We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a well priced center city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
East Meadow, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great value in a well priced center city hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

After leaving Hotel 7 de Febrero we drove around to check out other moderately priced hotels in Bariloche and we were delighted to find that the Carlos V had all the services of a higher priced hotel but not the prices. It is older and less modern but it works- the rooms are clean, the bathrooms have good hot water, the breakfast is good, the staff is helpful, there is good internet access and wifi, and the location is top notch. If you are looking for value in town, I can highly recommend Carlos V. If you are looking for the Bariloche beauty and lake experience, go out on the Llao Llao road to a different place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    253
    94
    15
    7
See reviews for
165
216
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This budget hotel was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very basic (could have used a make-over), but clean. Breakfast was sufficient and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Internet is available, but given the size of the hotel, it wasn't always easy to get onto the one computer available in the lobby.

The location was exceptional. Very close to Civic Square and the main drag (2 blocks away). Recommend trying the Antares Brewery around the corner: Good food and atmosphere, great beer.

Bottom line: Carlos V is good value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2009

A convenient walk to the city centre, office of tourism and avenue Mitre. This hotel is accomodating, the staff is friendly and very helpful. the room was small but clean. Good for the price.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — roo was small
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

When we stayed here we both had bronchitis and needed some TLC. Our room was actually two rooms and two bathrooms, one room and one bathroom of which we never touched. We didn't ask for it (and certainly didn't pay for it), but it was a nice surprise. We loved the old building and the deep bathtub, with bath salts provided. Our room looked out on a lovely rose garden. The corridors are dark as is often the case in old places, but it all seemed fine to us. The breakfast was one of the more meagre on our trip, and the breakfast room was sort of tatty. We found the people at reception to be helpful if not particularly warm. They gave us the directions we needed and were responsive to our needs. The location, close to restaurants, pharmacy, and chocolate shops, was perfect.

  • Liked — Location and big room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Looking for a place in Bariloche and consulted Tripadvisor. Found Carlos V through this and seemed good. Prices much cheaper than other hotels with worse reviews. Overall it is pretty nice place with decent breakfast and comfortable, basic rooms. Our only problem was that on the first night the HUGE radiator in the room was on full power , had no adjustment valve and we were told by reception that it could not be turned off. It was REALLY hot in the room and our only option was to open the window onto a really noisy street. Was pretty much a sleepless night. The next day, we spoke to a friendly girl at the desk who actually could turn down the heat and the next night was perfectly comfortable.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubliner666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Rooms are Spartan, beds are uncomfortable, front desk personnel are illusive at best, and rooms are small. Worst hotel we stayed in during our trip to Patagonia.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The hotel is old and looks older, although clean. Dark hallways and rooms. The elevator is small and loooks a real antique. Staff is far from helpful (as usual in Bariloche). Bathroom also needs a major renovation. Beds are very narrow. Location is good, very close from good restaurants, shops and bus stops. Breakfast is simple, but ok.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laulago, Director Comercial at Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#29 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aldea Andina
Aldea Andina
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche

Property: Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 420 | Rio Negro, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best 3 Stars Hotel in Bariloche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Hotel San Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing