We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Llao Llao - You'll Never Want to Leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Llao Llao - You'll Never Want to Leave”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

After contemplating whether to stay in a hotel outside Bariloche or in an apartment close to town, we decided to go all out for the iconic hotel Llao Llao for our three night stay in Northern Patagonia, Argentina. This fabled hotel has it all including location, location, location. It is perched on its own peninsula surrounded by lakes and mountains. It has it’s own golf course and marina. The lake front access makes it easy to use the hotel’s kayaks, canoes, paddle boards and fishing boat. The Cerro Lopez and Monte Tronador are so close you can almost touch them. There is also a fitness club, pool, spa and an array of activities to choose from all day long. Once we were inside – we really couldn’t find a good reason to leave.

Well we did leave once to go on a fabulous hike to Refugio Lopez – 1650 meters above sea level but we took Nahuel, the hotel’s very professional guide and the trail head was only 15 minutes away by car. The hotel stayed in view throughout our hike as we climbed to see the vast vistas of Patagonia and the Andes.

While we did have plans to visit Villa Angostura and San Martin de los Andes, we could not give up all the hotel had to offer. We were scheduled for an 11am wind surfing class but due to lack of wind we took off on Llao Llao’s kayaks around Lake Moreno. After that it was a fly fishing class and a two hour boat ride to catch fish – we scored three trout and one perch - all were safely returned to the lake.

Even dinner challenged us to leave. With a lively happy hour in the Lobby Bar overlooking the majestic scenery, we were too relaxed to even think of leaving and with three restaurants to choose from, it really wasn’t a hard decision. Dinner was good, not great but the wine selection and dessert were excellent. We were sated from the day’s activities and could barely keep our eyes open for the nightly entertainment of live music and tango.

The hotel staff is attentive but not overly astute. Everything about the hotel is comfortable yet elegant. It’s posh without pretense.

Included in the room rate are indoor and outdoor amenities. The water sports rental area is neatly kept and easy to access. There is a wide range of activities to do all day – nature walk, pilates, yoga, fitness ball, windsurfing, archery, rappelling, etc. Other activities cost extra but well worth the money – our fishing guide as well as our hiking guide were professional and charming with excellent English.

There is also a kids club and spa for the under 12 set. The hotel guests are a mix of young families and older guests with golf clubs. It is a place for everyone. We reserved standard rooms in the older area of the hotel. They were also the least expensive. Our rooms did not have the best views but they were decent. We did not have air conditioning but we were given fans. The bathrooms were functional but we preferred to shower at the spa. Newer rooms with central air conditioning and jacuzzi were more than twice the price but probably worth it for the views alone.

I guess I will have to return to this area again and stay clear of Llao Lhao. I will go directly to San Martin de los Andes and then to Villa Angostura. I hear they have nice views too. I can hardly wait.

See my blog for photos of this post http://gowhereyouhaveneverbeen.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/llao-llao-hotel-and-resort-bariloche-patagonia-argentina/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Wow! Thank you! We feel...speechless after reading such a great review by such an experienced traveler! We feel really flattered...so flattered that your blog has been shared in our Facebook fanpage!
Great description, wonderful pictures...thank you again, and even if you already know us...we wish to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    293
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
638
910
46
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful setting overlooking the mountains and pristine lakes (fjords) of Bariloche and set high on a hill in the midst of a golf course, walking trails and forest. Abundant outdoor activities for those so inclined. Our room (suite) was on the top floor of the newer wing and was tastefully decorated and designed (everything worked for a change) with a large bathroom and jacuzzi with a great picture window view. All this plus a private balcony overlooking the lake. Service was excellent. One negative note: we ate dinner in the Grill Room the night that we arrived since the elegant main restaurant (with its high ceilings and huge windows) was closed. We found the Grill Room to be drab and uninviting and the food rather mediocre. In spite of this negative note, the hotel is highly recommended (and reputedly the best in the area).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
plkmtk It is a pleasure for us to answer your review. We are so grateful. Your feedback is really valuable for us. Of course we love the compliments...but when we are told what did fail, we feel very sorry and responsible. You were most generous, we understand that the experience should be 100% satisfactory though. Our F&B Manager is focusing his attention on the grill and presents his apologies.
On behalf of all of us, thank you for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I were touring Argentina and the LLao LLao Hotel and Resort was one of the places that was on my "Bucket List".
From the time you enter the gate you feel you are being transported to a Swiss mountain lodge.
The 5 star service began with Hernan and Santiago at the concierge desk. They were warm and welcoming and gave us some information about the resort.
The hotel reflects Alpine-style grandeur with timber ceilings, large stone fireplaces, antler chandeliers and classic hospitality.
When you walk outside you are surrounded by the natural habitat of lakes, mountains and manicured gardens. The views are breathtaking.
We were ushered into the Winter Garden Cafe at 4:30 PM by Jorge Macedo, for the High Tea.
He seated us at a large window table that overlooked the grounds. There was an extensive menu with a gourmet tea selection, but my husband requested the traditional Argentinian Mate tea, which Sr. Macedo prepared himself. It was an outstanding experience.
The strudel, cakes, pies and pastries were some of the best I have ever tasted.
I would highly recommend the LLao LLao Hotel and Resort to anyone that would like to feel like royalty for a moment in time. I did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Our dearest SRQgirl! It has been our pleasure! We are happy that such a discerning traveler enjoyed our signature High Tea...and that our Jorge Macedo was the one introducing your husband to our national drink: the "mate"!
Thank you for choosing us. We will always be at your disposal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night this past February at the beginning of our trip. Our check-in was friendly and efficient and our room was small but quite fine. We had a small tub and a bidet in the bathroom, a somewhat meagerly stocked minibar (despite the long list of items stated on the card), and a relatively comfortable bed. There is a fitness center which was better than we expected and also a large heated pool. The golf course was immaculately kept and the views of the lake/mountain were just lovely. The buffet breakfast was decent as was our dinner at the restaurant. I would definitely recommend the Llao Llao.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
honeydewchase We are very thankful for your time devoted to share your experience with us, and for your recommendation! We would love to be your hosts again, and for a longer stay! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It's funny that Llao Llao responds to every review on tripadvisor, but not the comments left for management at their hotel. It's without a doubt a beautiful property, but the service was lacking. First, we booked 2 rooms with a mountain view. We got into the rooms and looked directly at the hotel out the window. Hotel staff said they didn't have any other rooms available with a mountain view (though we booked with plenty of time in advance). While they gave us a reduced rate, we booked the hotel because of its views. Luckily we knew that there was a reduced rate available (from a promotion not on their website), we were lucky and they honored it.

Service was not up to par with a 4-5 star hotel. For example, they offer a free happy hour drink each night. When I asked for the same drink without alcohol, the waiter refused and said he couldn't do it. Really? Pretty disappointing that a hotel is going to refuse to provide a non-alcoholic option to those that can't or don't want to drink.

Another example: We arrived early (noon) and were told our bags would be delivered to the rooms when we got back to the hotel. We arrived back at 18:00 and the luggage was still in the lobby. No problem...we asked that they bring up the bags. After 40 minutes, nothing. Called the front desk... after more time, nothing. We had to go down and get the bags ourselves. We are not divas... but when we're paying an arm and a leg for rooms/hotel of this supposed caliber, we expect more.

We were also given a note under our door saying the pool would be closed for a photo shoot. Again, we chose this hotel for its beauty and its facilities... we thought this was insane (shooting on a weekend) with little prior notice so we couldn't schedule or days accordingly.

The food is good. The property is beautiful. Don't expect what you're expecting regarding the service. Plenty of other hotels in the area with beautiful views at a more reasonable price. Giving it an average rating for the price one pays.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time to ensure that you're getting the room you selected and paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jofidbak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Llao Llao. We are deeply sorry to read that you have experienced problems during your stay.
There is nothing we can do but accept, regret, learn, and apologize.
Accepting is the first step to rewind...and review.
Of course we always try to deliver an unforgettable stay for our guests. Making them feel special. Pampered. Therefore we highly regret that we didn´t achieve our goal. We could not create the atmosphere we wanted for you.
We appreciate your feedback. In your case, is the most hurtful and cost-sensitive way to learn.
As of the room type, we understand we honored the category selected, though it didn´t please you. We feel sorry for it, still somehow satisfied that we could offer you a better rate. We want you to know that we would have loved to upgrade you, there wasn´t any chance. Unfortunately, it is the stay's core. Only topped by service. And we dissapointed you with ours.
The luggage delivery error is unacceptable. Our deepest apologies. No need to be a diva to get your luggage timely. Excellent service is our duty. Lack thereof shouldn´t have occured.
And about the shooting, we are sorry it disrupted your plans. It was not closed, it was partially closed, enough to be annoying though.
We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to be worth your trust. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent a wonderful Christmas at Llao Llao. The accommodations were terrific, the staff friendly and the scenery spectacular. The highlight was the 5 course Christmas Eve dinner with Santa's appearance at midnight followed by dancing until the wee hours. We sat with 4 other couples who were fun and great conversationists. It was a Christmas Eve I never will forget.
I have read most of the reviews about Llao Llao and one can complain about the room size and the food, but this is an older resort. Its charm, service, beauty and location overwhelm these minor criticisms. I cannot think of a better spot to spend as a couple or with family. There is plenty to do between hiking, spa, lake activities and a competitive golf course. After the hour long drive from the airport, we were a bit nervous about being isolated without a car. Our fears were unfounded after 4 days, we had plenty to do and were only disappointed that we had to leave. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Chris P It is so rewarding to know that you did spend a great Christmas with us. It is such a special time...and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.
You were most generous with your review. we do thank you for taking your time to share the experience we love to deliver.
Thank you again for choosing Llao Llao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After a 5 night trek to Mt. Tronador, our weary group of 10 came by boat to the Llao Llao Hotel and Resort for some much needed rest and relaxation. The Resort itself is in an amazing location, surrounded on 3 sides by a beautiful translucent lake and with 360 degree views of the Patagonian Andes! Unbeatable scenery! The service at the Hotel itself was disappointing, particularly in the restaurants, where it seemed nearly impossible to get a waiter's attention. It took more than 30 minutes for a waiter to come take our drink order, not even our dinner order, when we sat down for dinner in the Patagonian dining room and eventually the maitre d' came by to take our order with an apology. The next morning, we basically had to stand up and wave frantically to get a waiter's attention to get a refill on a cup of coffee. For a resort of this caliber, I would have expected more. I will say that the one standout for great service was at the indoor pool area. The waiters there were prompt, polite and attentive.

Having said all of this, the food at the Llao Llao is exceptional. While the waitstaff could use some additional training, the chef and cooking staff are on the top of their games. From dinner to breakfast, every single item that we had was outstanding.

I was disappointed in my room in that I had booked our 5 rooms at least 4 months in advance and was given a low level room that overlooked the driveway to the hotel. Because there was no AC in the room itself we left the windows open, which was pleasant until the sprinkler system went off in the morning with a noise that could not be ignored.

The spa itself was outstanding and the view from the massage room was also amazing. The massage staff was also very friendly and helpful and the massage itself was one of the most relaxing ones I have had in years.

Despite the negatives, I loved this resort but I would not rate it up there with the Best of the Best due to underwhelming service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
PTelan Thank you for your time and your feedback! After reading it thoroughly, we must tell you it is most appreciated to read so clearly what went right and what went wrong in your stay.
Of course, we would have expected no flaws...we humbly apologize for not having met your expectations, specially in our waitstaff service.
We have several room types, and, as per your review, we understand you stayed in the ground floor. Please let us know your preferences would you honor us with another stay.
We are happy you enjoyed our meals and the Spa...after such a hike! We understand you are a discerning traveler and a nature lover. We deeply wish you visit us again...there is so much to do and enjoy around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,551 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
960 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,229 reviews
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
393 reviews
12.6 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Property: Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing