We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Suites Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I´ve been in the hotel for spring vacations. It is nice, warm, and modern hotel.
From the last floors you have incredible view of the Nahuel Huapi Lake. The windows is like a picture.
Nice attention and good location. 5km from civic center.
You have the bus in front of the hotel to go to sky center or downtown but a car is recomended.

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms in the front to get the best lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuriargentina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites. It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to meet to on your next stay!!

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had stayed at the design suite in Salta last year and it was a good hotel so we assumed the same for Barliloche. Not so. We arrived at about 7pm and were duly ignored by the person behind reception while we stood to check in. I had assumed by the cut of him that he was standing in for someone else, as his attire was not what you would expect fro the staff at a hotel. We got checked in and were taken to our room and the first thing we noticed was how grotty the place was all the common areas were covered with dust. Now i know the volcano in Chile was causing problems but the place was filthy and there really is no excuse for that, and by the way the dust cloud had finished weeks before we arrived, so pure laziness i'm afraid.
The room we has was large, but i noticed a smell of what seemed like cat wee. We mentioned it to the guy on reception but by his reaction or lack there of i figured he would do nothing about it and of course we are right. The smell was coming from the shower room and was basically due to lack of cleaning...i feel a theme emerging here! Balcony was filthy too with a big rusty nail sitting on it obviously still sitting there from construction. I plugged in my phone in to charge it and when i unplugged it the socket came away from the wall.
Bed was comfortable but the room was overwhelmingly hot, AC did not seem to work.
Breakfast was staff by a bunch of slackers and we had to clear a table ourselves and ask for the flask of hot water to be refilled - nobody was checking on produce etc.
Glad we only booked for one night. What a dump!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience at our hotel.Your feedback is very important to us, and your experience is definitely a great opportunity for us!

Please receive my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We try to assure you receive the best but we obviously failed in this occasion. We will double check our procedures to verify what caused this failure and assure it does not repeat.

We are really sorry for the mentioned disadvantages you have a bad impression of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Design Suites Bariloche Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This place is so beautiful! Rooms are more like apartments with a very modern design and furnishings. For those of us who go to Argentina with US currency, it is a ridiculously cheap place (about $100 for suite overlooking lake w huge jacuzzi). Staff was really nice and accommodating. The only thing, is the restaurant was pricey, but there are many, many great places a short taxi ride away. I highly recommend!!!
Bariloche is mostly a Ski town, but we went in April ( beginning of the Fall) it was perfect weather, no crowds and lots to do.
Visit Llao Llao Hotel for drinks or dinner. Go on a 7 Lakes tour; fantastic! Also, Victoria Island is nice and, supposedly, Disney's inspiration for Bambi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaniQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Due to the Chilean volcano we had to fly to Neuquen and take a 6hr bus trip to Bariloche, with the prospect of 6 hours on the return five days later. It was well worth it, both for the experience of Argentina's lake area and for the stay at Design Suites; and the added bonus of the airport opening again the day before our departure to BA. The hotel is cleverly designed and, although it is slightly demode now, it was clean, beautifully appointed and well maintained by the staff. Both the junior and main suites are spacious and comfortable, have great views, and are close to the main service area; the walk or bus/taxi trip into town is easy and guests can request a lift in the hotel's minibus. We were very well treated by the reception staff, who were helpful, good-humoured and generous at all times; perhaps we were lucky that they were not overworked due to the problems with travel around that time. En todo caso, GRACIAS, senores, por su amabilidad y por sus consejos.

Room Tip: Corner suites are ideal; use the beatiful swimming pool and relaxation area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is such a find. Waking up everyday with a breathtaking view of the Nahuel Huapi lake is something that would be listed in any traveller's memoir. There is also a cool architecture, modern decoration with the cozy touch of wood and amenities like heated swimming pool with a lake view that you can't miss. And hey, price was good too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergi0_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites.
It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to meet to on your next stay!!

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Overall the hotel wasnt bad. The rooms are really comfortable. We slept very well during our stay. The pictures on the website look great, but the place is a little tired looking once you arrive. In the common areas they use a really strong smelling cleaner, which is used in cheap motels in Chile and smells similar to air freshners used in bus lavatories. Don´t pay the prices advertised on the website it´s not worth it, it´s hard for me to see how the hotel can charge those rates for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us, and your experience is definitely a great opportunity for us!

For this reason, all the suggestions received help us make the necessary adjustements

I hope to meet you again shortly and hopefully receive only Positives next time!!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

In December 2011 we were in a group of 30 people visiting Argentina. We stayed in all 4 Design Suites properties and had inferior experiences in all of them. Our group had 16 rooms for 14 nights + as some people arrived early and others extended their stays. Without exception the staffs were not helpful and never did anything to show they appreciated our business. The Bariloche hotel is only good if you have a car. We did not. The hotel is located out of town with no sidewalks. It is not too far to town but our guide cautioned us not to attempt walking because the road is very dangerous.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Portymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We want to express our most sincere apologies for the mentioned disadvantages and regret that you have a bad impression of our hotel.
I hope to meet you again shortly and hopefully receive only Positives next time!!!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.9 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#3 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,021 reviews
11.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
623 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £85 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing