We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location...that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenton Palace Hotel
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location...that's about it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. We loved the location. It's right in the center of downtown Bariloche, at the corner of Morales and Neumeyer and 1 block walk to the main drag... Perito Moreno, where all the shops and restaurants are. Since we did not have a car, this was perfect for us.

Service is just adequate. For instance, there was no one to help with the bags when we arrived and this is significant because you have to climb a flight of steps to get from the street to the hotel lobby, so the help would have been greatly appreciated. Also, when we asked questions (what restaurants etc.,), the person manning the front desk (there is no concierge) was generally polite but in most cases barely helpful. For instance, we asked for directions to a restaurant, and if we had followed directions, we would have gotten lost. We asked for assistance with the temperature in our room and, as you will see later, despite a polite response, nothing was done about the situation, so we basically could not sleep comfortably for most of the time we were there.

What's more, the hotel has seen better days. Overall it is in need of a remodeling and deep cleaning. The furniture in the lobby could use some updating especially this one previously white leather sofa that is grey and tattered from use (or inadequate cleaning). The room we stayed in was small and shabby. You could barely turn around in the room and there was a layer of dust on the night stands. What's more, we found discarded wrappers etc., (presumably from previous guests) under the bed. Bathroom was small, cramped and barely acceptable...generally kind of yuk, to be honest! Finally, there is no way to control the temperature in your room. When we were there in October, the heater was on full blast. Asking the front desk bought us no relief so we tried opening our windows at night but this just resulted in sleepless nights. The hotel is right near the main drag, as I said, so with windows open, all you heard throughout the night was horns blaring and drunk high school students singing. There are no screens on the windows so you are basically letting the bugs in as well.

Bottom line then, if you don't care about the quality of your room or service, then this hotel offers great location. If you want somewhere comfortable to stay, look elsewhere. After we got accustom to the city, it seemed like all the nicer properties were just outside of town, which is an inconvenience but there is regular bus service, so if we had known, we would probably have stayed somewhere nicer outside of town and rode in on the bus as needed.

Hope this helps.
Mark

Room Tip: Perhaps go with a higher floor and err on getting a larger room. Don't believe the pictures. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAnthonyStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    146
    148
    53
    18
See reviews for
93
175
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Staff was helpful to us in arranging an excursion. I was supose to pay on check in, but did not have the pesos yet and did not want to pay with card so they accepted me to pay as soon as I could get them. I think it was quite flexible from their side. The location is great, close to everything in the city center. Breakfast was good too.
But considering the price paid and that it was classified as 4 stars we were expecting a bit more of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gupi_Munhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

very friendly and nice hotel just in the center of Bariloche - 5 minutes walk from the tourist information center and next to Mitre - the main street. Rooms are big and spacious with all ammneties. Service is great. The front desk staff + the front desk manager helped us with planning our journeys around. Parking just at the entrence.Don Alberto's steak restaurant is just in the next corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avigail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed one night and arrived late after the lakes crossing from Chile, so the room was adequate if a bit small. Real problem was the slight smell of burning when the bathroom light was switched on, folowed 5 minutes later by the light going out permanently.
Good ocation and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at the Kenton Palace because it was near the office where I was working. Although nice enough, it's no palace and could use some updates soon. What first caught my eye was the worn and dirty carpeting in upper hallways and my room. Just outside my room on the top floor in the back was a maid's closet, and the constant opening and closing immediately next to my door was disturbing. Otherwise, the room was comfortable with lots of light.

One morning the water was barely warm enough to take a shower, and the the towels were frayed and worn. People with hip or knee issues should also take note that it's a steep 12 stairs up from the street to the lobby, which can be a challenge for even able-bodied people carrying their luggage.

The staff were friendly enough, and there is a nice-enough breakfast provided in the lower level restaurant in the mornings. I did not have time to try out the spa services, but I heard others speaking positively about the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Street noise on the front of the building is loud and goes well into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Central location, room clean but very small (room no. 406), average service.

Room Tip: Try not receive room 406, is very small. I don't know how are the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomi-Nahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a very nice, modern, clean hotel. Centrally located. The rooms are small but they have everything. The bathroom, which is the best way to judge a hotel, was sparkling clean and all the fixtures worked perfectly. We were there in chilly weather and the room was well heated. We even had to turn down the heat. We had a good dinner at the hotel's dining room.
Free wifi is provided. Just ask for the password.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elan_from_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panamericano Bariloche
Panamericano Bariloche
#39 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#24 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#27 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#33 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#26 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Palace Hotel

Property: Kenton Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 338, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenton Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenton Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing