We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Peuma Hue!”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a fantastic 3 day stay at this idyllic estancia on the outskirts of Bariloche in Feb 2014.

The estancia is 30 mins drive from town is situated on the lakeside amid forested hills and mountains. The surrounding scenery is stunning and the estancia is a good base for exploring on foot or horseback.

Our room was in the charming log cabin style main building and was very comfortable and well appointed. The food was varied and excellent and accompanied by excellent local wines. Our stay was made particularly memorable by the generous hospitality and friendliness of everyone particularly Evelyn and Ruben. On the day of our departure our flight was cancelled at short notice and Evelyn worked tirelessly to ensure we were on the next flight whilst she distracted us with a perfect lunch.

Thanks to everyone at this fantastic place we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Brenda_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Richard
Thank you so much for your words ,it s been a pleasure for all of us share our special place with you.We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Estancia Peuma Hue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Estancia Peuma Hue for 4 nights in February 2014 and loved it. Thanks Tessa from Imagine Latin America who recommended it.
The setting is stunning - wooden buildings by a beautiful, sparkling, peaceful lake surrounded by incredible mountains. The staff are wonderful +++++ and by staff I mean human and animal.(dogs, cats, kittens under the lavender bush & horses)
The food is excellent.
We were on the bed & breakfast basis as the main activity we wanted was trail walking but we did opt for the picnic lunches & evening meals. The picnic lunches were so substantial that we had one between the two of us. The evening meals, yes were expensive, however it was not just a meal but a whole evening experience watching the sunset, getting to know & share travellers tales with fellow guests over pre dinner drinks & nibbles followed by a good meal with plenty of excellent wine.
We had the Master Suite which was really lovely ( including the bottle of champagne which awaited us to celebrate my husbands birthday) The large king size bed was a little hard for my more mature bones - a down mattress topper was provided as soon as I mentioned this - problem solved. The view from the room was breathtaking & we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony reading or some days having our picnic lunch. There was oodles of hanging & drawer space & lots of areas to put bits and pieces.
The bathroom had a big double jacuzzi with shower over it. I found this a bit tricky to get in & out of to have a shower. The water pressure also varied & when low it was a bit difficult to stand close enough to the shower to get a good soaking.
We walked on the Estancia trails which were fabulous especially the day we were joined by the Estancia dogs - 4 lovely golden retrievers who made very good guides along the narrow sometimes a bit indistinct paths. What a memorable, fabulous morning that was .
We had hired a car but hardly used it much preferring to enjoy the fantastic scenery around us and wished we had just used the airport transfer. We did venture into Bariloche one morning but were not impressed & found it rather rundown, full of chocolate shops & very touristy.

In summary we found Estancia Peuma Hue a really magical place to stay - the combination of the stunning scenery, the ambience of the house, the warm friendliness of the staff, the animals - PERFECT

Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Ann and Derek,
Wow, what a lovely review, we are speechless! Thank yo so much for telling us about your experience, we are very very glad to reach what we aim for: to make our guests happy!
As we told you before, we definitely hope to see you back with us!
Hugs from all the team of Peuma Hue, included Alpha, Ghandi, Tara and Nell,


Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is approx 30 mins drive from the airport, but really easy to find with the provided directions, even at night. We arrived quite late (about 9pm) and received a really warm welcome and a fantastic supper. Consequently, as it was dark we didn't get to appreciate the view from our room until the morning - sunrise across a beautiful lake.
We had selected the all inclusive option, which I would highly recommend as it allows you to just relax and pick & choose what you do (or don't) take part in. All meals and most activities were included - so we took advantage of hiking, kayaking and riding. I was particularly impressed with the riding as they coped ably with all abilities and everyone was felt looked after. Food is a fixed menu, but can easily be tailored to cater for dietary needs and the inclusive wine is very good and free flowing. Although the dining room gives a communal feel, its very easy to dine just in your group if you would prefer that. Free wifi.
There are 5star options in this area, which would probably offer more luxury, but I loved this place as the staff are truly passionate about the concept and area, plus it really allows you to get an Estancia feel.
I am someone who tolerates rather than loves cats and dogs. Reading some of the reviews on here may make you feel this is a menagerie - it isn't. The animals are outside only, very well behaved and will leave you alone if you prefer, so don't let it put you off.
I'd highly recommend this place. After just 3 nights I felt like I had completely relaxed.

Room Tip: The house is a good option (upstairs better views). Some of the houses are a bit of a trek from the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We love to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay, that's what we aim for :) We hope to see you back with us for some more relaxing times.

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Estancia Peuma Hue is a luxury camp that strives for comfort and fun in the midst of gorgeous scenery. The simplicity of the comfy rooms is overshadowed by million-dollar views. Where else can you see rough, rocky mountains plummeting to a crystal clear lake while a friendly horse ambles up to your door? The restrained decor accentuates the drama of the outdoors. Considering the remoteness of the estancia, I marvel at the offerings of food/wine and activities. Everything from breakfast croissants to bedside candies are made in-house. Horseback riding, hiking, birding, and rafting are part of the entertainment. We felt as if we were in a private house-party with French, British, and Argentinian guests.
If you are looking for town access and nightlife, Peuma Hue is not your place. It is a ranch, not a resort. If you want a complete break from routine and hustle-bustle, with every outdoor activity imaginable for beginners and experts, I can think of no place better.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the main lodge are largest and brightest. We stayed in a cabin 100 yards from the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Holly and Bob,
It was such a pleasure to meet you! Thank you very much for such a lovely review, we really enjoyed to have you and your friends lodged with us and we hope to see you back.
Big hugs to the Fosters, Johnsons and Loves from all the team in Peuma Hue, and thank you again!


Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had 4 nights here and could not have enjoyed it more.The location is fabulous on the lake with stunning views. it really is a magical spot
We had a fantastic group of fellow guests and had really enjoyable evenings.
We rode and hiked ...all superb.
Nothing is too much trouble to organise and the staff are incredible.
we would not hesitate in recommending it and cannot wait to return

Superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house which was super but if travelling with more than 2 would opt for one of...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Lucy,
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad to see you enjoyed yourself with us and, as always, we hope that it repeats :) Hugs to you and John from this green little corner of Patagonia!

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It would be difficult to get a warmer welcome anywhere in the world. Jessie and Louis welcome you with open arms and you feel like part of the family straightaway. It is an experience like no other. It's not really like an hotel at all - it's like staying in someone's country house. All guests eat together and form a kind of team. It's also all inclusive so no need for cash at all. Great food and excellent wines are served at both lunch and dinner. It you want trekking, horseback riding, kayaking or just being taken round the lake by the fabulous Ronnie, you could not be happier. And Martina in the dining room is just delightful. The Estancia is set by the second largest lake in the Patagonian Lake District, which is just gorgeous. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house, which was great. Others were in separate cabins, which they loved.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Paul,Thank you so much for your words,its been a pleasure to have you and ivan staying with us in our dream place,i am glad that you enjoyed your stay ,i wish you a great trip to galapagos and i hope to see you back soon

Regards

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at the estancia this past February. The location is really quite beautiful. The estancia is right on the lake with views of the mountains in the distance. The beach was readily accessible and the views from our room (Los Lenos in Radal House) were lovely. The estancia is quite far from the center of town but taxis can easily be called.

Each evening, we would sit in the main house and determine what our activities would be the next day. We did a number of hikes as well as horseback rides. The hikes were varied depending on difficulty level and were relatively easy to follow on the map which was provided. Also, it was possible to go on the hikes with one or more of the many dogs on site. One the main attractions for us was the animals which ended up being 11 horses, 3 border collies, 4 golden retrievers and at least 5 cats excluding new born kittens. What we really liked was how the animals were, for the most part, allowed to roam the grounds. The Radal House is near the stables so quite often during our stay, we had horses right outside our door.

The horseback riding was awesome. Chris, the “horse whisperer”, was very knowledgeable and really tailored the rides to each rider.

The staff (Jessie, Carina, Luz, Ronald, Chris) was really friendly and welcoming.

The one big complaint we had were the meals. We chose the full board option because we were not renting a car and because of all of the rave reviews about the food. The breakfasts were fine---pastries, toast, fruit, cereal, ham, cheese and eggs made to order. We were, however, very disappointed with the lunches and dinners for the most part, both the dishes themselves and the small portions. The menus are set with no choices. Throughout our stay, we did not have beef once! We were expecting to have steak at least a couple of times if not more. The dishes that were the biggest disappointments were boiled bacalao with lemon zest on top at lunch and the mashed potatoes that accompanied our pork chops for dinner one night which had no discernable butter, cream, salt or pepper. The portions were very small, especially the appetizers. Our second day, we asked for another portion of the entree and were told there was no more. Our last night, after entreaties that we needed more food, the staff did very kindly make us a grilled chicken breast in addition to our dinner entrée of trout (it appears they never have extra portions of the set meal!).

One other note is that there are many many very noisy birds (may be more prevalent for the Radal House bec). They are quite lovely and varied but can impact the quality of sleep.

We generally enjoyed our stay there but the food was a bit of a disappointment, especially given the cost of the full board versus bed and breakfast option.

Room Tip: We had Los Lenos in the Radal House. It provided a nice view of the lake and has a fireplace but ca...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your words,we are very happy that you had a good time with us, we really appreciate your comments and suggestions about our food to improve,we hope to see you back

Regards

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,204 reviews
9.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,589 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
994 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
248 reviews
10.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £204 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing