We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Suites Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

My fiance loves to stay at off the radar places and this is definitely one of the best finds. We have traveled to a lot of different places (Copenhagen, Banff, Berlin, Sydney) and this hotel alone made me want to go back to Argentina! It is a beautiful modern design with a spa in the front of the room that over looks the mountains. I'm not sure if i really need to say any more? The included breakfast was nice, nothing special to note, but still tasty. It's a bit out of the city, but we could either easily get there by cab or one night we walked. We are big hikers/runners, so to us it wasn't too far, but there isn't really a side walk to walk on, so be aware. It very much has the feel of a cozy apartment. Absolutely loved it.

Also to note, they have a person in the main lobby that can help set up daily excursions. We found them very helpful and reliable for accurate information.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    426
    117
    54
    37
See reviews for
252
687
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We just stayed at the Design Suites in Bariloche for two nights. The guest rooms were really nice but there is absolutely no noise reduction. We had neighbors on either side who turned on their heating and boiled our room. We opened the window and could not sleep because of the noise in the whole area. The TVs were really old and the sound was awful - reverberating from neighbor guest rooms. The rest of the hotel was nice. We had the most fantastic waitress - Paola. She really knew how to take care of her clients. Also, the staff was efficient in dealing with our requests especially the bell boy. It is a pitty that the builders did not think of noise insulation. It really killed our trip as we did not sleep for two nights. Will never stay there again nor will I recommend it. We even asked 3 times for a quiet room - when we reserved it, when we confirmed it and when we arrived. We were moved on our second night to a new room, still the same problem with the noise. We could hear our neighbors perfectly well. Definitely not a 4 star hotel as they claim - maybe a 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThraxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

My wife and I made a side trip to Bariloche and made reservations for Design Suites online. We were most pleased with the friendliness of the folks at the desk when we checked in. I had requested a room with a view of the lake and we got just what I requested. We were in the top floor of the 3rd building, with a spa in a lovely room. We had a great view of Lago Nuel Huappi. We were extremely lucky on the weather, it being rather blustery the Sunday we checked in. Monday was clear as could be and calm. Tuesday also beautiful.
The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were happy with everything. The restaurant was better than average, if not a tad expensive. We never got to the pool(s) but they were quite inviting. There was just too much to see and do in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Bariloche. Though a bit out of town (2.5 Km), it wasn't all that far on the shuttle or local bus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winedude49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed here for two nights on honeymoon. Its located 2.5 km approx from town but its only about 15peso in a taxi. The hotel run two shuttle buses into town at 12 and 7pm. From what I saw of town I was happy to be a little bit out. The town of St Martin de los Andes seemed to be more attractive than Bariloche we found. We had a great room - junior suite room 1102. It had a view of the lake. Large jacuzzi in the room with the lake in view. Huge bedroom. Robes and slippers provided. TV and stereo. The staff were ok, not the friendliest we encountered on holiday. They did recommend a restaurant which was fantastic though in Bariloche (I Latina) beside the cathedral. Its worth a visit and was one of the best meals I had on hols. The food in the hotel was poor. Breakfast was average. Dinner was poor the night we ate there. Just tasteless and best avoided. The hotel restaurant does have great views overlooking the lake. There was a great little gym in the hotel - 2 treadmills, few bikes, weights - which we used and a swimming pool which was an infinity pool. There is a sauna too. We went to Villa Cathedral for half a day and got the chair lift to the top of Cerro Cathedral. Lunch at Refugio Lynch on a day with clear blue skies and 360 panoramic views was one of the highlights of our 3week trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtwofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Great room with view of lake, spend the extra $10 for the in room spa. Hotel is out of town but they have shuttle. Ate at their restuarant and that was good to.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDukeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

My husband and I decided to stay at Design Suites for our wedding anniversary. We reserved a suite with´'lake view' sadly our lake view consisted of looking over the carpark and the main building. We could barely see the lake and would say that the suite definitely had a partial lake view - it took the edge of the romantic hot tub that we took. We were very dissapointed considering the cost of accomodation and the description given on the website.The room felt a bit dated in style and I think that there are places that you could spend the equivilent and get much more. The wireless connection was also terrible.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevonbibras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

The hotel is run by a guy who looks like he's younger than 30 and runs it though it were a frat house. The hotel agreed to watch our luggage while we went on an overnight trek and when we returned our iPods were stolen. The "teenage" manager did nothing about it and although he gave me the email address of the CEO of the company and his own, neither responded to an email I sent explaining how the hotel was liable for the theft. The place is at best mediocre. The lobby looks like some redone mess hall from summer camp and it's dirty. The only good thing about it is the massage therapist who did a wonderful job. Don't waste your time or money - this place is way overrated!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jacksonFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.9 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
11.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#28 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
9.1 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Property: Design Suites Bariloche
Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing