We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panamericano Bariloche
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very disappointed with the hotel overall. Starting with our room: we made the mistake of not booking a room with a lake view, which made the incredibly small room, with incredibly short ceilings, seem even smaller. The mattress was thin and old and therefore uncomfortable. There was only 1 thin pillow, so we had to ask for another. The decor was the kind that never should have existed in the first place-bad, cheap-furniture showroom-style from the 90's. To say that it was outdated is to say the least. The bathroom fixtures were crappy and old, and the bathroom tiles had grime between them. There were no amenities in the room when we first checked in, so we had to ask for them, and once they were brought, we might as well have gone to the drugstore and bought decent shampoo and soap, because these were also poor quality. The bedspread, comforter cover and blanket did not appear to have been laundered in a long time. Even though the heater was off, the room was really hot, and there was nothing that we could do about it because there was no thermostat for us to put on the fan or the air conditioner, and only one tiny window that did not open all the way. The pool seemed dirty, and the sunbathing area by the pool also did not look clean, and had only a couple of chairs on fake grass. The workout room was dismal, with only two very old treadmills on the verge of breaking down, and one stairmaster that must have come from the last century, and which obviously didn't work. The floor was very dirty, and there weren't too many other machines/weights to use. I was afraid to run on the treadmill because I thought that my head would likely hit the ceiling, as, again, it was way too short. Breakfast was atrocious-the coffee was undrinkable, the pastries were not fresh and seemed microwaved and factory-made, and they offered a very poor selection of meats/cheeses and cereals. After seeing the buffet the first morning, we ended up skipping it for the rest of our stay and going to Mamuschka for lovely pastries and delicious coffee. The staff wasn't very friendly, and minimally helpful. Stay somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear guest, we´re really sorry your stay at our hotel was so dissapointing. Many of the things you mention come to us as a surprise, and we're alerady looking into them to find out what went wrong. We truly hope you give us the chance to show you what the standard of service at Panamericano really is in a future visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Panamericano Bariloche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Beds had old mattresses... We're basically just a thin layer of foam. Had a mildew smell and dusty interior. Was only one towel for our 4 occupants. They kept promising to bring them, but took more than 2 hours and several calls and even an attempt to go to the front desk to offer to get it ourselves.

Would like to try to be nice... maybe there is a renovated part of the hotel, but the part we stayed in was from the 60's... run down and old. I am sure it was nice back in its day, but that has long passed. bottom line is that I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience at Panamericano Bariloche. We are truly sorry it didn't meet your expectations. We've taken your comment very seriously and are already working to solve the issues you mention. We do hope to have the chance to host you again and show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Good location to walk around the city. Had dinner in the restaurant and it was average at best. Would likely stay elsewhere if I ever return.

Casino was of no interest to us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Panamericano Bariloche for your stay in our wonderful city. It palsies us to know you liked our rooms and hotel in general. We've taken your comment on the restaurant very seriously and are already working on a solution. We hope to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel was conveniently located in downtown Bariloche. The lobby seating areas and dining room were very nice. The room was small and furnishings underpar. Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to turn around in, shower an antique. However, the staff were among the best I have ever encountered and would cause me to recommend staying at this property. Don't miss sitting in the spa lounge, nice big chaise lounges,-a real treat to relax and sit and read or nap or just look at the lake and mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat46325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Panamericano Bariloche in your visit to our wonderful city. We are Glad you liked our lobby, enjoyed our SPA facilities and were treated warmly by our staff. We hope to find you amongst our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel is a lie. The lobby is very nice and creates an illusion that it is a first class hotel, but when you get to the rooms the illusion is over. Old and decadent.
Things are clean and work fine, but its just not as nice as you would expect from the price you pay.
NO FREE INTERNET is another big let down. Go to any coffee shop or restaurant and use internet there.
The SPA on the other hand is very nice! Free for guests, it has a good sauna and relaxing room. The pool is fine (not as hot as one would like) and is filled with kids so not excellent.
Breakfast is very average. Bread, fruit, ham and cheese.
In the end, I just felt cheated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest, we're sorry some of the facilities at the hotel didn't met your expectations. Do know all your comments have been taken seriously and help us in our constant remmodeling of the hotel. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Can't go wrong staying here. Very well priced for what you get. Great breakfast too!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaBigSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The HOTEL PANAMERICANO is nice, with quite friendly staff. Even though, it's accomodation is too expensive for what it offers (as many prices related with tourism in Argentina). It still needs more specialized staff. The spa is quite nice and the staff is quite competitive for massages, reception desk needs more gentleness with the customers. Great location to walk around the city. No air conditioning. If it gets too hot, you have to open the windows, which is nice but night time can come with noise. It's beautiful view if you have a Nahuel Huapi side of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalenaCosmopolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#11 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
392 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Panamericano Bariloche
Gran Hotel Panamericano Bariloch...
#71 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Bariloche

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 536 70, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALS, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panamericano Bariloche 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Centro Civico and a few steps away from the main shops, from its windows you can contemplate the majestic Nahuel Huapi lake, the mountain slope and Victoria island. A stream runs through the hotel, which guests can see in the lobby stonewall. Wonder at how pure and crystal clear the water springs are that spring from the heart of the mountain. 161 comfortable rooms offer a spectacular view of the surroundings, plus one restaurant, lobby bar, health club with heated swimming pool, solarium, sauna and gym. next to the Tressor Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panamericano Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Panamericano Bariloche San Carlos De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing