We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best views from great jacuzzi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Suites Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We spent 4 weeks in South America, over christmas and new year. We stayed here for three nights and in the Yao Yao for three nights. We had a great room with a stunning view over the lake and a fun jacuzzi from which we also had stunning views. The service/food is not amazing but the views really are, even from the infinity pool which is not huge but adequate for a quick swim to cool down. Worth staying for the view from the jacuzzi and the room!

Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
Thank welltravelled18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

The room was amazing with the best view from the lake, good space and nice acomodations. However just that does not make a good hotel. The service was horrible, also the food. As the rest of the hotel the food seems to be done just to watch, very nice plate well arranged, but the taste, forget it. You will need almost all the lake to drink because of the salt on the salad. In the breakfast the "supposed" hot milk was allways cold also not a good variety of food for a 220 USD rate. About the construction, yes there is a construction behind the last building which you have to walk a considerate distance uphill on the cold weather (in my case I was in the winter). The noise was not bothering me but I was not feeling confortable and safe to know that could be some guy waiting me and my wife to arrive or leave the room once the stairs were outside and open in a place that would be very easy to someone be hided there. When we asked to see other rooms and tried to move there was no help at all from the desk manager. The car we asked the hotel`s office to rent for us, came with a smell that was really not standable and this king of service seemed to be normal from the guys of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NestorSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We travelled from Mexico for my dad´s birthday. My brother and sister travelled also from Buenos Aires and we all met at Bariloche. We made the reservation long time before asking our rooms to be near, asking if they had a good restaurant, a good view to the lake and a personalized service. They promised us everything. And nothing was like that: the food was not very good and really the most expensive in the whole country!!! Our rooms were not even near, and the staff was correct but you couldn´t expect anything more than "correct". After a couple of days we decided to move to another hotel, always not in the centre cause the centre is just for enjoying a walk starting at "civic centre" and walking down Mitre st. for only 3 blocks. We found an excellent hotel 4.5 miles from the centre also in front of the lake, but with everything really great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toniogarcianavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Have to say I liked this hotel, unlike other reviewers we had a good experience with the front desk which was nice. Unfortunately there are a few draw backs, mainly that the rooms and main functions are in seperate buildings so a little awkward. Also, we sent stuff out to be express pressed and had to ring several times before we went out to get our clothes. On the up side the room we had was amazing, very spacious and had jacuzzi and balcony. One word of warning, they are doing construction work, not sure if the noise is a problem though because we were there at a weekend and the workers werent there. I would recommend this hotel however for the views and the rooms alone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grogalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Beautiful hotel and the bedroom looked amazing. However, it did not deliver! Staff were not great. We were there in December (summer), and it was so hot in the room. I complained to reception that the air conditioner did not appear to be working and I was told that there was no air conditioner. It was incredible. They have heated floors in the bathroom, so this only increased the heat in the back of the room.
Also it's 2.5 km out of town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ri_ra_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at the Design Suites for only 2 nights, and wished we had been able to extend our stay. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite. The room was very spacious, clean, and well appointed. It was rather warm inside, and we had some dificulty opening a window to get fresh air. The staff was generally quite helpful, except that we wanted to have a drink at a nice table in the restaurant but were told tables were reserved for diners, even though it was not very crowded.

There are wonderful views from the hotel, and it was really nice to be a bit outside town. The hotel runs a shuttle into Bariloche several times a day. It is also very easy to take the bus (it stops at the bottom of the driveway), and taxis are not overly expensive. Should have stayed an extra day or two and rented a car to drive around, but instead we took two days crossing the Andes back into Chile, which was not all that great.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdevore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

This modern, artistically designed property has bright rooms with lake and mountain views. Their three guest buildings march up a steep hillside (and we puffed up it ourselves to the top one) with a fourth under construction right next to ours. Noise was not an issue, though - at least not from construction, though occasionally we could hear the roar of the jacuzzi in the corner room above ours.

But then we had our own jacuzzi, and It's a nice luxury, probably even more so in ski season. Its location in the corner buys view at the expense of a bit of privacy, so one might want to be careful and use the large, fluffy bathrobes provided.

The staff was friendly and helpful, all with some English and most pretty good at it. The dining room is conveniently open all day, which was helpful since we were just acclimating to South American dining times. The menu is inventive although not extensive.

The location is a fairly long hike into town, so we used taxis and remises, which were readily available and reasonably priced at ten to twelve pesos. We felt the town was readily accessible.

Our only disappointment was the breakfast schedule, inexplicably just too late to eat and still make our sailing on the lake crossing to Chile. We don't understand why they can't accommodate what must be a good number of guests who take this route. So we left on a poor note.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.9 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,059 reviews
11.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf ...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
632 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
929 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#24 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £54 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing