We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you feel home even though away from home.”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Piet and I spent the first 2 nights of our stay in Bariloche, at the Estancia Peuma Hue. Now, I wished we stayed all of our time there, as Bariloche was the end of our trip and where we planned to take it easy and relax before going back home. Peuma Hue is just the perfect place for that, as the Estancia run by it's owner and wonderful staff, added to the beauty of the place and nature itself is just the place to recover energy and feel free and happy. There's nothing negative I can say about Peuma Hue, accommodation, meals, surroundings, activities, personalized attention, all in one very special place. It is a bit far from the city (around 30 Km), but to me it did not matter. As far as I am concerned, I would have spent the whole week there without going to the city once. But then, I love nature and being away from the city. For those who love that, it is the perfect place.

Room Tip: All accommodations are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

My friend took me to this place as a surprise for my birthday. I didn't know what to expect, but it was way beyond I could ever imagine! We were picked up by Gwen, she and her husband Nico run the Estancia. This already felt like coming home, such a warm welcome. She took us to Peuma Hue by car as we passed by the beautiful nature Peuma Hue is surrounded with. I also noticed that I was able to breath easier, reason is the air that's apparently so clean that it's full of oxygen. When we arrived at the Estancia we were welcomed by the staff. We had a marvelous wooden cabin, cosy, clean and comfortable. The food was superb, with their own biological garden. Great wines and a magnificient view over the lake and the garden. We went horsebackriding with the Cauchos and we were trained by Chris, the woman who runs the stable. We eat different fruits right out of the trees. Drunk the clear water out of the rivers and recovered from stress and the busy European lifestyle. After a week we were at easy and felt like we found heaven on earth. Thanks guys, we definitely come back!! By the way, never slept this good and quiet underneath so many bright stars.

Room Tip: Both the rooms and the cabin's are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The setting is amazing and the quality is generally of a very high level.

The main highlights were: the lakeside setting, the two dogs that accompanied us on our treks, our horseback riding with Chris, kayaking and dinner at Cassis (definitely worth the money - our best meal in Argentina).

The main thing which stopped us giving 5 star was the feeling of being slightly nickled and dimed (to coin a US phrase). I have no problem with spending significant sums of money, but felt that this place was a bit penny wise but pound foolish (to use an English phrase). The total price wasn't bad at all, but they seemed to charge for extras which you would not expect at a top hotel (such as light lunch on our day of departure which we hadn't asked for).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After several days in Buenos Aires we were ready for some quiet. Puema Hue clearly fit the bill. Located some distance from the town of Bariloche, the hotel, on some 500 acres, is bordered by the national park on one side and a campground on another. There are pristine lake views, and you are surrounded by the Andes. Night is as quiet as if you were camping.

There are several houses you can stay in: we stayed in the one near the horse stables. The horses would be hanging out right by the house when you left for dinner! (and don't worry, they were quite pleasant). Many rooms have views of the lake. The hiking is good, and horseback riding and kayaking are included. There is one choice for dinner and lunch, but they are accommodating if you tell them in advance about any dietary concerns.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idbinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Peuma Hue might be the most magical place I've ever visited. The setting is sublime, on the edge of a crystal clear lake with mountains all around. The lodgings and buildings are beautifully designed, to take full advantage of the spectacular views and provide iuxurious indoor spaces,too.

The Puema Hue 'staff" includes animals. A stable of gentle, well-cared for horses and a pair of Golden Retriever guide dogs who go off with guests on hikes and lead you home.

The activities are wonderful...when you get there, you will be presented with a range of suggestions and your schedule is created. Not like a work schedule, but a play schedule. Shall we kayak after lunch, or horseback ride after breakfast or hike before dinner.
Meals are also a highlight at Peuma Hue, with the food as wonderful as the company, getting to know Evelyn and Reuben, and fellow guests Rachel and Phil. By the end of our all-too-short stay, we felt we had made 4 new friends.
If you are considering a visit to Peuma Hue, do not hesitate. it is a magical place, and you will have a magical time .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Everything that you read in the reviews below is true. The setting is magical and the activities on offer if you love the outdoors are unbeatable. Food is excellent and served by charming staff. Treat yourselves to a stay at Peuma Hue as part of your trip to Argentina and you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bean5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Hotelier and Owner Evelyn's vision of a perfect vacation experience has become a wonderful reality in a truly remarkable part of Patagonia. Peuma Hue Estancia is a paradise for many reasons, foremostly because of its incredible location on beautiful glacier Lake Gutierez which is bordered by magnificent mountains and incredible views. The breathtaking scenery is sufficient to awaken an overt or latent pantheism, and the surest way to find nirvana. But the personal care and friendly interaction of the entire staff virtually insure that each guest has an incredible experience. The horseback riding adventures here are incredible, and Christiana will make sure that the horse she selects for you will be just perfect. She not only matches the person to the horse but will make changes to suit your needs; she is extraordinarily competent with the horses but is a good people person, too. She does everything for the horses including being personal farrier, vet and trainer in addition to feeding and caring for each one. The horses at Peuma Hue are among the best I have ever found in a resort; they are as varied as the people who ride them. A novice will feel comfortable and safe. But for the skilled rider, the Peuma Hue experience is unparalleled. I felt that the horses I rode matched the spirit and training of any horse I have owned. That is a remarkable fact and difficult to achieve. Be sure to allow enough time (We stayed 10 days) to experience all the area has to offer, including a magnificent white water rafting trip to the Chilean border.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangofrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,640 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,255 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#10 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
423 reviews
9.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
10.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £246 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing