we did achieve what we strive for: creating an unforgettable memory in our guests.
Keep this magic for good. You certainly deserve it! Cheers from LlaoLlao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Llao Llao hotel is outstanding !!!!. Excellent service, rooms and service areas. The great hall for breakfast is breathless !. All personal, are very kind and gentle. The travel agency inside are effective, and Pablo was perfect indicating the places to visit.
Thansfer between hotel to Cerro Catedral sky center always on time and the " Refugio llao llao", a lounge exclusive for hotel guests are cozy and make thing, such sky rental and classes, very easy.

Maybe, during high season, a transfer to the city, would be a good service as well.

Around 40 minutes long from the city by taxi.
My and family will return for sure !!!!

Room Tip: There is a new area face to Moreno lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauricioc276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Mauricio C! Thank you for your review! We feel so flattered! We do believe in passion for what we do. And if did reflect in you experience, we feel so encouraged to keep on putting this passion into our daily aim: please our guests and make the feel at ease...and pampered! Pablo got your compliments, and thanks you for remembering him! Mauricio,you and your family will be always welcome! And thanks for your suggestion on the ride to downtown. We take it into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Llao Llao one can only normally dream of staying at this opulent & magnificent Hotel & we were fortunate enough to have stayed for a few nights here & it was well worth the expense.
The comfort of the rooms the decor throughout the hotel is wonderful - A million dollar view from all aspects - situated between two lakes in one of the most amazing Cities in Argentina.
Bariloche has a lot to offer - wonderful shopping - great tours including trout fishing - it is of course highly popular for skiers - you can fine dine within the confides of this magnificent hotel or visit one of many fine dining restaurants in & around Bariloche. It is well worth including this unique hotel in your holiday plans. There is also a great spa - pool - gym - hairdresser - beautician all to be taken advantage off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnIzurieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear DawnIzurieta! Thank you for the nice words about your stay with us! We feel very proud to read that you were fortunate to visit us. It makes us really happy, and we are the fortunate having guests like you. We are the privileged hosts. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Que lindooooo!!!! it is very nice, the service is great. It is a little far from downtown, an hour from the airport, but worth it. I love the pool with the nicest view. This is the type of place that you want to visit.

Room Tip: a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Essential to book a room looking back over the lake to distant snow capped mountains.
A sophisticated hotel of high international standards.
Possibly the best steak of our trip.
The hotel is surrounded by an 18-hole golf course and it's relatively easy to get a round, but it's not flat !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartbandsuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,669 reviews
12 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,040 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#11 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
424 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
684 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £180 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing