We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos don't do it justice”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Estancia Peuma Hue is a luxury camp that strives for comfort and fun in the midst of gorgeous scenery. The simplicity of the comfy rooms is overshadowed by million-dollar views. Where else can you see rough, rocky mountains plummeting to a crystal clear lake while a friendly horse ambles up to your door? The restrained decor accentuates the drama of the outdoors. Considering the remoteness of the estancia, I marvel at the offerings of food/wine and activities. Everything from breakfast croissants to bedside candies are made in-house. Horseback riding, hiking, birding, and rafting are part of the entertainment. We felt as if we were in a private house-party with French, British, and Argentinian guests.
If you are looking for town access and nightlife, Peuma Hue is not your place. It is a ranch, not a resort. If you want a complete break from routine and hustle-bustle, with every outdoor activity imaginable for beginners and experts, I can think of no place better.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the main lodge are largest and brightest. We stayed in a cabin 100 yards from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Holly and Bob,
It was such a pleasure to meet you! Thank you very much for such a lovely review, we really enjoyed to have you and your friends lodged with us and we hope to see you back.
Big hugs to the Fosters, Johnsons and Loves from all the team in Peuma Hue, and thank you again!


Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had 4 nights here and could not have enjoyed it more.The location is fabulous on the lake with stunning views. it really is a magical spot
We had a fantastic group of fellow guests and had really enjoyable evenings.
We rode and hiked ...all superb.
Nothing is too much trouble to organise and the staff are incredible.
we would not hesitate in recommending it and cannot wait to return

Superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house which was super but if travelling with more than 2 would opt for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Lucy,
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad to see you enjoyed yourself with us and, as always, we hope that it repeats :) Hugs to you and John from this green little corner of Patagonia!

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It would be difficult to get a warmer welcome anywhere in the world. Jessie and Louis welcome you with open arms and you feel like part of the family straightaway. It is an experience like no other. It's not really like an hotel at all - it's like staying in someone's country house. All guests eat together and form a kind of team. It's also all inclusive so no need for cash at all. Great food and excellent wines are served at both lunch and dinner. It you want trekking, horseback riding, kayaking or just being taken round the lake by the fabulous Ronnie, you could not be happier. And Martina in the dining room is just delightful. The Estancia is set by the second largest lake in the Patagonian Lake District, which is just gorgeous. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house, which was great. Others were in separate cabins, which they loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Paul,Thank you so much for your words,its been a pleasure to have you and ivan staying with us in our dream place,i am glad that you enjoyed your stay ,i wish you a great trip to galapagos and i hope to see you back soon

Regards

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at the estancia this past February. The location is really quite beautiful. The estancia is right on the lake with views of the mountains in the distance. The beach was readily accessible and the views from our room (Los Lenos in Radal House) were lovely. The estancia is quite far from the center of town but taxis can easily be called.

Each evening, we would sit in the main house and determine what our activities would be the next day. We did a number of hikes as well as horseback rides. The hikes were varied depending on difficulty level and were relatively easy to follow on the map which was provided. Also, it was possible to go on the hikes with one or more of the many dogs on site. One the main attractions for us was the animals which ended up being 11 horses, 3 border collies, 4 golden retrievers and at least 5 cats excluding new born kittens. What we really liked was how the animals were, for the most part, allowed to roam the grounds. The Radal House is near the stables so quite often during our stay, we had horses right outside our door.

The horseback riding was awesome. Chris, the “horse whisperer”, was very knowledgeable and really tailored the rides to each rider.

The staff (Jessie, Carina, Luz, Ronald, Chris) was really friendly and welcoming.

The one big complaint we had were the meals. We chose the full board option because we were not renting a car and because of all of the rave reviews about the food. The breakfasts were fine---pastries, toast, fruit, cereal, ham, cheese and eggs made to order. We were, however, very disappointed with the lunches and dinners for the most part, both the dishes themselves and the small portions. The menus are set with no choices. Throughout our stay, we did not have beef once! We were expecting to have steak at least a couple of times if not more. The dishes that were the biggest disappointments were boiled bacalao with lemon zest on top at lunch and the mashed potatoes that accompanied our pork chops for dinner one night which had no discernable butter, cream, salt or pepper. The portions were very small, especially the appetizers. Our second day, we asked for another portion of the entree and were told there was no more. Our last night, after entreaties that we needed more food, the staff did very kindly make us a grilled chicken breast in addition to our dinner entrée of trout (it appears they never have extra portions of the set meal!).

One other note is that there are many many very noisy birds (may be more prevalent for the Radal House bec). They are quite lovely and varied but can impact the quality of sleep.

We generally enjoyed our stay there but the food was a bit of a disappointment, especially given the cost of the full board versus bed and breakfast option.

Room Tip: We had Los Lenos in the Radal House. It provided a nice view of the lake and has a fireplace but ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your words,we are very happy that you had a good time with us, we really appreciate your comments and suggestions about our food to improve,we hope to see you back

Regards

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Let me start out by saying the location is spectacular—peaceful, isolated, shimmering. The staff are extremely caring and even under the duress of the owner’s sudden illness still were welcoming and warm
The food however is very limited and extraordinarily expensive for what they offer.
And that is the principal limitation of Puema Hue—the expense. The rooms, are nice though becoming somewhat thread worn and not cheap of themselves. But when you add on the almost obligatory $200 per person daily full board the cost becomes unacceptable. $400 / couple additional for 2 meals plus cocktails and the included activities of kayaking or horseback riding seems unreasonable, especially if you do not partake in those activities. If you do not do full board, they offer the bed and breakfast option and you can add on meals or activities on an a la carte menu. However the a la carte prices are unreasonable. $70/per person for a 3 course dinner with no options. $50 per person lunches. $130 to use the sauna and $70 to use the kayaks—options both that usually come gratis with a stay. These prices are all in US dollars, so there is no ability to take advantage of the favorable exchange rate. In contrast, we were able to have a wonderful 7 course tasting menu at one of the nicest restaurants in Bariloche, Cassis. for $50/per person. With no option meals and just passable food, the meal plan is just not worth the cost.

In addition, to maybe nitpick, there are some items that just are missed. No tissues and no wastebasket in the rooms. More important, in this gorgeous lakefront property on the beach, there is virtually no outdoor seating. You can drag a sling chair out of storage by yourself and replace it. But there is no seating on the beach or on the decks in the main house or on the patios. And there is no ability to eat or use a table outside. All in all, despite its setting and the wonderful owners and staff, I would not recommend this spot without some fundamental changes in the way they operate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for the time you took to place a review. We really appreciate all types of responses in order to improve our services.
We definitely will change the chairs outside. We are currently looking into purchasing more options of outdoor sitting as we were told you recommended chairs more comfortable for reading. I am also sorry that you must have missed the log table and stump seats we have available for picnics outside in the bay. That is a great private sitting area with a great lake view. I know we tried to accommodate you as much as we could with the prices, by offering the alternatives such as a picnic lunch and helping arrange the rental car to get the most of your stay in Bariloche. We also are currently in the process of renovating our rooms for the next season. Thank you again for all your suggestions and we want you to know we take all comments seriously.

Kind regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved our time there, feeling part of the Peuma Hue family. Genuinely warm, attentive staff plus good nutritious food. Our bedrooms/bathrooms in the main house were a bit tired and could definitely do with a little TLC. (Definitely throw out the frayed bath mat!) Despite this they are charming, but don't expect modern - that isn't what this place is about.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafielinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review! Just so that you know, the bath mat is out of the estancia and replaced with a brand new one! We really take all comments to heart and are constantly trying to improve wherever we can. Also, we are currently purchasing all elements to upgrade our rooms so they don't seem so tired. With all that aside, I am so happy that you enjoyed all other aspects during your vacation. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the moment we pulled into Estancia Peuma Hue we felt at home. The views are amazing, the staff bends over backward to make you comfortable and the rooms feel better than home. We had read the reviews and really couldn't imagine a place living up to the hype- and yet, this Estancia did it! Our family of 4 spent 4 lovely nights and could have stayed a month. The food was delicious and the staff made special accommodations for our 8 year old twins who haven't quite developed a palate for the high caliber cuisine on offer. Our host Jessie was knowledgeable, fun and very helpful. We like to be on our own and she provided just the right amount of guidance- giving us maps for hikes and tips on activities. The grounds of the Estancia were gorgeous- there was so much space to enjoy and the animals were a highlight for all of us, but especially the kids. We had company on all of our hikes- Alpha, Gandhi, Nell, Cocoa and a resident kitty cat that we couldn't convince to turn back while on one of our treks. The picnic lunches were generous and had special touches that really impressed us. We stayed in the Radal House and LOVED having our own kitchen and living room area (and the view was fantastic). We will absolutely return the next time we are in Bariloche- there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hello Scott,
Thank you for such an amazing review! I really enjoyed getting to know you and your family. You all had such enthusiasm it was easy to send you in the right direction. The dogs always love to accompany our guests around the estancia but I do have to say that Cocoa has developed into a great guide dog since you were here (of course, I'm biased!) Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and choosing Peuma as your vacation spot. We all really appreciate it and would love to host you again.
Warmest regards,
Jessie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,640 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,256 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#10 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
423 reviews
9.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
10.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £246 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing