We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost amazing (except for the hospitality)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost amazing (except for the hospitality)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

I was recently at Peuma Hue and while I found the location, lodging and food wonderful, the hospitality was not totally up to snuff. While myself and my fellow travellers are all very independant, when staying at an Estancia you do need some direction. Upon arrival a brief welcome with a short orientation is necessary so that you are made aware of how activities work, when you have meals and how to make arrangements to go to the airport. We were picked up and driven to the Puema Hue but once we got there we had no idea what was going on, what we were able to do, or where to go. Luckily we were able to track someone down and received instructions piecemeal. Our stay was great, the place is breathtaking but for the price you pay a bit more of a welcome would have really made our experience excellent and not just average.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Imerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    18
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
91
155
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2007

The ONLY reason I would not recommend a stay at Peuma Hue is I do not want it to get too "crowded". We plan to return and I will be sorely disappointed to find this Estancia booked, and would change travel dates of a vacation just to stay here longer.

From the minute we arrived we felt like family. The atmosphere is open and friendly, with owner Evelyn and manager Marcelo and the guests welcoming us with open arms from the minute we arrived. All of the guests spoke English, although there was a small group of 6 Argentinians checking in when we departed, and they were not English speakers.

The activities included with the stay are incredible, andalthough you will have to pay extra for the ropes course in the mountains, it is worth it.

If you are looking for time with yourself, or just your spouse, this is not the place. You eat all meals with the others either at the main cabin or in the dining cabin. We found this to we charming and wonderful, as we got to know our fellow travelers and had a great time exchanging stories.

Do yourself a favor and stay here. We continued our holiday after leaving Peuma Hue, staying at four other lodges/hotels throughout Patagonia, and we wished we were back at Peuma Hue every time we checked into a new place.

  • Liked — Activities Included to enjoy your surroundings
  • Disliked — No TV in Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Book Early
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigCityChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2006

Imagine a typical Argentinian lady ( in this case from German-Italian grandparents ) who loves unspoiled nature and bought herself 400 acres of land and mountain with a 1.5 mile long beach on a lake, to build and call that place her home. Once she finished her house she realized she wanted to share her creation with woldtravellers so she kept on building 9 more houses and cottages all from local materials. The property looks like one of those secluded secrets only available to celebrities. After meeting the owner you will feel as if you would have always been her guest and that her 400 acres are "my friend´s house".
Horseback riding, kayaking, trekking and more is done on the property which seems to never end. Birdwatching, berry picking or just listening to the sheep grazing nearby is more than enough to make you feel you found a place difficult to describe.
This is Argentina´s nature at its best, whith the personal sophisticated understated, touch only a few are able to provide and persive.!

  • Liked — character, cozyness
  • Disliked — no room TV
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Podocarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2005

Stayed at Peuma-Hue, a lodge in an estancia about 40 minutes from Bariloche on lake Gutierrez heading south towards the town of El Bolson. This is an intimate experience. You arrive at the estancia after leaving the main road and taking a 2 mile gravel road that leads you to the estancia. Ebe (Evelyn) its charming hostess and Marcelo welcome you and manage this lodge in a beautiful setting bordering the Cerro Catedral. The main lodge has 4 bedrooms, two on the main floor, each with a beautiful bath and views of the lake and grounds of the property (it sits on 400 acres). The two bedrooms upstairs are very spacious and offer fabulous views of the lake and mountains. The package includes all meals (home made and very good including trout and "asado" the typical argentine barbecue, wine with lunch and dinner, cocktail hour and all activities: horsebackriding, kayaking, bycicling, trekking (lots of mountain hikes nearby). At the time I was there (January 2005) the rates were about US 260 per couple per day including transfers from the airport.

The property also offers an adjacent 4 bedroom home, all equipped and with maid service for weekly rentals and a "mountain"cottage that sits on a hill overlooking the lake perfect for a honeymoon. The furnishings are made in the estancia which boasts its own sawmill. There is also a non-denominational "chapel" where concerts are held in the summer season. The surrounding lakes, Nahuel Huapi, and Bariloche give you the option to explore more activities if you are so inclined to leave this paradise on earth.

I found this through a family member that has a summer home nearby but you can contact them on their website

Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
11 Thank gussito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#18 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#11 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Property: Estancia Peuma Hue
Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing