We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel, lovely owners”
Review of Alaska Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alaska Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hostel, lovely owners”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at this hostel for nearly 2 weeks altogether. It felt like home. Naty and Javi are amazing. Javi even lent us some money till we could get to the cash machine. Javi also bakes fresh bread everyday for breakfast mmmmmmmmmmmm. The beds are super comfy, there are tonnes of plug sockets everywhere for charging stuffand the kitchen is also one of the best equiped kitchens I have seen in a hostel. Naty and Javi are really friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel at home and to help you do the things that you want to do. The beer in the hostel is also the same as what you pay for it in the supermarket, and they have a HUGE movie selection which they always update. Really enjoyed our stay here and we would defo come back. Thanks Javi and Naty xxxx

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    31
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
75
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed a this very cozy hostel run by its young owners with the cutest baby in town.
The owners (and the only staff) Javi and Naty, where really helpful and down to earth. They helped us when we had any sort of question and even drove us to the city centre as they had an errand.
This is the only matter of light criticism, as the hostel is about 7,5 km from the centre. It's not as bad as it sounds though, and buses run regularly from around the corner.

Kitchen is well-above-average equipped, located in the rather small but very cozy common area. We had the smallest double in the hostel but enjoyed its cozyness and cleanliness.

Highly recomnendable hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon82KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2011

One word for this hostel, OUTSTANDING! The peace and tranquility of this excellently-run home away from home is exceptional. It's more like an escape to a large wooden cabin in the Alpines with your family and friends - the difference being that this costs a fraction of the price. The view of the snow-capped mountains is breathtaking and the lake with a nearby beach is just a short walk away. Has all the amenities, including a large fully-equipped kitchen and laundry service. Morning coffee and homemade bread are the best. It is so cozy with a large selection of movies to watch and an outdoor grill. The supermarket down the street was well stocked for everything we needed. Owners Naty and Javi are always very friendly, well organized and extremely helpful. Our bedroom was always heated and very cozy and lovely hot showers. Probably most praise should be given to Luca, the new house manager who is 3 months old and son of Naty and Javi. No complaints whatsoever. Huge congrats. to the Alaska family, excellent job :-).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This hostel is a bit out of town, and does require taking the #20 bus from the town center, but it is well worth it! The placehas an amazing view, is very charming and is run by a wonderful family. There are also 4 adorable cats and 1 cute dog to help enrich your stay! It has been like home for us!!

Room Tip: Room #7 is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Location is not bad like some people said. It´s close to the bus stop and in a nice quiet place. The hostel is great, Javier and all the staff, and , even if I was very lucky to find gret people here, is the ideal hostel to meet people and relax with them. Great kitchen, nice breakfats and very clean. But it´s the best for its atmosphere. I´m just sad I have to go away from here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The guys who run this hostel are very friendly and helpful, they know a lot about hiking options in Bariloche. The room was clean, beds/mattresses are comfortable. The dorm (6 bed) is next to the kitchen and sitting area, it can get very noisy at night. The hostel is approx. 30 min away from the bus terminal and 20 min from the center (by bus). The breakfast is good. I can recommend this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I stayed 4 nights in this amazing hostel in Bariloche. This hostel attracts a mixed crowd of backpackers and couples. Not a party crowd at all, everybody is cooks at night, drinks a wine or tea, and goes to sleep around 00:30.

The owners are both very nice and are super helpful, they make you feel very comfortable and welcome. When you arrive they start with a list of things which you can do around the area and they are always there if you need help or if you have questions.

The hostel itself is in a wooden house with a main floor, and some rooms downstairs, which make it warm in the winter and cool in the summer. Everything gets cleaned every day and by cleaned I mean properly cleaned, the bathrooms are spotless. The kitchen is well equiped and it made me more eating at the hostel instead of eating out.

The breakfast is simple but super tasty, they bake their own bread every day and the jam too, except the marmelade and the dulche de leche. The home made jams are delicious. Free coffee and tea all day long, and free internet and wi-fi.

The location is considered as a downside by some travellers, but I personally liked it. It is not in the centre of Bariloche, which is actually just a commercial touristy village, but in one of the living areas, 15 min by bus from the centre. It is a quiet area and there are restaurants and a supermarket around.

Nice hikes and other activities are easy to do with this hostel as base, as it is between Bariloche and Llao Llao, and Llao Llao is a great place to go hiking, or cycling. It is also possible to hire bikes at the hostel, which are good quality. And you can book other excursions at the hostel which are the same price as in the center of Bariloche. It is also possible to do your laundry here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketotravelalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,523 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
270 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#8 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#10 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
218 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
312 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#37 of 250 in San Carlos de Bariloche
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Hostel

Property: Alaska Hostel
Address: Calle Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402HUD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 250 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view of Cerro Catedral, 4 blocks away from Playa Bonita and only 10 minutes from downtown Bariloche you will find a rustic hostel with great atmosphere, where you will feel at home. We are located at Km 7.5 Bustillo Road, in a pleasant and quiet area very close to Playa Bonita, on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, with an incredible view to the mountains. Just ten minutes from downtown Bariloche, in the way to Cerro Catedral Ski Center and Llao Llao Hotel. Once at the hostel you will find a full equipped kitchen and washing facilities, a garden with a place for BBQ, parking, free internet access, WiFi in all the hostel, TV, DVD & movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Alaska Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing