We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 3.5 star resort on a 6 star piece of property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It's a 3.5 star resort on a 6 star piece of property”
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I enjoyed Llao Llao, but let's be honest ... the hotel itself is pretty mediocre. We had a regular room in the original part of the hotel and it was nothing more than average. No down comforter, only heavy blankets ... a TV in the room but it was an old "tube" TV ... the walls were paper thin, absolutely no privacy ... radiators either made the room too hot or too cold but never consistent ... everything creaked and groaned ... and the very poor air circulation in the building meant that everyplace in the resort smelled like cigarette or cigar smoke. Walk out side and you had heavenly views, but inside, it was just average.

Other things that were disappointing: the very cool indoor / outdoor pool's heater was broken for all three days that we were there .... making it only for the daring souls to venture out into that water. The much touted "happy hour" includes a skimmed down drink menu ... most of the stuff you'd want, isn't on the menu. The fancy restaurant on the property is just fine .... nothing more ... it was the most expensive dinner we had in Bariloche and the least memorable (do check out Yoca though ... it was really good).

The breakfast was really great though ... have to give them that. Really enjoyed all of it. And the people are really nice too ... everyone smiled and was helpful. But it feels like a place that is simply past its prime. You will walk away with some unbelievable photos of Bariloche, but you shouldn't expect any wow's from Llao Llao itself

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTC-BAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    296
    56
    33
    20
See reviews for
651
920
46
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

What a superb hotel to experience!! Wonderful infinity pool with a stunning view of the mountains. Fabulous breakfast buffet contained within three soaring walls of glass with awesome views of the snow-topped Andes mountains, the pool and the lake! Attentive and friendly staff. Location is rather far from the city, BUT this is a hotel to be experienced. If you are only looking for a bed and a shower, this is not your choice. If you are seeking relaxation, good food, beauty, comfort and style, this is your place!! The spa area is extremely nice. Highest recommendation!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Were it not for the price, this hotel would be Heaven. The location is unbeatable, between Nahuel Huapi and Moreno lakes, up on a hill overlooking the beautiful surroundings. How can you not stay here, if only for a glorious day and night?
Breakfast is a feast to enjoy without guilt, you can always diet tomorrow... Buffet lunch or just a Patagonia sandwich is a good option and tea in the winter garden is lovely and full of delicious options, finger sandwiches, cakes and lots and lots of chocolate in every manner and form if your liver can afford it.
Lake view room at U$ 450 + tax should be bigger, although I should say that the size and comfort of the bathroom makes up for the not so big room.
The service is absolutely flawless as expected.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We're a family traveling around the world for a year, and Llao Llao is not our typical accommodation to say the least; however, we wanted to treat ourselves to a resort for three nights while getting acquainted with the Patagonia lake district and finding a more affordable cabana to rent for longer term.
For details and to see photos, please see our family blog about Llao Llao and the area at http://away-together.com/2009/10/24/welcome-to-patagonia/
It was a fantastic experience and we're glad we went -- although, given the prices, we were ready to leave after three nights. We got two of the most affordable adjoining rooms at off-season rates (one for us, one for the kids ages 11 and 8) and I was impressed that the standard, "non-view" room had superior amenities and a lovely view. The indoor-outdoor pool is fantastic, and there is a game room and kids' club for the kids as well. My only complaint is the high prices of the dinners. We ended up eating in the lounge to have more affordable dinners, which worked better for the kids, as the regular dining rooms are fairly stuffy and the service there is slow paced. One more thing: I really liked the gym, and as a trail runner, the nearby trails were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Brilliant service
Brilliant location and
Brilliant fascilities
Now that the ski lounge at Catedral is completed - Llao Llao has even become great for skiiers!

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Winners_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Staying in the newer Moreno Building made our stay perfect. These are some of the finest hotel rooms in the world- ours had a two person whirlpool tub with windows and views on three sides....just spectacular.

The original hotel building is very charming and iconic. Inside it's warm and and cozy, even in it's grand scale. I can't comment on the quality of the rooms in this older building...but i imagine they would be smaller, louder/creakier and have less impressive views...so not sure if these would be a good value, or not.

We used the spa and fitness facility and both were nice and well adequate. Happy hour was great, but the food in the Patagonia restaurant was just so-so. The complimentary breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minibarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass.
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Llao Llao is nestled in a beautiful section of Argentina and is surrounded by magnificant scenery. Mountains, Lakes, forests and gorgeous sights every turn you take. You could spend every day exploring the surrounding beauty or you could spend every day at the hotel---using the golf course, spa, fabulous restaurants or any one of a multitude of special interest activities (photography, painting, writing, hiking, etc). There is an indoor/outdoor heated pool that is fantastic. The staff is amazing and the place is a little bit of heaven! It was a wonderful escape from the hustle-bustle of city life and was a remarkable experience.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,567 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
970 reviews
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,249 reviews
12.6 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
820 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#24 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Property: Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing