We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatlover's heaven”
Review of Alto el Fuego

Alto el Fuego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Abierto de lunes a sabado de 12 a 15 y de 20 a 24. Domingo cerrado
Kensington, MD
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Meatlover's heaven”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I don't always take the reviews at TA as the truth, but those of Alto El Fuego were in agreement with my experience. The menu is very limited: about 5 cuts of beef, 2 cuts of pork, chicken, lamb, trout, and innards (sweetbread, intestine and kidneys), 3 versions of green salads, and empanadas. My wife and I ordered our favorite cuts, sirloin (bife de chorizo) and filet (lomo), a mixed salad, and a bottle of Malbec. The steaks were tender, juicy, and cooked exactly to our request of medium rare. My wife is not much of a meat eater and even she completely enjoyed the filet. The salad was fresh and the Malbec was inexpensive and went well with the steaks. The chimichurri that comes with the bread was excellent. The bill was 400 pesos, which is not bad at all considered what we ordered.

If you like simple (seasoned lightly, no sauce), well prepared steaks, you have to try Alto El Fuego.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,905
    383
    74
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The steak was amazing. Tried both the filet and the bife de chorizo (sirloin). Beautifully cooked and pretty big portion. You must try it it's that simple.

Helpful?
Thank Cforey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Ventured off the beaten path a bit to locate this jewel on the hill. Great food and the best chimichurri I have ever eaten!! Bought some to take with us as well. The old home now restaurant was one the highlights to Bariloche!

My only regret was only eating one meal here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't Think Twice - Best Steak in Argentina!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I waited to write this review until I visited Buenos Aires in order to be able to compare steaks. This was the best steak I had in all of Argentina. It is a little hard to find (it's not right on the street, you have to walk up a little driveway to find it) but well worth it. You must go here if you are in Bariloche. Get there early, by 8pm or so, as it fills up quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacher153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Meat Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We learned about this restaurant on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. It is a small and very popular restaurant so reservations are definitely a good idea. They are closed on Sunday night. We had a reservation for 8:30 and only two other tables were occupied. By the time we left, there was a line out the door!
This is a meat restaurant. Their menu is very limited but everything is cooked to perfection. They offer a variety of steaks, ribs, pork, sweetbreads, kidneys, and sausages. They do have trout as well. They have three salads and French fries. We started with a salad and sweetbreads and then we both had lomo (filet mignon) with French fries. Everything was excellent. The steaks were prepared exactly as we asked for them. The portions are large, very tender and tasty. One of the best steak I have had.
The waiter spoke English and was very patient with us. We had a nice bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon and the entire meal was around $65 U.S. Amazing for that quality of steak.
The only thing I would have liked was some sort of vegetable choice (other than French fries and salad). Grilled vegetables would have been great with the steak. If you like meat, you will not want to miss this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alto el Fuego also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Alto el Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing