We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queues, cheating and indiferent staff”

Cerro Catedral Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.49*
and up
Bariloche Ski Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ski and Mountain Resort at Catedral mountain in Bariloche, Patagonia Argentina. Open all-year-round
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Queues, cheating and indiferent staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Catedral is probably the largest ski resort in Latin America. That is nice, but it has a price when only one sector of the mountain is open. One morning I had to wait 1:20 hour in the queue for the sextuple chairlift. Cheating in the queue is apparently a sport as popular as skiing here. Unlike other resoorts in Argentina where the queues are somehow organized with zig zag delimiters, in Caterdral it is rather chaotic with people pushing and trying to pass you. They have a special queue for people in class or who buy a special expen$ive pass, but the staff does not control anything and there are always smartos taking the express queue. Very annoying.
Other than this, food can be very expensive in the mountain and the refuges will not allow you to eat your own sandwich consuming only the beverages.
The snow was good in the last week of July but sectors were closed due to strong winds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lrt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,487
    1,380
    392
    107
    70
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke Rapids, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ski Resort!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was very impressed how quickly the system they have in place moves people. Once we left the main lift, from the the lift ticketing area, we spent the entire day up on the various mountains, not returning to the base lift until we were ready to leave for the day at 5:00PM. Great views and beautiful trails. They is something for all levels of skiing. Don't be timid and move off the main mountain to the side mountains for less traffic and quick lifts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steves557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you might want”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

They treat us very well and all the instalations and facilities were excelent.

We had many options about where to go, where to buy and what to do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RafaGomez_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice mountain, but flawed”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first time skiing in S America. Catedral is the largest resort in S America. Our experience was very mixed, first of all we did not have much snow. The resort does not seem to manufacture much snow so the result was the bottom half of the mountain was without snow and the top had enough to ski but just not a huge amount. The mountain itself is decent but fairly simple. If you are a very good skier then you will find it easy for the most part. The lift ticket system uses RFID cards and make sure you do not throw them away as they are reused and each card has a 100 peso cost. We charged our passes online at our hotel Arelauquen lodge. One thing we found a but did was that the resort itself does not have ski schools. There a many independent ski schools operating and we chose fire and ice based on our hotels recommendation. They were fantastic. Overall a good experience skiing in July but frankly does not compare to the resorts in the USA

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“maintenance and service declined compared to last year.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we went to ski last year and we saw a lot of change. super bad maintenance (problems with the lifts, runs were not groomed as before, long lines to use the lifts), also costs increased a lot and today it costs the same that to ski in the USA or Europe. very sad to see that since the view surrounded is one of the bests

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaJusticiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerro Catedral Ski Resort also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Catedral Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing