We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, small hotel and a wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed at the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa in Bariloche for four nights in December of 2007, over the holidays. Our travel agent, wowargentina, booked it for us. We'd have never found it otherwise. It is out on a peninsula, near the famous "Llao Llao" resort. But, unlike the other larger hotels in this bustling resort town, it is a quiet, tranquil and beautifully relaxing space. The rooms are very spacious and the view from the hotel is awesome. One of the things we really liked is that the guests congregate in the lovely, intimate public areas and get to know one another. We met several couples there and went to dinner with many of them. The staff is extremely friendly and very competent. Celia, the manager, was extremely helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go. The staff can book anything for you -- from dinner reservations to excursions. Don't hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel. You will love it!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kgcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2008

Having read great reviews of this hotel, we decided to book it for Christmas 2007. The hotel itself is very pretty with plenty of seating areas. Our room was the only one without a balcony or terrace which was disappointing as we had been told all rooms had one. Otherwise our room and bathroom were very bright, spacious and comfortable with good views of the lake.

The pool and jacuzzi were dirty and badly maintained so therefore not appealing to use.

My main problem with this hotel was the staff who seemed very uncomfortable and created a tense atmosphere. As it is a small hotel with the few guests in close proximity at meal times this was very uncomfortable. The food in the restaurant was very disappointing. Perhaps the usual chef was on holiday when we were there??

Also, the location isn't great as it is 2km off the main road and pretty isolated unless you have your own transport. They only had our room available for 2 nights so we had booked 2 more nights down the road at the Patagonia Vista which was far better for the same price. See my review and photos of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BelsizeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We booked one night at the Aldebaran, but because of unbelievable problems with Aerolineas Argentinas, we missed our connection and got stuck in BA the night we had booked. The hotel could not have been more gracious about rescheduling our stay to a different night, and when we pulled in, we were made to feel that we had come to a private home. Our room had a patio overlooking the lake--a postcard view and so relaxing. The room was tasteful, peaceful, and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the service was friendly. Yes, you do need a car if you stay here, but it's well worth the drive out of Bariloche. It's only a few minutes from Llao Llao so you can have lunch there and see that hotel as well.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

I booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on here. To be fair, it is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nice as are the bothrooms. The views are good as is the hotel restaurant. It is very, very remote though. You cannot walk to another restaurant, to shopping or even take a walk as there are large dogs in both directions of the hotel. You essentially have to rent a car or hire a driver to get away for the day. Had I known this, I would not have booked this hotel. And I was in a group of three. The master bedroom in our suite was very nice with a large bed. The other bedroom essentially had a daybed in it. When I asked for a bigger, more comfortable bed, I basically received something as small but which would allow my feet to hang over the edge. So, while this was booked to be our "treat hotel" for the trip, I actually slept much better in the other locations of our trip that were less than half the price. There are many other options closer to Bariloche I'd consider before booking here.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank sid0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I spent 3 days in Bariloche at Aldebaran. It was his birthday and our TA sent an e mail to the Hotel and he got a book as a gift, champagne and cake!
We love every minut we spent at Aldebaran. the staff was always there, the restaurant very good and we had a wonderful room with a magnific view of the Lake Nahuel Uapi .

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights on our honeymoon. It is not as glamorous or as posh as the LLao LLao, but it is an intimate, extremely well run luxury hotel in one of the most lovely spots on the lake. About 10 rooms, planely decorated. All with patios or views. The food is wonderful and the staff is extremely helpful. It is a bit out of town, but cabs are cheap and most of the day trips you will take can pick you up at the hotel. If you are looking for a full service resort - this is not the place. But for a wondeful sense of comfort and home, this place was a perfect choice for us. Like having a home in Bariloche.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jwolfsthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

This is a charming small hotel with beautiful decor, pleasant rooms with sun decks, a good restaurant and very friendly staff (Augustina at the front desk was particularly helpful when we discovered our travel agent had botched our return flight from Bariloche to BA).
The weather during our stay was beautiful, so we spent many hours on the dock down by the lake (I don't know if most guests even know it exists). The spa facility is very nice, too.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank ankiandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,589 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,203 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
963 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
304 reviews
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £87 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing