We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat”
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My fiance and I spent four nights at the Aldebaran and completely loved it. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and immaculately clean. We had one of the Cerro Lopez rooms that looks over the lake and mountains with its own balcony, it was wonderful to wake up to that view! We had dinner at the hotel two nights and the food and service were perfect. Breakfast was pretty standard, and they have a great afternoon snack menu that we ordered from a couple of times as well. The lodge is about a half hour from town, we didn't rent a car, and didn't really feel like we needed one. The two nights we went to dinner we called a taxi and they are pretty reasonable. I don't think either of us would have wanted to navigate the roads home after dinner either so this made it easier. The excursions we took for the most part picked us up, so that wasn't a problem either. The staff at the hotel was absolutely excellent. Cecilia and Augustina at the front desk were wonderfully helpful arranging everything from dinner reservations to guided hikes to kayaking trips. There is a nice pool/hot tub/sauna/spa area that is a pretty decent size given the small number of rooms in the hotel. We used it a couple of times and were the only people there. I would not hesitate to recommend the Aldebaran to anybody travelling to the area.

  • Liked — amazing service and stunning views
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jgodic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    34
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
175
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed at the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa in Bariloche for four nights in December of 2007, over the holidays. Our travel agent, wowargentina, booked it for us. We'd have never found it otherwise. It is out on a peninsula, near the famous "Llao Llao" resort. But, unlike the other larger hotels in this bustling resort town, it is a quiet, tranquil and beautifully relaxing space. The rooms are very spacious and the view from the hotel is awesome. One of the things we really liked is that the guests congregate in the lovely, intimate public areas and get to know one another. We met several couples there and went to dinner with many of them. The staff is extremely friendly and very competent. Celia, the manager, was extremely helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go. The staff can book anything for you -- from dinner reservations to excursions. Don't hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel. You will love it!

  • Liked — The design of the hotel and the views of the lake and Andes mountains
  • Disliked — It is not air conditioned, because it is in the mountains. If it is hot in town, it is hot at the hotel too.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kgcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Having read great reviews of this hotel, we decided to book it for Christmas 2007. The hotel itself is very pretty with plenty of seating areas. Our room was the only one without a balcony or terrace which was disappointing as we had been told all rooms had one. Otherwise our room and bathroom were very bright, spacious and comfortable with good views of the lake.

The pool and jacuzzi were dirty and badly maintained so therefore not appealing to use.

My main problem with this hotel was the staff who seemed very uncomfortable and created a tense atmosphere. As it is a small hotel with the few guests in close proximity at meal times this was very uncomfortable. The food in the restaurant was very disappointing. Perhaps the usual chef was on holiday when we were there??

Also, the location isn't great as it is 2km off the main road and pretty isolated unless you have your own transport. They only had our room available for 2 nights so we had booked 2 more nights down the road at the Patagonia Vista which was far better for the same price. See my review and photos of this hotel.

  • Liked — bright and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BelsizeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We booked one night at the Aldebaran, but because of unbelievable problems with Aerolineas Argentinas, we missed our connection and got stuck in BA the night we had booked. The hotel could not have been more gracious about rescheduling our stay to a different night, and when we pulled in, we were made to feel that we had come to a private home. Our room had a patio overlooking the lake--a postcard view and so relaxing. The room was tasteful, peaceful, and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the service was friendly. Yes, you do need a car if you stay here, but it's well worth the drive out of Bariloche. It's only a few minutes from Llao Llao so you can have lunch there and see that hotel as well.

  • Liked — The beautiful views and the relaxing setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

I booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on here. To be fair, it is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nice as are the bothrooms. The views are good as is the hotel restaurant. It is very, very remote though. You cannot walk to another restaurant, to shopping or even take a walk as there are large dogs in both directions of the hotel. You essentially have to rent a car or hire a driver to get away for the day. Had I known this, I would not have booked this hotel. And I was in a group of three. The master bedroom in our suite was very nice with a large bed. The other bedroom essentially had a daybed in it. When I asked for a bigger, more comfortable bed, I basically received something as small but which would allow my feet to hang over the edge. So, while this was booked to be our "treat hotel" for the trip, I actually slept much better in the other locations of our trip that were less than half the price. There are many other options closer to Bariloche I'd consider before booking here.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sid0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I spent 3 days in Bariloche at Aldebaran. It was his birthday and our TA sent an e mail to the Hotel and he got a book as a gift, champagne and cake!
We love every minut we spent at Aldebaran. the staff was always there, the restaurant very good and we had a wonderful room with a magnific view of the Lake Nahuel Uapi .

  • Liked — hight quality towels;extraordinary bed and beautiful view
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights on our honeymoon. It is not as glamorous or as posh as the LLao LLao, but it is an intimate, extremely well run luxury hotel in one of the most lovely spots on the lake. About 10 rooms, planely decorated. All with patios or views. The food is wonderful and the staff is extremely helpful. It is a bit out of town, but cabs are cheap and most of the day trips you will take can pick you up at the hotel. If you are looking for a full service resort - this is not the place. But for a wondeful sense of comfort and home, this place was a perfect choice for us. Like having a home in Bariloche.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jwolfsthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,551 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,143 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
952 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Property: Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing